Gearoil 1st Gear May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 Although the customer service function in J Town Council (JTC) is outsourced to EMASCO as reported, the service staff are front-line and represent JTC. Any non-performance and/or complaints would have to be reported to JTC management and documented. If indeed there's cause for dismissal, the warnings and counsellings must be performed and documented by JTC supervisor/manager and/or the outsourced company the same, then only the staff can be let-go or redeployed somewhere else. It would be easy to establish a case whether the person is fairly sacked or not and to seek further redress if warranted. But for a GM of JTC to wash hand and say it's HR issue of the outsourced company and the contract staff is at best, not taking ownership of management decision. All these bastxxds learnt from examples set by Wong Can't Sing! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Labixiaoxin Clutched May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 Bull s--t in report that she sacked because of poor perofrmance. They never follow proper protocol. Anyhow hump tum just to cover the actual reason. All this people sucks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 All these bastxxds learnt from examples set by Wong Can't Sing! Don't you mean Wrong Can't Sack? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 Bull s--t in report that she sacked because of poor perofrmance. They never follow proper protocol. Anyhow hump tum just to cover the actual reason. All this people sucks. Frankly speaking, that is the nature of HR law in Singapore - protections for the workers are minimal, especially those that are considered "executives" and not covered by the whatever union act.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 Now I may understand sometimes when I called the Car Park Div to complaint about illegal parking, I do not get a response. Maybe I should volunteer my service to either Hougang or Aljunied TC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 err.. you mean temasek poly? she teaches law there. she from my church too....never see her b4 tho Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 To: Mdm HALIMAH Yacob Chairman Jurong Town Council . Dear Mdm, It was reported on Temasek Review that a person working in Jurong Town Council by the name of Geraldine Soh Shin Lin has been sacked by the General Manager, Mr Ho Thian Poh. According to the report, the official reason given for her sudden sacking was due to Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 (edited) Although the customer service function in J Town Council (JTC) is outsourced to EMASCO as reported, the service staff are front-line and represent JTC. Any non-performance and/or complaints would have to be reported to JTC management and documented. If indeed there's cause for dismissal, the warnings and counsellings must be performed and documented by JTC supervisor/manager and/or the outsourced company the same, then only the staff can be let-go or redeployed somewhere else. It would be easy to establish a case whether the person is fairly sacked or not and to seek further redress if warranted. But for a GM of JTC to wash hand and say it's HR issue of the outsourced company and the contract staff is at best, not taking ownership of management decision. True, did she receive waning letter before that ? If no than we all know the ans. Even primary school kids also know the PAP intention. So the more they explain, the more I find it they are just pushing blame to someone else. Again trying to save face, but end up.. lose even more face. I do not know what the Hell PAP is doing. They just do not understand the logic behind everything. Just sour grapes.. Sad.. Edited May 11, 2011 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 Don't you mean Wrong Can't Sack? Damn good one. I like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fondue Neutral Newbie May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 (edited) This is from Steve Chia's fb regarding this incident : The ST editors had omitted my other comments, "Please ask the TC GM to produce the performance appraisals signed by the employee over the last year -- showing her poor performance, and any warning letter issued to her." The Town Council can't produce any evidence of their claimed poor performance by her. The Journalist called back to check my quotes and the above was in the quotes. But the ST editor (in charge) conveniently censored this important comment -- for reasons we all should know. Without any warning letter of poor performance previously issued to an employee, the employee cannot be simply dismissed as claimed for "weakness in attending to calls ... And follow-ups on calls." Anyone begs to differ? Comment from Steve Chia NSP on his fb Lets see if Jurong Town Council have any appraisals to show .... or do they even have an appraisal system in the first place .. Edited May 11, 2011 by Fondue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 Frankly speaking, that is the nature of HR law in Singapore - protections for the workers are minimal, especially those that are considered "executives" and not covered by the whatever union act.... Yes, for management executves in private sector, actually, very easy to sack... 'Sorry, after xxx mths/yrs, we find you're not good fit. As per our employment agreement, we're giving you 3 months notice...' Bye bye. The hgher you go, the easier you fall Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 I have also email this to PM Lee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 anyway after this....she can find new job lah...her job will be sibei difficult Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 One thing I can guarantee you - no politician will have been stupid enough to "endorse" or "suggest" her sacking. This is not a comment on the rights or wrongs of this case or anything else - merely that sacking someone for attending opposition rally and then cooking up excuse is stupid, and our MPs, whatever else they are, they are not stupid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic May 11, 2011 Share May 11, 2011 (edited) One thing I can guarantee you - no politician will have been stupid enough to "endorse" or "suggest" her sacking. This is not a comment on the rights or wrongs of this case or anything else - merely that sacking someone for attending opposition rally and then cooking up excuse is stupid, and our MPs, whatever else they are, they are not stupid. The Sg way is to "self-censor" - to proactively curtail one's own words and actions so that disapproval by the powers that be (TPTB) never becomes an issue. I suppose such toadying extends to pre-emptively firing "undesirable" underlings so that one is looked upon with favour by TPTB. So no Minister/MIW actually has to spell things out - it's just "understood". This country has a cancer at its very head, which is pervading and perverting the entire body. Edited May 11, 2011 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twnll 1st Gear May 16, 2011 Share May 16, 2011 corruption :angry: :angry:Corruption at its core! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear May 17, 2011 Share May 17, 2011 (edited) corruption :angry: :angry:Corruption at its core! Wow, first it was Aljunied, now Jurong also got such case. Such case must be reported! Someone wrote this. See liao blood boiling. Let’s see:- 1) Ho Thian Poh is PAP branch secretary; 2) HO Thian Poh is the General Manager of Jurong Town Council; 3) Ho Thian Poh is Managing Director of UGL Premas Limited; 4) UGL Premas Ltd owns Esmaco Township Management Services; 5) Esmaco Township Management Services is a contractor to Jurong Town Council. WOW!!!! This is awarding contacts to to himself. Bloody Ho Thian Poh. I also want to be PAP branch secretary la. Can get so many goodies. I tried so many times tendering for many town council projects (Jurong Town Council included) and never got one. Now I know why. WOW. This PAP really is SHITTY. This kinda matter must let our dear PM know, since he said he listen to Singaporeans, & see what he thinks. Edited May 17, 2011 by Kiadaw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 17, 2011 Share May 17, 2011 So at the end of the day -- all that talk of paying the highest salaries in the world to prevent corruption.. when the they are practising nepotism and cronyism at the highest levels already... haiz... 60.1% bluffing themselves, and setting themselves and the rest of the 40% to another 5 years of bloodsucking .... some people never learn... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...