RC, CC, CCC & All Other Cs Didn't Detect Ground Resentment?

Vulcann

  On 5/11/2011 at 3:34 PM, Vulcann said:

Remember our country is being run literally like a company i.e. Maximising profits, minimizing costs & ABSOLUTELY MUST WATCH THE BOTTOM LINE ALL THE TIME ABSOLUTELY?

They don't coin the name Singapore Inc. for nothing....

Heartless...... what only matters to them: bottomline

my you-know-who has been a die-hard supporter of you-know-what party, after 7th May, and without further prompting from me, she began to say things like:- disconnected to the ground, overlooked Gen-Y's aspirations, all figures but without the heart....... both she and miw really needed the result of 7th May to wake up, the question is: will they press the button "alarm-off" and go back to ZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz soon...?

Edited by KARTer

The part that puzzles me is that the ruling party MPs serve as advisors to EVERY SINGLE WARD & he or she has an army of helpers, grassroots volunteers & leaders from RCs, CCs, CCCs & whatever Cs to assist him or her in the course of their ground advisory work. These folks apparently also serve as the eyes & ears to alert these MPs of anything that happens on the ground.

Your views?

Actual fact is that the more grassroots, volunteers, CCs, PAs, etc they have, the less they will hear from the ground.

It is the same as corporate world.....the more layers they have, the less effective the organization is in getting feedbacks from employees or customers.

The middle layer will always try to filter off bad news from reaching the top.

  On 5/11/2011 at 4:43 PM, Damienic said:

Yeo Guat Kwang. His ward was carved into AMK GRC instead right?

Ya that's the guy.

He has the Elections Department to thank for.

:D:D:D

Edited by Vulcann

Hahahaha....Wonder what other benifits they have?????/public/style_emoticons/default/angry.gif

  On 5/11/2011 at 2:04 PM, Vulcann said:

It is still a big mystery to me till this day that the ruling party apparently did not detect the so-called ground resentment until it was GE time.

The latest admission came from PMO Minister LHH who had lost her post as a result of being ousted from her Aljunied GRC. She was the latest office bearer who revealed this in a press conference today. Almost every of her cabinet colleagues had already sounded caution of this wave of dissatisfaction of the government just before & after the GE.

The part that puzzles me is that the ruling party MPs serve as advisors to EVERY SINGLE WARD & he or she has an army of helpers, grassroots volunteers & leaders from RCs, CCs, CCCs & whatever Cs to assist him or her in the course of their ground advisory work. These folks apparently also serve as the eyes & ears to alert these MPs of anything that happens on the ground.

I mean no disrespect to these selfless individuals who took time off to volunteer their service to the MPs on a regular basis.

Question is: WHY IS THE RULING PARTY CAUGHT OFF GUARD BY THE GROUND RESENTMENT?

Your views?

you see............. every whatever C's members wants to paint a good image of themselves and when reporting to MP's, everything is always OK to the MP's ears ......

One very good example is the MP visit to any hdb blocks or hawker centres, the night before, can see cleaners spray-jet the floor, rubbish bins near the lift cleaned & cleared, lift doors polish from inside & outside and at time, don't know from where, potted plants can be seen.

You will know when someone is coming to visit the area and no need to guess who ........ :ph34r:

So......... with everyone along the chain keep hidding some facts from the one above, the last person to receive the message is "everything is smooth sailing and well taken care off, no complaint, no short-coming, ppls are happy and best of all, Medical & HDB price are AFFORTABLE " ..... [mad]

Edited by Picnic06

  On 5/11/2011 at 2:40 PM, Nlatio said:

If you think FREE CARPARK is their motivation... then I can tell you no more simi LJ Grass already..... [rolleyes]

Firstly, it not Free... they need to buy carpark for the place they stay..... then HDthe bee then computer ti ti ti and they can park at all the carpark at the ward they represent..... for this type of "freebies" you think the grass wanna sit there and kena left rigth centre the whole nite.... [laugh]

Maybe I would like to give one example,

If that member stays at Ave 10 AMK and buy season car park for his car, he will get to park free within AMK GRC right ?

Then, that member like to shop at AMK centre, don't you think he enjoy free parking around the vicinity of AMK HUB (unless he park at the basement car park of AMK HUB where he had to pay).

Then if he like to eat crab bee-hoon at Street 21, AMK, he will get to park free the car park right....... :ph34r:

So, although the member pay for his own car park fee, he get to park free within the GRC ...... [cool]

ordinary residents have to pay for every car park he enter .....

Edited by Picnic06

It is still a big mystery to me till this day that the ruling party apparently did not detect the so-called ground resentment until it was GE time.

The latest admission came from PMO Minister LHH who had lost her post as a result of being ousted from her Aljunied GRC. She was the latest office bearer who revealed this in a press conference today. Almost every of her cabinet colleagues had already sounded caution of this wave of dissatisfaction of the government just before & after the GE.

I mean no disrespect to these selfless individuals who took time off to volunteer their service to the MPs on a regular basis.

Your views?

Just like the story of...."The Emperor New Clothes"....nobody dare to tell LHH the hard truth of the ground sentiment.

On 5/12/2011 at 12:54 AM, Picnic06 said:

you see............. every whatever C's members wants to paint a good image of themselves and when reporting to MP's, everything is always OK to the MP's ears ......

One very good example is the MP visit to any hdb blocks or hawker centres, the night before, can see cleaners spray-jet the floor, rubbish bins near the lift cleaned & cleared, lift doors polish from inside & outside and at time, don't know from where, potted plants can be seen.

You will know when someone is coming to visit the area and no need to guess who ........ :ph34r:

So......... with everyone along the chain keep hidding some facts from the one above, the last person to receive the message is "everything is smooth sailing and well taken care off, no complaint, no short-coming, ppls are happy and best of all, Medical & HDB price are AFFORTABLE " ..... [mad]

I do not think any MPs have walk on their own in his/her constituency the day before the official

visit......

A lot of Por Lum Pa ppl involve in Grassroots. The heavier the balls, the more the number of hands needed to carry.

Of course they won't be the messenger of bad news as well, they are afraid they get arrowed to organize stuff to "reward" the residents.

60.2% votes ... so called mandate

81/87 parliamentary seats = 93% house .... where is the logic?

On 5/12/2011 at 1:30 AM, Kezg1 said:

I do not think any MPs have walk on their own in his/her constituency the day before the official

visit......

will you go to a place a day before you go tomorrow ??

My friend does. especially for Interview so he knows how to drive there... that was when we have no GPS lah...

In an earlier post of mine, I have attempted to define the class layers of the Singapore populace, broken down into quintiles.

Its very rough, no hard and fast rules.

1st Quintile: Upper Class (household income >>$450K p.a.)

2nd Quintile: Upper-Middle Class (>$200K and <450K p.a.)

3rd Quintile: Middle Class / the 'sandwiched' class (>100K and <200K)

4th Quintile: Lower-Middle Class (>$30K and <$100K)

5th Quintile: Low Income / marginalized (<$30K)

In the incumbent government's meet-the-people sessions over the last 5 years, I believe that their focus would mainly be on the Low Income group, who have problems ranging from jobs, money, roof-over-their-heads, food, children's education and so on. Help had gone mostly the way to this 5th quintile group of people.

I don't think there was much focus on the 1st and 2nd quintiles, as these two groups would require the least help from the government. They have it all, earning in excess of $200K/year (i.e., no limit) per family.

It is the 3rd Quintile (Middle Class) and the 4th Quintile (Lower-Middle Class) that I think, have been neglected the most. A.K.A. the "Sandwiched Class".

These are the groups of people with family incomes between $30K-100K and up to $200K per year, respectively. Their habitats could be wide-ranging, from HDB heartlanders, to suburban condominiums and even landed property in the non-core central parts of Singapore. The sandwiched class would likely hold decent white collar jobs, or are professionals - mostly aspiring to climb the social ladder quickly in life and would also include graduates who have had less than 10 years working experience. They own cars, mostly point A-to-B types, but some take on huge loans to own entry-level luxury marques. And they would mostly have nearly-all, or all of the 5-Cs that Singaporeans aspire to secure.

The sandwiched groups would also be the most impacted by the FTs pouring into Singapore, not only making it more competitive for them to secure their desired jobs, be it in banking, finance, IT, engineering, manufacturing, marketing, sales and education, but also impacting on their upward mobility ... especially when they realize that FTs are filling up the more-senior positions also.

They also want their children to do well academically and will do almost anything (even renting, or shifting to homes near certain desired premium schools) to gain entry into good, 'branded' primary schools. Most do not have the privilege of having attended such schools in their time, so do not qualify for the Cat A and Cat B entry requirements. And what do they find? FTs' children falling in the same Cat C queue, with their children!

And to keep up with the Joneses, some incur high loans to purchase private property and flashy cars. Housing loans taken in excess of $500K ... some even up to >$1M!!! High loans for cars >80% and up to 10 years tenure, sometimes just for the badge ... albeit an entry-level model. With so much being leveraged financially, they began to feel it / hurt most, when inflation set in over the last few years and the cost of living escalated further with a growing economy.

So, this sandwiched class of people are not really 'poor' enough to be given the care and attention of the RCs, CCs, CCCs and others. Some don't even meet the HDB's criteria for subsidized public housing.

They also have their own self egos, not to request for any help when they get into financial trouble, even if they need one (e.g. when a family member loses a job, or suddenly comes down with a terminal illness).

So without much cross-dialog between this sandwiched class of people and the grassroots groups, their angst, worries and fears are mostly kept within and bottled up (save for the few letters written to the ST forums) - and only blowing up when the GE draws near; cos how they cast their votes eventually mattered to the final outcome of the GE.

So which group do YOU belong to?

I know that in MCF, there are a number that fall in the 1st Quintile! [rolleyes]

On 5/11/2011 at 3:42 PM, SimonTan said:

Gov still got super strong 60.2% support. In many parts of the world. This is undeniable statistics of super strong win!

other countries got a few strong opp party, ....singapore got only 1 or 2 opposition A team....like that can get 40% not bad already!

imagine if there is no GRC system, we should see at least 40% of the 82 seats occupy by opposition

Your views?

pls lah these ppl only concern on getting privilege parking/schooling/housing etc thats why they join all these ECAs, organising activities (e.g. karaoke, line-dancing), where got time to listen to the ground resentment.....

Most volunteers (not all) out there are businessmen with business interests.

Your views?

yes, they run us like Singapore Inc.

and worst we are all guilty of it lah.

for example, the relationship between employer &employee/ maid, managers & subordinates, officer/encik & men etc.

MAID example:

The employer, inside their heart, knows must give more freedom, more pay, more feedback, more human rights to the maid, but most of them refused to admit/ face/ talk about it with the maid.

it the end, just follow the standard MOM rules blindly, listening to others (grandparents, kids, neighbours) instead of listening from the maid point-of-view.

WE ARE TREATED LIKE MAIDS, literally!!!

even in cooperate, do you think the CEO or board of directors give a damn on how the store-man or janitor thinks, when they implement policies???