Latka 1st Gear May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 Brudder, u got 5 years to fulfill yr promises. Pace yourself. NEWS May 9, 2011 Sitoh says he will not fail voters By Tan Hui Yee The People's Action Party's Sitoh Yih Pin, who wrested control of longtime opposition ward Potong Pasir from the Singapore People's Party on his third try, promised on Sunday that he 'will not fail' voters. The 47-year-old chairman of an accounting firm told reporters during his thank you parade on Sunday morning: 'Now that (voters) have given us this chance, we will treasure it. We will not fail them, we will fulfill all our promises in the five year plan that we have.' In his five-year plan, he had promised voters more carparks, a family service centre, and childcare and tuition centres. He defeated the SPP's Lina Chiam by just 114 votes, which makes up less than 1 percentage point in the ward with 17,327 voters. Mrs Chiam, a 62-year-old former nurse, is married to Mr Chiam See Tong, who was Potong Pasir's member of parliament for 27 years. Many residents remain loyal to Mr Chiam, who left Potong Pasir to contest in Bishan-Toa Payoh group representation constituency in this year's election. While many residents waved and walked up to Mr Sitoh to congratulate him, a few also shook his hand grudgingly or snubbed him altogether. Mr Sitoh said the emotional attachment to Mr Chiam was 'only natural'. He added: 'I'm sure he has tried his best in the last 27 years. Moving forward, I think we have to better understand the hearts and minds of residents here. Even though I have been here for 11 years, I think there's still a lot to learn, there is still a lot to do.' ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 make all the motherhood statement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 He has an uphill task with so many PP residents loyal to CST. Never like his face, worse still wearing white on white. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 sitoh around for 11 yrs meh?!?!?!?!! the only time i see him is on the notice board leh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 Brudder, u got 5 years to fulfill yr promises. Pace yourself. NEWS May 9, 2011 Sitoh says he will not fail voters By Tan Hui Yee The People's Action Party's Sitoh Yih Pin, who wrested control of longtime opposition ward Potong Pasir from the Singapore People's Party on his third try, promised on Sunday that he 'will not fail' voters. The 47-year-old chairman of an accounting firm told reporters during his thank you parade on Sunday morning: 'Now that (voters) have given us this chance, we will treasure it. We will not fail them, we will fulfill all our promises in the five year plan that we have.' In his five-year plan, he had promised voters more carparks, a family service centre, and childcare and tuition centres. He defeated the SPP's Lina Chiam by just 114 votes, which makes up less than 1 percentage point in the ward with 17,327 voters. Mrs Chiam, a 62-year-old former nurse, is married to Mr Chiam See Tong, who was Potong Pasir's member of parliament for 27 years. Many residents remain loyal to Mr Chiam, who left Potong Pasir to contest in Bishan-Toa Payoh group representation constituency in this year's election. While many residents waved and walked up to Mr Sitoh to congratulate him, a few also shook his hand grudgingly or snubbed him altogether. Mr Sitoh said the emotional attachment to Mr Chiam was 'only natural'. He added: 'I'm sure he has tried his best in the last 27 years. Moving forward, I think we have to better understand the hearts and minds of residents here. Even though I have been here for 11 years, I think there's still a lot to learn, there is still a lot to do.' How to fail if have the backing of M*W.......lots of tax payer $$ to spent.....PP will have a total make over....WE shall see Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 Wait and see how.. Nothing much can we do... Maybe will have a potong pasir hub soon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 sitoh around for 11 yrs meh?!?!?!?!! the only time i see him is on the notice board leh.. so............ his face on the notice board for 11 years lor ....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 (edited) Let's see how he wld not fail voters!? Maybe there will be more bus service into potong pasir?! As i remember this estate all the while only have 1 bus service?! Edited May 10, 2011 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 Let's see how he wld not fail voters!? Maybe there will be more bus service into potong pasir?! As i remember this estate all the while only have 1 bus service?! yes.onli one that link to TPY interchange. actually, i dun think thers an issue with the bus since we have a mrt station. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 Despite all that has been said, this guy this has my respect (and initially, sympathy) for having to tough it out for so many years in the face of losses. At least he won the seat on his own, in a one-to-one face-off, and not sneak in through GRC system. I keep wondering why and how some people are chosen for this one-on-one contests, while others are given "free pass" by riding in on somebody's coat-tails?? What is the criteria? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 yes.onli one that link to TPY interchange. actually, i dun think thers an issue with the bus since we have a mrt station. Aiya, many estate also have mrt station but there are still many bus service going to the area la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 (edited) Being a PP resident for the past 20+ years, I seen alot of things here. There is a reason why most people here love CST or rather respect him. Serious I doubt Sitoh can do much, maybe the past election he can do much more if he won, but as for this , I think he can't as fundings for him might not be that great as now, most of the surrounding GRC is at a more risky position, would you rather lose a small smc or a big GRC with a few minister inside? One thing I still don't like about it here is, when Mr CST is the mp here, the notice board right in front of lifts are of PAP with Sitoh face posted big big. Whereas Mr CST one is either at a corner or at a side. I find this very disrespectful for Mr CST as he is the mp of PP back than whereas Sitoh is the advisor to grassroot but his picture is right in front of all the lifts... Not to mention all CC events are organise by him and not CST... Edited May 10, 2011 by Ghostami Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 No wonder he finally won the hearts of PP?! Cause pple everyday see his face on the notice board. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 No wonder he finally won the hearts of PP?! Cause pple everyday see his face on the notice board. you confirm sitoh in disguise lor! [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 Are they brothers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkwalker Clutched May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 Wait and see how.. Nothing much can we do... Maybe will have a potong pasir hub soon... Complete with airport and space shuttle... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 Are they brothers? OMG!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokyman 1st Gear May 10, 2011 Share May 10, 2011 2016 GE, PP sure merge into GRC liao .. lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...