RC, CC, CCC & All Other Cs Didn't Detect Ground Resentment?

Vulcann

They have not been shaking the box in the last 5 years. Not sure if they will shake it in the next 5.

On 5/13/2011 at 2:11 PM, Icedream said:

They have not been shaking the box in the last 5 years. Not sure if they will shake it in the next 5.

They cannot even find the box now bro...

On 5/13/2011 at 2:23 PM, Vulcann said:

They cannot even find the box now bro...

No wonder they are not shaking the box. They have to find it first. Maybe last time they shake was 50 years ago.

On 5/13/2011 at 3:04 PM, Icedream said:

No wonder they are not shaking the box. They have to find it first. Maybe last time they shake was 50 years ago.

If you are into Area 51 type of myth, the box may not even exist....

[lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed]

On 5/13/2011 at 10:18 AM, Vulcann said:

They have been ignoring ground sentiments throughout the past GEs & thought they could do that again this time.

Unfortunately they realised rather late about the alarming high level of resentment & tried to placate the voters at the very last minute.

Too little, too late regrettably...

to speak the truth, they already know the resentment. but they choose to take a chance. too bad the chance result in a GRC being lost.

To them, if you can own a handphone, have a TV set, personal computer, sofa set .... then you should not be complaining about cost of living. Cause these are all "luxury" items not necessity items. You ask for financial help, they will screen your whole family tree earnings. Help youself first.

So which household does not have yese items, maybe 1% of the population. So to them Singapore is still affordable to live in with all the government assistance scheme available to help you.

On 5/14/2011 at 2:36 AM, Reversegear said:

To them, if you can own a handphone, have a TV set, personal computer, sofa set .... then you should not be complaining about cost of living. Cause these are all "luxury" items not necessity items. You ask for financial help, they will screen your whole family tree earnings. Help youself first.

So which household does not have yese items, maybe 1% of the population. So to them Singapore is still affordable to live in with all the government assistance scheme available to help you.

In short, the ivory towers they are in is too disconnected to the ground... :o :o :o

On 5/14/2011 at 1:27 AM, Picanto said:

to speak the truth, they already know the resentment. but they choose to take a chance. too bad the chance result in a GRC being lost.

And now all the reflections, the proposed changes, the relook of some of the ways they do things, the stepping down of the two most senior oldies all come into play.

IF you believe they are repenting & changing for the better.

I very much doubt it...

On 5/14/2011 at 1:33 PM, Vulcann said:

And now all the reflections, the proposed changes, the relook of some of the ways they do things, the stepping down of the two most senior oldies all come into play.

IF you believe they are repenting & changing for the better.

I very much doubt it...

they just put the blame on the 2 old man..... [lipsrsealed]

On 5/14/2011 at 2:00 PM, Jp66 said:

they just put the blame on the 2 old man..... [lipsrsealed]

Looks like it.

But the Won't "MSK" Kena Surely & Must "Affordable & Heavily Subsidised" Blame Them still sitting pretty leh...

If these two blokes step down then it will be

皆大欢喜!

Everyone happy!

We will see if it materializes......

Most bros here miss out one very critical factor. Why they didn't realise that the resentment run so deep?

Answer : They weren't contested in previous GE. Returning to power on nomination day. Surely along the line some of them might feel complacent, YES...MBT AND WKS I am looking at YOU. Complacent and arrogant separate by a very thin line. So here u got MP with mindset that though ground are not so sweet but voters will still vote them in. POPULAS VOTE. They were caught by surprise when opp contest in ALL seats, almost i would say. Only then they start to work deeper in the ground. Only then they realise how strong the resentment toward them. Only then u got threat "repent". Only then u got apology on national TV.

IMO, if opp didn't contest in all SMG/GRC this GE and the MIW return to power on nomination day, till now they still won't know how deep the resentment from its people.

Edited by Kopites

On 5/11/2011 at 2:04 PM, Vulcann said:

It is still a big mystery to me till this day that the ruling party apparently did not detect the so-called ground resentment until it was GE time.

The latest admission came from PMO Minister LHH who had lost her post as a result of being ousted from her Aljunied GRC. She was the latest office bearer who revealed this in a press conference today. Almost every of her cabinet colleagues had already sounded caution of this wave of dissatisfaction of the government just before & after the GE.

The part that puzzles me is that the ruling party MPs serve as advisors to EVERY SINGLE WARD & he or she has an army of helpers, grassroots volunteers & leaders from RCs, CCs, CCCs & whatever Cs to assist him or her in the course of their ground advisory work. These folks apparently also serve as the eyes & ears to alert these MPs of anything that happens on the ground.

I mean no disrespect to these selfless individuals who took time off to volunteer their service to the MPs on a regular basis.

Question is: WHY IS THE RULING PARTY CAUGHT OFF GUARD BY THE GROUND RESENTMENT?

Your views?

It's because only those 60% participate in the activities,

The rest of the 40% were slogging their lives, to busy and entrenched to participate in such activities.

Thus the RC, CC & PA only detected all the nice to ears stuff.

Those CCCs only are merry-go-rounds that spin those people that seek their help to go in circles. Of course they only report those people who were helped. Those are good news too.

ppl on top wanna hear good news only.

boot lickers below just give their masters good news only lor.

On 5/14/2011 at 4:22 PM, Kopites said:

Most bros here miss out one very critical factor. Why they didn't realise that the resentment run so deep?

Answer : They weren't contested in previous GE. Returning to power on nomination day. Surely along the line some of them might feel complacent, YES...MBT AND WKS I am looking at YOU. Complacent and arrogant separate by a very thin line. So here u got MP with mindset that though ground are not so sweet but voters will still vote them in. POPULAS VOTE. They were caught by surprise when opp contest in ALL seats, almost i would say. Only then they start to work deeper in the ground. Only then they realise how strong the resentment toward them. Only then u got threat "repent". Only then u got apology on national TV.

IMO, if opp didn't contest in all SMG/GRC this GE and the MIW return to power on nomination day, till now they still won't know how deep the resentment from its people.

Agree with your view.

If not for the oppo contesting all seats plus the ground swell, these folks will still be sitting up in their sleek & cozy ivory towers & thinking all's well.

If they refused to be transformed, we will.

Via that 1 day out of every 5 years...

This is the problem when you rely everything on feedback from "Middle men".

My manager in my current company also hardly if ever asked for my feedback. But hopefully soon, I give him one big feedback. Hehe

  On 5/14/2011 at 3:50 PM, Picanto said:

why dun they do something about pei ling?

Nothing can be done now that she is an elected MP.

Like it or not, her ward has to live with her since the GRC itself has voted the whole team in.

I am just glad that she is not my MP & does not what to speculate whether she turns out good or not.

Edited by Vulcann