Mike1234 1st Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 valid point...............to win and hold groud for a few more elections........... On top of that, alot of ppl alr sort of know him liao... If u watch the english debate....u would see "Gerald " liao... Wad he lacks is actually experience.... Moreover, if he take up NCMP now... In the next election, he would most probably stand out and gain more votes in East Coast GRC which would be their primary target to hammered down ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 whilst I empathise with Eric Tan's feelings... I feel he is jumping the gun by quiting. If Gerald is slated to be the spearhead for East Coast GRC battle so be it. Eric should show his support and become Gerald's general. So when WP wins the GRC, Eric would still be able to be MP. Now, he throw in towel... lose both NCMP seat and also chance to be next MP. Sometimes in war, must take one step back to move 2 steps forward. Don't be like PAP Aljunied team - just lose 1 election all become quitter. If opposition had been quitting everytime they lose election, today there will be no opposition in singapore. exactly they must think of the bigger picture rather than just their own pride. a team effort requires some to be the backend suport, others to be the person at the front. there is obviously some qualities that is more suitable for the person to be fronting the team so end of day, eric must learn to cast aside his own pride and be a team player Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 haha...actually I was hoping for Glenda Han...*nice*... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EllaEmma Neutral Newbie May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Personally, I urge Eric Tan to give it a reconsideration. There are many ways to contribute and 'speaking' for the people, especially with his vast experience to guide Gerald Giam. Need not necessary be in the forefront... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 whilst I empathise with Eric Tan's feelings... I feel he is jumping the gun by quiting. If Gerald is slated to be the spearhead for East Coast GRC battle so be it. Eric should show his support and become Gerald's general. So when WP wins the GRC, Eric would still be able to be MP. Now, he throw in towel... lose both NCMP seat and also chance to be next MP. Sometimes in war, must take one step back to move 2 steps forward. Don't be like PAP Aljunied team - just lose 1 election all become quitter. If opposition had been quitting everytime they lose election, today there will be no opposition in singapore. ya lah.............sit back 5 years............and than stay in EC GRC for 15 years............now sibi also bo liao............why like that.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 wow so fast internal conflict olredi started... next in line is will someone overtake LTK position Well, didn't Chee Soon Juan do just that to Chiam See Tong when they were at SDP? Wait and see. It might turn out something like that at WP! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Ncmp gets 1.6k monthly allowances only, if I remember correctly. I believe is half of elected MP...........IIRC..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 On top of that, alot of ppl alr sort of know him liao... If u watch the english debate....u would see "Gerald " liao... Wad he lacks is actually experience.... Moreover, if he take up NCMP now... In the next election, he would most probably stand out and gain more votes in East Coast GRC which would be their primary target to hammered down Tio lah..........my thoughts as well..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 If i were Eric, I would be unhappy but since it was a collective agreement by CEC, then as a politician, he should accept it graciously and not air the dirty linen in public. Maybe the CEC made a correct decision in not fielding him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bighappyjer 1st Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 I believe is half of elected MP...........IIRC..... I don't think it's 7.5k. I'm unable to quote the source but I remember somewhere that the NCMP allowance is between 1.6~1.8k/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 Don't be surprise after he quit..he will join some other party...may be SDP or SPP or even NSP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 If i were Eric, I would be unhappy but since it was a collective agreement by CEC, then as a politician, he should accept it graciously and not air the dirty linen in public. Maybe the CEC made a correct decision in not fielding him by doing that, he lost everything Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 whilst I empathise with Eric Tan's feelings... I feel he is jumping the gun by quiting. If Gerald is slated to be the spearhead for East Coast GRC battle so be it. Eric should show his support and become Gerald's general. So when WP wins the GRC, Eric would still be able to be MP. Now, he throw in towel... lose both NCMP seat and also chance to be next MP. Sometimes in war, must take one step back to move 2 steps forward. Don't be like PAP Aljunied team - just lose 1 election all become quitter. If opposition had been quitting everytime they lose election, today there will be no opposition in singapore. maybe he failed to see that by pushing Gerald as NCMP.... And when WP managed to hammered down East Coast GRC.... He would also be elected as MP? Sort-sighted? Lack of team work? Doesn't put the team and party first? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 If i were Eric, I would be unhappy but since it was a collective agreement by CEC, then as a politician, he should accept it graciously and not air the dirty linen in public. Maybe the CEC made a correct decision in not fielding him he is in the CEC himself leh...........they must have voted............and you are right.........he sld have instead come out and support the idea...........that would have made him look sooooooooooooo good!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 I don't think it's 7.5k. I'm unable to quote the source but I remember somewhere that the NCMP allowance is between 1.6~1.8k/ I think is 1.8k. Went up a bit cos of the raise to 15k for elected MPs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 it is a nobrainer for WP. GG is a team material, Eric Tan is B team material. I think Eric sensed something, and broke ranks going to the media before WP made its announcement. If anybody got lucky, it is the joo chiat guy. He is probably C team. I too was surprised he spoke to the media before the WP decision on whether to take the NCMP position and if so, who to take it up. I also concluded that he was trying to jam the situation by publicly staking his claim and hence make it 'difficult' for WP to decide differently. Didn't work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 I don't think it's 7.5k. I'm unable to quote the source but I remember somewhere that the NCMP allowance is between 1.6~1.8k/ I might be wrong...........but I think last time when steve chia became NCMP for CCK SMC, he was paid half leh............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 13, 2011 Share May 13, 2011 maybe he failed to see that by pushing Gerald as NCMP.... And when WP managed to hammered down East Coast GRC.... He would also be elected as MP? Sort-sighted? Lack of team work? Doesn't put the team and party first? I think with Eric's past contribution, and leading the East Coast GRc for this election, I think he would like that he be the one that hammered down East Coast GRC. But I can see why WP chose Gerald. He has the potential. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...