Nolicense Turbocharged May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 might as well get rid of PR status. only purpose it serves is can by hdb flat. anything else? if they want to work here, just give EP, SP or WP. if want new citizen then just evaluate the applicant, why have a PR step? Getting rid of PR will mean that the % employment will reflect the true singaporeans employment instead of all residents which is so deceiving. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 To all Bros(maybe some) that complain can't get NDP ticket! All of you very poor memory! I was very very very.....fortunate.....1st yr NDP. 2nd yr SAF days. Not only i got upfront and personal with those performers, i also "deligently" spend many weekends show casting my true singaporean spirit. As for the author in that letter posted by TS. Fxxk back to your country, wherever there might be. :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 i remember some NDP tics are given to the RCs and the PA to give out.. no guessing where the distribute it to.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 might as well get rid of PR status. only purpose it serves is can by hdb flat. anything else? if they want to work here, just give EP, SP or WP. if want new citizen then just evaluate the applicant, why have a PR step? Getting rid of PR will mean that the % employment will reflect the true singaporeans employment instead of all residents which is so deceiving. marbo(drunk) tan say hdb up so ur home value up, ok u sell hdb then live where? in cloud? FT different story liao, sell big then go home build big big castle in village Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear May 14, 2011 Share May 14, 2011 Then why the fark don't u surrender yr passport and take up pink IC? ST Forum May 13, 2011 From feeling of home to an unwelcome presence in days I HAVE been a Singapore permanent resident for eight years. My wife and I were married here, and my son who was born here speaks English with a Singaporean accent. When his time comes, he will serve national service, like other Singapore-born teenagers. We were so proud when we got tickets for the National Day Parade last year. When we return to Singapore from our holidays, it is like returning home. Singapore has been a home for me and my family. But nine days of the Singapore opposition party rallies have dissipated this feeling. I have been made to feel like a complete foreigner who should be deported immediately. Suddenly, I feel an atmosphere of loathing towards my family and me although it may not be real. The opposition seems to have targeted residents like me systematically and I feel like a scapegoat. Juniarto Samsudin His son be consider SIngaporean, only after he done with NS......... and to the matter of fact, they are still foreigners..........FTs !!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedream 1st Gear May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 I have been trying to get NDP tickets for 10 years, why I never get any?????? Maybe he join CCC, CC, RC and tripod MP to get extra allocation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 I cant help but feel that the ministers are one by one quitting when the going gets tough. Seems like Singapore suddenly lost a few good men. Quite risky.....but its the sad fact of life.....changes will come eventually.....but will we be caught out holding high priced HDB whenthe music stop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A5SB 1st Gear May 15, 2011 Share May 15, 2011 Then why the fark don't u surrender yr passport and take up pink IC? ST Forum May 13, 2011 From feeling of home to an unwelcome presence in days I HAVE been a Singapore permanent resident for eight years. My wife and I were married here, and my son who was born here speaks English with a Singaporean accent. When his time comes, he will serve national service, like other Singapore-born teenagers. We were so proud when we got tickets for the National Day Parade last year. When we return to Singapore from our holidays, it is like returning home. Singapore has been a home for me and my family. But nine days of the Singapore opposition party rallies have dissipated this feeling. I have been made to feel like a complete foreigner who should be deported immediately. Suddenly, I feel an atmosphere of loathing towards my family and me although it may not be real. The opposition seems to have targeted residents like me systematically and I feel like a scapegoat. Juniarto Samsudin Yes it is real! Go back! Bye and good luck Samudin! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Author Share May 16, 2011 ST Forum May 16, 2011 Give back and Singaporeans are sure to embrace foreigners I REFER to Mr Juniarto Samsudin's letter last Friday ('From feeling of home to unwelcome presence in days'). I too came as an immigrant to Singapore. I have lived here for 26 years and took up citizenship 14 years ago. I agree there was plenty of rhetoric during the political rallies about the immigration policies. I attended both opposition as well as People's Action Party rallies during the run-up to the General Election. At the Workers' Party rally in Hougang on April 28, I was unable to find the friends I was supposed to meet there, so I stood by myself and listened to the speeches. Those around me were friendly, and some were even a bit chatty - asking me if I could understand the Mandarin, Hokkien and Teochew spoken. I said I could tell them apart and catch words and phrases here and there but could not understand much. My Malay was better but still inadequate to comprehend a political speech. I just had to wait for the English speeches. Yet, even in the midst of a huge crowd, obviously fired up by the zeal of passionate speakers, I was not treated like an outsider, nor did I feel like one. This was despite my being a Caucasian woman, so not obviously a Singaporean at first glance. Therefore, it must be something internal. When I arrived in Singapore, I did not run with the expatriate crowd, but instead, cultivated friendships with Singaporeans through local networking avenues and participating in civic organisations. In other words, I assimilated, and I gave back. I have done this through giving my time to serve on the boards of organisations, participating in public forums, pro bono public information talks and mentoring programmes. Perhaps the resentment against foreigners is that too many are not in a symbiotic relationship with those around them. Unfortunately, many enjoy the benefits of Singapore, without giving any reciprocal benefit to the greater community. Janet Ruth Sosna (Ms) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 ST Forum May 16, 2011 Give back and Singaporeans are sure to embrace foreigners I REFER to Mr Juniarto Samsudin's letter last Friday ('From feeling of home to unwelcome presence in days'). I too came as an immigrant to Singapore. I have lived here for 26 years and took up citizenship 14 years ago. I agree there was plenty of rhetoric during the political rallies about the immigration policies. I attended both opposition as well as People's Action Party rallies during the run-up to the General Election. At the Workers' Party rally in Hougang on April 28, I was unable to find the friends I was supposed to meet there, so I stood by myself and listened to the speeches. Those around me were friendly, and some were even a bit chatty - asking me if I could understand the Mandarin, Hokkien and Teochew spoken. I said I could tell them apart and catch words and phrases here and there but could not understand much. My Malay was better but still inadequate to comprehend a political speech. I just had to wait for the English speeches. Yet, even in the midst of a huge crowd, obviously fired up by the zeal of passionate speakers, I was not treated like an outsider, nor did I feel like one. This was despite my being a Caucasian woman, so not obviously a Singaporean at first glance. Therefore, it must be something internal. When I arrived in Singapore, I did not run with the expatriate crowd, but instead, cultivated friendships with Singaporeans through local networking avenues and participating in civic organisations. In other words, I assimilated, and I gave back. I have done this through giving my time to serve on the boards of organisations, participating in public forums, pro bono public information talks and mentoring programmes. Perhaps the resentment against foreigners is that too many are not in a symbiotic relationship with those around them. Unfortunately, many enjoy the benefits of Singapore, without giving any reciprocal benefit to the greater community. Janet Ruth Sosna (Ms) [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 Fantastic reply by Ms Sosna. You have to give to receive. I suspect a lot of these foreigners stay within their own clique and do not try to blend in. Surprised ST actually printed this letter! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wson 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 Don't you know that these people when they are here, they are praised as talent and the job they are doing, no local is capable of doing it? The recruitment agency told them that they can't find local with their expertise and that why they have to recuit them from thei country. But the fact is they are not told their pay is lower than local, not they are talent. Blame it on the recruitment agencies. Every local they find for the company, they get commission from the company only. Every foreigner they bring in for the company, they get commission from the company and commission from the foreigner, double commission. So they will keep selling the foreigners to the companies, telling the companies that cannot find local talents. They even offer "incentives" to the HR dept of these companies if they hire foreigners instead of locals. Now u all know why more and more Foreign "Talents" gets hired, while Singaporeans who got retrenched after 40yo cannot find jobs. Can someone write in to MOM? This practice is killing Singaporeans Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hub_n_mona 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 Fantastic reply by Ms Sosna. You have to give to receive. I suspect a lot of these foreigners stay within their own clique and do not try to blend in. Surprised ST actually printed this letter! there are some like that..work 7-8 yrs but never eaten at a coffeeshop or anywhere in our heartlands for fear of "getting killed".. salary per month is what someone might earn in a year..stays in bukit timah within own clique, with a condo to rent out even..dun really knows or want to know the everyday news of our country.. weekend play expat football..says it's very cheap here in SG leh.. but then, these are FT (as in talents), not FW..so maybe different level of discussion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Author Share May 16, 2011 Fantastic reply by Ms Sosna. You have to give to receive. I suspect a lot of these foreigners stay within their own clique and do not try to blend in. Surprised ST actually printed this letter! Being pro gahmen, they oso hv to show that their FT policy works. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 aiyo pls la, those new singapore citizen, they wont be loyal to singapore 1 la. i got a few malaysian, not against malaysian of course, friends who became singapore citizens. During election, all of they were joking that this is first time they vote and it is not even in their "own country"..... wake up lor if u think they will bother about singapore. the 2nd generation who are born here, maybe, but first generation don care one la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heng51 2nd Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 Reminds me of Kit's song "Home" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mydotcom 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 Reading news/articles/letters relating to FT/PR makes my blood boils :angry: The 60.1% had made their choice. I should accept it and try to live my life within the system that they had chosen. No point making my blood boil every other days over something that I can't do anything about (thanks to the 60.1%). Hope that either the govt change their policies, or more of the ppl in the 60.1% camp change their mind in the next 5 yrs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic101 6th Gear May 17, 2011 Share May 17, 2011 NDP tickets? I have been trying to ballot for one for my 84 years old father since the system started - still never get one! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...