How do you sack an employee?

Kelpie

Hi all,

Have you ever conduct a dismissal exercise before? A friend was given a task to sack an employee but find it difficult and an emotional thing to execute. This is his 1st time doing so.

The staff (barely a year with the company) hasn't done anything really wrong. But is someone who lacks initiatives at work given his level and not well-liked by other staff for his bo-chapness in handling users' issues. Come in on time and leave office on the dot. Even the way he sat also invited complaints that he is a sloppy person. The staff has also been told about his shortcomings earlier.

Now, he has been tasked to conduct an immediate dismissal comes D-day.

What advice would you give it to him?

Thank you very much.

Regards,

Hi all,

Have you ever conduct a dismissal exercise before? A friend was given a task to sack an employee but find it difficult and an emotional thing to execute. This is his 1st time doing so.

The staff (barely a year with the company) hasn't done anything really wrong. But is someone who lacks initiatives at work given his level and not well-liked by other staff for his bo-chapness in handling users' issues. Come in on time and leave office on the dot. Even the way he sat also invited complaints that he is a sloppy person. The staff has also been told about his shortcomings earlier.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

Your friend should ask his HR for help.

His HR department should know the correct way to perform employee termination.

If your friend is a senior enough person to perform termination then he/she should know it's business and nothing personal.

If he's a junior person then I have no idea why the company is giving that task to your friend?

Hi all,

Thank you very much.

Regards,

Did the company follow their procedure in handling such issue.

eg.... gave verbal or warning letter..

Once this procedure had been followed....it will be straightforward exercise.

Usually for immediate termination, it will be handled by the HR dept...cos that guy needed to be escorted out to prevent unnecessary trouble.

however if the company didnt follow their internal procedure, the terminated guy can report to MOM (might get more complicated if that guy is a non executive and member of a union).

Sound similar to one of my subordinate. He was oon the retrench list, so it was easier..

Terminating a staff is one of the most difficult thing to do... even when a staff does not perform.

If you are a fellow employee (ie. not the business owner or a partner) then tell the person you are following orders and have no choice.

But if you have a stake in the business, you can exercise more discretion and give the employee some time to look for another job.

Overall, it is an ugly thing. I was involved in something similar and it leaves a bad taste, regardless of whether you think it was the right thing to do.

watch up in the air ... [laugh]

make sure don't fire thru video conferencing hor ....

joking aside ... firing one especially you know that the person need the job to put food on the table is really taxing .....

Up_in_the_Air_2.jpg

watch up in the air ... [laugh]

make sure don't fire thru video conferencing hor ....

joking aside ... firing one especially you know that the person need the job to put food on the table is really taxing .....

In my last job I had to terminate about 21 staff around the region in a single day due to outsourcing.

Obviously some had to be done remotely through teleconferences and in groups of 2-5.

Sounds cold but end of the day it's business.

easy. if in doubt, juz blame the gahmen..... [:p]

seems to work for everything else these days. [laugh][laugh]

cannot everything blame the gahmen....

but not difficult to fire someone, if you sound sincere that you are firing him with a valid reason [laugh][laugh]

How is it that the story always happen to a friend? Ppl here in MCF are just so helpful.

TS, how about you? What advice would you give to your friend?

but not difficult to fire someone, if you sound sincere that you are firing him with a valid reason [laugh][laugh]

and the response u get would be the same as that in ur avatar.... [laugh][laugh]

Yes,ask the person which politica party he support? If he says Pap,sorry we dun share the same idea and vision,and it's hard to move on from here.If he says oppo,sorry we are getting a contract with the existing govt.It might have conflict of interest.

if only short notice is give, then pass the ball to HR.... Its not his job to do such thing. Especially if its a dismissal case (sacking the staff wih immediate effect without any compensation)

Like some bro said, company should give verbal and written warning b4 sacking the staff. otherwise, the staff should be given sufficient notice for termination or pay in-lieu.

Hi all,

Thank you very much.

Regards,

Don't sack the employee.

Sack the HR interviewer that hired him.

If you sack the employee, you solve this problem once.

If you sack the interviewer, you stop the problem once and for all.

Anyway sack this employee, how you know you will not a worse

employee next time?

Its obvious your company don't know how to hire good people.

If it did, you wouldn't have this problem with this employee.

Don't sack the employee.

Sack the HR interviewer that hired him.

If you sack the employee, you solve this problem once.

If you sack the interviewer, you stop the problem once and for all.

Anyway sack this employee, how you know you will not a worse

employee next time?

Its obvious your company don't know how to hire good people.

If it did, you wouldn't have this problem with this employee.

What if his friend was the HR interviewer ..

Anyways, can try this - find out his working history, write a resume and put his email and contacts, post on JobsDB and Jobstreet, put yourself as the reference. Log on using his account and click "apply" on every job .. wait a few weeks .. and tadaa.