Workers' Party's Eric Tan quits

Kelpie

valid point...............to win and hold groud for a few more elections...........

On top of that, alot of ppl alr sort of know him liao...

If u watch the english debate....u would see "Gerald " liao...

Wad he lacks is actually experience....

Moreover, if he take up NCMP now...

In the next election, he would most probably stand out and gain more votes in East Coast GRC which would be their primary target to hammered down

[smash][smash]

whilst I empathise with Eric Tan's feelings... I feel he is jumping the gun by quiting. If Gerald is slated to be the spearhead for East Coast GRC battle so be it. Eric should show his support and become Gerald's general. So when WP wins the GRC, Eric would still be able to be MP. Now, he throw in towel... lose both NCMP seat and also chance to be next MP.

Sometimes in war, must take one step back to move 2 steps forward. Don't be like PAP Aljunied team - just lose 1 election all become quitter. If opposition had been quitting everytime they lose election, today there will be no opposition in singapore.

[thumbsup]

exactly they must think of the bigger picture rather than just their own pride. a team effort requires some to be the backend suport, others to be the person at the front. there is obviously some qualities that is more suitable for the person to be fronting the team so end of day, eric must learn to cast aside his own pride and be a team player

Personally, I urge Eric Tan to give it a reconsideration. There are many ways to contribute and 'speaking' for the people, especially with his vast experience to guide Gerald Giam. Need not necessary be in the forefront...

whilst I empathise with Eric Tan's feelings... I feel he is jumping the gun by quiting. If Gerald is slated to be the spearhead for East Coast GRC battle so be it. Eric should show his support and become Gerald's general. So when WP wins the GRC, Eric would still be able to be MP. Now, he throw in towel... lose both NCMP seat and also chance to be next MP.

Sometimes in war, must take one step back to move 2 steps forward. Don't be like PAP Aljunied team - just lose 1 election all become quitter. If opposition had been quitting everytime they lose election, today there will be no opposition in singapore.

ya lah.............sit back 5 years............and than stay in EC GRC for 15 years............now sibi also bo liao............why like that....

wow so fast internal conflict olredi started... next in line is will someone overtake LTK position [:p]

Well, didn't Chee Soon Juan do just that to Chiam See Tong when they were at SDP?

Wait and see. It might turn out something like that at WP! [:p]

Ncmp gets 1.6k monthly allowances only, if I remember correctly.

I believe is half of elected MP...........IIRC.....

On top of that, alot of ppl alr sort of know him liao...

If u watch the english debate....u would see "Gerald " liao...

Wad he lacks is actually experience....

Moreover, if he take up NCMP now...

In the next election, he would most probably stand out and gain more votes in East Coast GRC which would be their primary target to hammered down

[smash][smash]

Tio lah..........my thoughts as well..... :D

If i were Eric, I would be unhappy but since it was a collective agreement by CEC, then as a politician, he should accept it graciously and not air the dirty linen in public. Maybe the CEC made a correct decision in not fielding him

I believe is half of elected MP...........IIRC.....

I don't think it's 7.5k. I'm unable to quote the source but I remember somewhere that the NCMP allowance is between 1.6~1.8k/

If i were Eric, I would be unhappy but since it was a collective agreement by CEC, then as a politician, he should accept it graciously and not air the dirty linen in public. Maybe the CEC made a correct decision in not fielding him

by doing that, he lost everything [:(]

maybe he failed to see that by pushing Gerald as NCMP....

And when WP managed to hammered down East Coast GRC....

He would also be elected as MP?

Sort-sighted? Lack of team work? Doesn't put the team and party first?

:o

he is in the CEC himself leh...........they must have voted............and you are right.........he sld have instead come out and support the idea...........that would have made him look sooooooooooooo good!!!

I don't think it's 7.5k. I'm unable to quote the source but I remember somewhere that the NCMP allowance is between 1.6~1.8k/

I think is 1.8k. Went up a bit cos of the raise to 15k for elected MPs

it is a nobrainer for WP. GG is a team material, Eric Tan is B team material.

I think Eric sensed something, and broke ranks going to the media before WP made its announcement.

If anybody got lucky, it is the joo chiat guy. He is probably C team.

I too was surprised he spoke to the media before the WP decision on whether to take the NCMP position and if so, who to take it up. I also concluded that he was trying to jam the situation by publicly staking his claim and hence make it 'difficult' for WP to decide differently. Didn't work.

I might be wrong...........but I think last time when steve chia became NCMP for CCK SMC, he was paid half leh............

maybe he failed to see that by pushing Gerald as NCMP....

And when WP managed to hammered down East Coast GRC....

He would also be elected as MP?

Sort-sighted? Lack of team work? Doesn't put the team and party first?

:o

I think with Eric's past contribution, and leading the East Coast GRc for this election, I think he would like that he be the one that hammered down East Coast GRC.

But I can see why WP chose Gerald. He has the potential.