From feeling of home to an unwelcome presence in days

Latka

Another misunderstood and seemingly simplistic mindset of our fellow foreigners here in Singapore.

One wonders if they have actually heard what our main gripes are.

even if his son completed his NS but he himself did not... wan to stay in sg for good but taking the shortcuts by getting out of NS??? Next pls...

bro, do u feel like returning home in your own country? if yes, then u have two home. we singaporean only have one! if this one down, we are Refugee. but u have options anytime.

I'll be the 1st to admit that i (along with the rest of the PRs) have an unfair advantage over the singaporeans, which is that we can pack up and leave anytime. But , Singapore is my home. I can sometimes say that im more localised than a lot of singaporeans. To me, i find that the only difference between me and singaporeans is the colour of my IC. [laugh]

Unless forced by circumstances, i'm staying put. The reason why im not converting to citizenship is so that i can buy properties in Malaysia without the Foreigner Cap. And if all else fails, at least i can take my CPF money anytime without worrying what the minimum age the Gahmen set in 25 yrs time.

I have to agree that PRs here are too well treated, and for those that try their hardest to milk the current situation,...all i can say is F them.

But don't you feel that those new citizen also don't integrate well into our society? In fact I find the PR from our neighbouring country integrate better, but if only they just make the step to convert, then they are just like any our heartlander singaporean..

those integrate better are mostly from Malaysia...becos they are not so different from our culture here..can't say the same for the rest...

wah, taxi to airport only ah, never offer to pay for his air-ticket?

lets be frank, if he really is patriotic, he wuld have converted to pink IC liao.

My wife is a PR, she die die will not convert coz she tell me if 1 day singapore collaspe, she can run back to her own country.( will she bring me along? [:p] )

Bro some PR are even more patriotic than us Singaporeans.

Don't believe just ask Zanter.

He loves our wonderful govt and system and thinks Singaporeans are unappreciative and just whine way too much.

But he is not converting to pink IC because he just doesn't want to burden Singapore when he grows old. [laugh]

He will happily cash out and go back Malaysia to retire.

Right Zanter? [rolleyes]

when i first saw the thread title i thot it was a ghost thread

7 month no here yet le

There are many reasons why most PR won't convert to pink IC.

I know exactly how it feels, they came from poor countries & they came here to strike a fortune & yet they look down on the local people who give them this opportunity

balloting ticket for NDP is the most stupidest thing, some get to see it every year, some dun get to see it till they die -_-

Remember years ago some people Q over night just to get tickets. Think u have better chance of getting tickets then if you are willing to Q. I woke up at 6am on a Sunday morning to Q for the ticket...

4th Gear

Remember years ago some people Q over night just to get tickets. Think u have better chance of getting tickets then if you are willing to Q. I woke up at 6am on a Sunday morning to Q for the ticket...

Now got to ballot...after trying for 3 years I given up! [mad]

There are many reasons why most PR won't convert to pink IC.

I know exactly how it feels, they came from poor countries & they came here to strike a fortune & yet they look down on the local people who give them this opportunity

I don't get it....why would they look down on us?

To me, i find that the only difference between me and singaporeans is the colour of my IC. [laugh]

the color of the IC ...... and 15 years of blood sweat and tears, up and down pengkang hill, e-shape knoll, mount biang, amphibious ops, 24hr route marches, 10km forced marches, movement to contact, jungle confidence course in temburong, 2.4km in sub 9mins, 5 day defence missions with full firetrench and barbed wire defence, 3km open sea swimming, no food, no rest, no sleep during 3-4 day missions, just to name a few small things...

I don't get it....why would they look down on us?

Don't you know that these people when they are here, they are praised as talent and the job they are doing, no local is capable of doing it? The recruitment agency told them that they can't find local with their expertise and that why they have to recuit them from thei country. But the fact is they are not told their pay is lower than local, not they are talent.