Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 I got my hdb house in 1988 and did my renovation with running of electrical & phone wires concealed inside my false ceiling. Then come Cablevision (now Starhub) and had to run an ugly trunking accross my dinning hall to hall just under the false ceiling....... So after staying for 18 years, I did a general renovation in 2007 to have all wire concealed and nicely done which I also expect to install the MIO system when Starhub lost the BPL rights to telecast. My Starhub, Singtel sockets and wiring were so well conceal behind a display cabinate so as to have a 40" flat screen TV mounted on the wall. KNN....................... now come OpenNet. Receive a letter with regards to the installing of fibre optic OpenNet cable. They are doing it for free and should we did not up the offer, the next time if we want to wire OpenNet, we have to pay $300+........ Its stated in their booklet that the fibre optic is for fast running broadband and also in future, able to watch HD & 3D TV movies. So its seem like I have to run the trunking just below the false ceiling again ........ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Subutai 3rd Gear May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 Cannot run on wall skirtings near the floor? More labour and material costs though... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 Cannot run on wall skirtings near the floor? More labour and material costs though... Call your electrician along on the day of the appointment for the OpenNet installation. They'll have a way to "pull" the cable within ur internal trunking if it is done with the proper way, that is if your contractor had used a trunking inside the wall to protect the cables. For your info, the cable installers are quite bxxxxxds. There are certain ways which they can help you run the cables and hide within your conice or trunkings, but they just chose the easy way out (maybe too many households to go). For my house, I gave them permission to drill through the conice and pull the cables across insde. Although I told them I'll seal up the excess hole myself. They refused, citing OpenNet policies, but if I get my own contractor to work with them, it can be done. They also refused to leave the excess cables (I did not use up the entire 15m) for me and cut off exactly at the termination point. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 Same issue for me. Do up a point at a area thats not easy to be seen (eg. not so ugly). Then use the power Ethernet to route your data. I recommend model Aztech HomePlug HL280E for less data loss as its max is 1000Mpbs, there is buffer for less. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 Same issue for me. Do up a point at a area thats not easy to be seen (eg. not so ugly). Then use the power Ethernet to route your data. I recommend model Aztech HomePlug HL280E for less data loss as its max is 1000Mpbs, there is buffer for less. OpenNet had yet to specify the specifications for the next generation Set-top box, which is likely to be able to integrate Starhub and Mio services together. Right now, everyone just though that only Internet services are using these fiber points and put the TP far away and connect using wireless. They had forgotten about IPTV or streaming video in. The question is whether you'll be connecting the fiber cable to the STB directly or going through the ONT first. If going through the ONT first, then the HomePlug method will work. OpenNet recommends that the Termination Point be installed near the TV or SCV point, so I guess there's a possibility that future set-top box connection will be fiber in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 9, 2011 Author Share May 9, 2011 Same issue for me. Do up a point at a area thats not easy to be seen (eg. not so ugly). Then use the power Ethernet to route your data. I recommend model Aztech HomePlug HL280E for less data loss as its max is 1000Mpbs, there is buffer for less. Thanks for your suggestion. Now I remember I had run Ethernet points at all my rooms and can make use of it since the MIO system had provided the wireless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 9, 2011 Author Share May 9, 2011 OpenNet had yet to specify the specifications for the next generation Set-top box, which is likely to be able to integrate Starhub and Mio services together. Right now, everyone just though that only Internet services are using these fiber points and put the TP far away and connect using wireless. They had forgotten about IPTV or streaming video in. The question is whether you'll be connecting the fiber cable to the STB directly or going through the ONT first. If going through the ONT first, then the HomePlug method will work. OpenNet recommends that the Termination Point be installed near the TV or SCV point, so I guess there's a possibility that future set-top box connection will be fiber in. Oh Nooooooooooo, back to trunking again ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patricklyb Clutched May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 the guys that install the fibre are subcon,and they will save material inorder to made 100%profit as they will billed opennet with 15m(but do they used that long)trunking etc....... i told one guy to replaced new trunking after they broke 1 :angry: you know what they did,they use slicon to cover it back after they left i remove it ,MYSELF Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 Izit free or u have to pay? Coz I thot the free installations have a limted period of time only? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 the guys that install the fibre are subcon,and they will save material inorder to made 100%profit as they will billed opennet with 15m(but do they used that long)trunking etc....... i told one guy to replaced new trunking after they broke 1 :angry: you know what they did,they use slicon to cover it back after they left i remove it ,MYSELF Yeah, the installers are the sub-con. For my case, they gave me the "full" 15m though I didn't measure if it is exact. But theu just snip the excess cable off. I had intended to re-do the cabling myself when they leave, but with the way they do, I got no choice but to live with what they've done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 9, 2011 Author Share May 9, 2011 Izit free or u have to pay? Coz I thot the free installations have a limted period of time only? it is free and just wait for their letter telling that they are going to do the whole block of flats. If you miss this, then the next one when you call them, you have to pay ...... same as last time with StarHub, call them back again and you have to pay $180/- ........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 Tks,I tot the free period is over liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 9, 2011 Author Share May 9, 2011 Tks,I tot the free period is over liao. this also depend on your block (mostly ground floor SingTel switch room, beside pump room) whether have SingTel lay the main fibre cable to the telephone switch board. My block was installed begining of the year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 i ask them to end the point at my door nia! i read the brochure and it say that most probably all application will run wireless so no problem! hope i am right though! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 9, 2011 Author Share May 9, 2011 i ask them to end the point at my door nia! i read the brochure and it say that most probably all application will run wireless so no problem! hope i am right though! how to watch HD & 3D in wireless ? it had to be cabled to TV or setup box ...... so no mattrer what, have to bare with all the trunking around the house ....,. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 Understand how you feel but you do have a choice whether you want it or not. Of course when it is free, that is the crunchline. I did my house in 1997 with SCV cabling concealed. Recently I just did my OpenNet. My house open to a common corridor with 2 other neighbors facing each other. This means that my Study Room is a brickwall facing one of my two other neighbors. I had wanted to install my OpenNet termination point in my Study Room. The contractor run the FO cable from the outside termination box, over my main gate, then along the outside wall. They drilled a hole through the wall to the Study Room. From the Study Room, they run a cable trunking as best as they can. I am satisfied with that. I am staying on the 2nd level. Hope that helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 how to watch HD & 3D in wireless ? it had to be cabled to TV or setup box ...... so no mattrer what, have to bare with all the trunking around the house ....,. i no like hd or 3d! got 1 time saw a programme in hd and feel like want to vomit! maybe my brain suaku brain! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 my whole hse concealed so we were in similar situation. until on day of installation we spoke with their contractor & work round it. now the trucking is barely conspicuous. best thing is to be around otherwise they will take the easy way out of installing the cable. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...