From feeling of home to an unwelcome presence in days

Latka

I had wanted to join NS and sign on as a regular before i got my PR, they rejected me, after which i got my PR and my daughter came along, and i don't think i could survive with just the NS pay.

There are many reasons why most PR won't convert to pink IC.

most want the best of both worlds.

Some have old folks back in home country

Some still can't maitre up their mind because of your bashing.

Actually, nobody really bothers to force such people to become one of us......... his choice. So-called bashing is nothing more than stating the fact that if anyone wants to become a citizen/PR in any country, he has to be prepared to prove his loyalty and commitment (and saying the pledge during the 'swearing-in' ceremany is mere words), not just commitment to the good life the country has to offer, but also commitment to make sacrifices eg doing NS and the likes (for males, at this point in time). If he's not prepared to do so but instead takes the challenge as 'bashing', I DONT KNOW WHAT TO SAY............. simple as that [:(]

Edited by KARTer

I think more than one of the opp speakers did mention that we are not against FT, we just don't want to open the flood gate blindly. And you know how letters are handpicked and edited ..

I support this [:)]

another FT sly one speaking for own self-interest.

and act pity. [shakehead]

and nicely selected by ST Editor for print................ true professional journalism.......... zumigo and her gang

wah, taxi to airport only ah, never offer to pay for his air-ticket?

lets be frank, if he really is patriotic, he wuld have converted to pink IC liao.

My wife is a PR, she die die will not convert coz she tell me if 1 day singapore collaspe, she can run back to her own country.( will she bring me along? [:p] )

this Ju-something is sitting on the fence, for his own interest, not Spore's........ 2-headed snake of sort

brother i have other PR friend who feels like you as well. and we share the same anxiety and vision of the political system that is good for singapore. if PR's heart is with singapore and have been in singapore for a while, they will also find the way pap have been handling things as the government very worrying.

hence i find that those foriegners that says they feel unwellcomed to have an agenda of stirring shi* against the opposition.

they come here and become walking-four-legged creature of the miw?? [:)]

In what ways do they feel threatened? Neighbors splash dog s--t at them?

Another s--t stirrer just when things are returning to normal..why the sudden appearance of all these heroes..because they know PAP back in power to protect them.. [laugh]

These poeple just like to twist people's words... [rifle]

MIW look at who are the people complaining now!

and ST feels it right to publish such letters............

But don't you feel that those new citizen also don't integrate well into our society? In fact I find the PR from our neighbouring country integrate better, but if only they just make the step to convert, then they are just like any our heartlander singaporean..

by and large PRs from our neighbouring country can assimilate well, become just like one of us. Unlikely that they use Spore as a stepping stone. Cant say the same for those from southern asia, PRC, HK, etc

Bros , its OK .... we feel more proud saying the Singapore Pledge at WP rally ! [laugh][laugh]

Yup, the WP's Singapore Pledge is the best I have said in the past few decades [thumbsup]

ST Forum

May 13, 2011

From feeling of home to an unwelcome presence in days

I HAVE been a Singapore permanent resident for eight years. My wife and I were married here, and my son who was born here speaks English with a Singaporean accent.

When his time comes, he will serve national service, like other Singapore-born teenagers.

We were so proud when we got tickets for the National Day Parade last year.

When we return to Singapore from our holidays, it is like returning home. Singapore has been a home for me and my family.

But nine days of the Singapore opposition party rallies have dissipated this feeling. I have been made to feel like a complete foreigner who should be deported immediately.

Suddenly, I feel an atmosphere of loathing towards my family and me although it may not be real.

The opposition seems to have targeted residents like me systematically and I feel like a scapegoat.

Juniarto Samsudin

To this Samsudin fella

If you are indeed a talent, and have got PR for 8 years, why are you not a citizen?

You want to complain about our policies, first have look at this.

225698_224549747561616_149672065049385_1078090_3845646_n.jpg

Local born citizens like us and many forummers here will fall into the sea when things come to a push, while you have a greater hinterland to return/retire to.

Of course, Janil Puthucheary is an exception, not because he did not do NS, but what is his motivation of becoming an MP? To be the voice to newly minted citizens like Gong Li, etc?

For sure, its not for the local citizen's sake, as Tin Pei Ling can do it easily with her masterplan of "energy saving bulbs for low income families", while enjoying her Kate Spade.

I think this suliano or something something ft, likely a fake char, trying to stir poo here using Straits times media...

I have been a Singapore Citizen for 20 over years and serve NS like every other singaporeans.

I have been trying to get NDP tickets for 10 years, why I never get any??????

kns the only time i got to see ndp was when i was in ns (that 1 oso bcos kana ushering duty)

my son got to see bcos he was in pri 4 and it was just the rehearsal.

my wife and doter have never been to 1 and only manage to smell the parade cos we always go to see the firework display!

Guess we must convert to pr status to get the tickets! :wacko::wacko:

Regardless of how we feel about immigration, its a fact that many have come, we cant blame them for coming can we? Its our own govt's policy that create a flood, the immigrants are innocent (mostly).

I think we need to make a distinction between those who choose to make this their home and those who are here to milk the system before running off again.

For the letter writer, since they already stated their kid will serve NS, their intention to stay is clear already and should be accepted as such, they should not be made to feel unwelcome. And I dont think they are the type of "milkers" we resent so much.

As for still retaining their old citizenship, who knows, they may have old parents/relatives etc back in their old country they need to take care of. Anyway... bringing they old parents etc here isnt exactly benefitting us either.

We need to be more discriminating about who we consider "good" or "bad" immigrants.

Face it.

The PR system has been abused by those who are enjoying it and mismanaged by those who created it.

I still remembered Lao Goh saying about inviting some PR for citizenship conversion and possibly reject their PR extension if they decline the offer.

My technician told me if they force him to convert, he will simply quit his job, sell his HDB and head back straight to Malaysia. He has been here for more than 10 years.

While I can fully understand the need to increase our declining and aging population, I still think we need to work on the PR system to make it fairer for all.

We can for example, gradually reduce the subsidies enjoyed by PR if they don't convert when it is renewal time every 5 or 10 years. This can act as a pull and push factor for the PR themselves rather than 'forcing' them to make a decision or pack their bags.

while I feel for our Malaysian neighbours who are stuck into the CPF system, the rest can just withdraw all their $$ and retire rick back in their homeland.

So sorry to Mr Juniarto that Singapore no longer feels like his home.....BECAUSE IT ISN"T!!!!!

Hold Indonesian/Malaysian citizenship and still dare to say Singapore no longer feels like his home, CCB!!!!!! Singapore is Singaporean's home, not FT's home, be thankful we even let you in in the first place, NOT HAPPY THEN f--k OFF!!!!

I second that. PRs/foreigners must have contributed to the rise in COE prices, property prices etc. They add to the number of cars on the roads and aggravating congestions. The result? ERP rates go up.

Those people are only here for the ride while the going is good. They have no commitment to this nation. They are only committed to $$$$$$.

It is time to reduce the number of PRs/foreigners on this tiny island. A reduction of 30-50% would be a good start........

Edited by Dipstick

I support this [:)]

Me too.

For a change:

1.PR-shop should be of limited time and not renewable (or maybe once only) (eq: 5yr with renewal/extenstion to 8 yrs) It's a bit radical, but if we ditch the term Permanent Resident. It's not that 'wrong' after all. Those opting for these should enjoy current priviliges that's much better tham those offered to foreigners, and just lesser than Citizens'. Such PR-ship is only for foreigners serioulsy considering Singapore citizenship, and not just for ease of employment (or access to investing in HDB flats/ access to good and value-for-money-education) Upon 'full term' of 8 years, decide if they want to be citizens or revert to being just foreigners working in Singapore. No two-timing

2. For those current groups of PRs whose status is mainly for the purpoe of employment, create a new category of work permit to allow for long term employment. But such LTWP (Long Term Work Permit) holders should not be eligible to purchase public housing (ie HDB flats) and of course, no priority/even access to Singapore education for their children on PR/Citizen level. Basically, any foreigner who's intention in Singapore is only for $$$ and not considering converting to citizen, we create this class to manage such a group.

Only those really considering citizenship will be granted PRship, which they must decide when the times up. THen no such thing as 'investment' in HDB flat nor PR children enjoying discounted Singapore education and not take up citizenship ( I also dun want/need any foreigner serving NS when they have no intention of staying on)

I think this suliano or something something ft, likely a fake char, trying to stir poo here using Straits times media...

and ST happily allows him to do it .................... responsible journalism? :o