Not Happy? Swap with me

Scion

the question is... why should we compare with ur country?

we should be comparing with first world countries such as switzerland

Not happy? Swap with me

Letter from Matthew Yeo

11:45 PM May 11, 2011

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC11051...y?-Swop-with-me

I refer to the statement made by Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew in your report on May 9. I am a professional working in Singapore on an Employment Pass and I come from a nearby country. I have refrained from making any comments to my Singaporean friends in the run-up to the General Election because being a non-voter, I believe I should be neutral. But I am aware of all the issues being thrown about: High cost of living, overcrowding, entry of many foreigners, the hot property market, etc.

My personal view is that the present government, although not perfect, has done very well in comparison to other neighbouring countries, and indeed globally. We see a society here that is relatively safe, stable, has a good standard of living, that prepares its younger generation for the future by having a world-class education system and a thriving economy.

Singaporeans must come out of this complaining, molly-coddled mindset, and I think part of this syndrome is because the efficiency of this society has spoiled them so that they are less tolerant. Please compare this country to where I come from: There is rampant corruption, social injustice, religious and racial bigotry, indecisiveness and opaque governance, to name a few things. The list goes on.

To the unhappy and discontented Singaporeans, exchange places with me. I would only be too happy to make this my permanent home.

That's the problem...my friends from malaysia, Indonesia , etc...say our gahmen very good if compare to theirs..

When u compare something of coz u will tend to compare with better ones ...somemore we are PROMISED Swiss living standard...we never ask for it..

Notice after the election results, all the 'heroes' start to emerge already..and this guy should be past NS age liao..that's why mouth big big..

Ask them serve NS and get pink IC, they will shut up instantly. These fags are here only because of the strong currency. Otherwise would they bother to cross the causeway every morning to get to work? KNN.

Matthew Yeo, your views are appreciated but somewhat myopic. You choose to see only the good things, for each of which, there are a myriad other points & policies that are questionable at best, lamentable at worst.

it's always seems to be the same story:

non-sinkies who do not benefit from the gahmen freebies love s'pore.

sinkies who get gahmen freebies hates s'pore.

damn ironic.

matthew please diam diam lah... why are you meddling with my country's affairs?

The reply from Alvin at the bottom of the article is damn spot on!

Edited by Altivo

Maybe to put his thoughts in another way, is the current alternative to the government swiss standard or third world standard. Singaporeans may inadvertantly change from competant gov to third world gov full of rhetoric and demogogary with populist promises. Affordable this that and everything with economic growth to boot , first world standard but just dont ask me too many details. And dont forget we have plenty of reserves.

If you have worked around the region, and not just travel and tour and go cheap cheap, your perspective would be very different.

i think that matthew fella got no rights to write such comments as he's not a citizen, and got no rights to vote. but our gahment needs such FT to tell the citizen how good the gahment is...sad

Of course he said gahment good, coz the situation/mess right now benefit the FT more that citizen. They are not stuck with the high cost for long. Once they made enough money, they will spend the singapore earned money in their own country making them very wealthy. Also if they sell their HDB in the open market (Thanks to MBT asset enhancement policy) , they made tons of money to bring back to live like king. The pilicy right now treats the FT well, that's why they like our gahment.

Edited by Ender

Dear Matthew Yeo...hope that you are not related to Georgie Yeo..

It is becos there must be corruption and all other chaos, which are a natural inherent characteristic of humans and where human wants to rule...

That make the society able to grow and become more mature and in that sense where 'true democracy' comes forth...

Else there will be men, who thinks that it is becos of their own effort that such stability comes forth and they get incomplacent and greedy and took for granted that it should their God damn right that they are in office NOT becosIT WAS THE PEOPLE OF THEIR COUNTRY WHO GAVE THEM THAT RIGHT!

Matthew Yeo .....you should fark back to your own country becos you didn't honestly admit that you are just sucking on the goodwill by coming to Sinkland, which the Pappies have extended to you instead of giving this goodwill back to their citizen.

Being able to see thru you is simple.... becos such propaganda crap has been tired too many times by the Pappies themselves..

...that it now looks so jaded and instead of the Pappies thinking that it will serve it's purpose,,,

BACK FIRED instead..

Rdgs[/b]

Edited by Gearoil

Is the MSM trying to stir something??? remember the in word "resentment" by ex-pap?

looking at the way we responded, we have played into their game.

you believe this guy exist???

I expect a "counterstrike letter" reply soon, very gilat one, to please all of us sheep, especially the 39.88%.

is all a game.

damn ironic.

Your argument is flawed.

non - sinkies benefit TREMENDOUSLY because they DO NOT SERVE NS.

Dear Matthew Yeo...hope that you are not related to Georgie Yeo..

It is becos there must be corruption and all other chaos, which are a natural inherent characteristic of humans and where human wants to rule...

That make the society able to grow and become more mature and in that sense where 'true democracy' comes forth...

Else there will be men, who thinks that it is becos of their own effort that such stability comes forth and they get incomplacent and greedy and took for granted that it should their God damn right that they are in office NOT becosIT WAS THE PEOPLE OF THEIR COUNTRY WHO GAVE THEM THAT RIGHT!

Matthew Yeo .....you should fark back to your own country becos you didn't honestly admit that you are just sucking on the goodwill by coming to Sinkland, which the Pappies have extended to you instead of giving this goodwill back to their citizen.

Being able to see thru you is simple.... becos such propaganda crap has been tired too many times by the Pappies themselves..

...that it now looks so jaded and instead of the Pappies thinking that it will serve it's purpose,,,

BACK FIRED instead..

Rdgs[/b]

wah Geraoil I respect your fiery message. But I thought you hinted you also from there ??

aiyo, pls dun reduce NS to a bargaining tool lah.

u mean u didn't benefit as a person by serving NS? if so, the system has truly failed.

damn ironic.

so what is the conclusion? [laugh] [laugh]

That's the problem...my friends from malaysia, Indonesia , etc...say our gahmen very good if compare to theirs..

When u compare something of coz u will tend to compare with better ones ...somemore we are PROMISED Swiss living standard...we never ask for it..

These foreigners of course want us to be complacent so that chances are sooner or later we will slide backward, to the advantage of their home countries........ they can say all they want, ultimately its our country, not theirs, and we want to improve life here our way thru putting pressure on whichever party is running the country................ noises from foreigners are just that, if they make sense we take note, otherwise treat them as noises from a broken exhaust pipe :D

Edited by KARTer