Best_ctzn Clutched May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 Can somebody come up with a calculation that's as close to $8 given a heart bypass case? It should be free if the patient has got the Plus rider when he bought the enhanced medishield plan. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 You still don't get it! If you can get the Plus rider, you do not need to pay a single cent at all! But this rider is no longer available for new applicants for ntuc since nov 2007, whereas for Great Eastern seems available. The 10% bill payment is for those who bought the Assist rider. Don't know why so simple thing need to discuss till like that, already all written in the websites I listed. Please go and confirm with your insurance friends if I am lying. Like that talk until tomorrow you will still think I am lying here. or can anyone here do that for the benefits of everyone here? As for kbw quoting 3m, I believe he is saying he paying under the medisave, medishield and medifund structure - not that he is using medifund since it is a fallback for those who have no money to pay hospital bill. Sorry, I checked again, indeed Plus Rider was such tok kong, that pay for everything. Such losing end for insurance co, as expected is short lived. Back to the 3m's framework, is it possible to pay only $8 within the 3M's framework? Riders are not part of the 3M's frame work, as it's not cpf approved. It would be easier that KBW just show us how he did it. Saying he uses the 3M's is just too vague, doesn't help us to plan to use our own 3M's... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 last time with a rider you need not even need to fork out a single cent but ntuc change that now even with rider you still need to fork out some cash so in my opinion why cant the rider be deduct through my medisave die die must want citizen to pay cash meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 tell you my story abt 2 years ago i was admitted to hospital after my bp shoot to 235/117 while in an observation ward waiting to be admitted up came this lady from admin side asking me about which ward i want to stay do i have hospital insurance then i told her off 'you mean if i cant afford to pay, you going to leave me outside the hospital untreated?' next while i was recovering the next day again another admin staff came and told me about the estimate hospitalisation cost i told her straight to her face 'the last thing a recovering patient want is to have an added burden of worrying the cost of the treatment.' she got what i mean and left me alone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 Curious, which ward did you choose? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 Some company very good one, will subsidies your medical fees one. Maybe that is the case that's why so cheap. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 another story at specialist clinic an elderly couple came after the check its biling time counter: your bill is so and so elderly couple: can you my from deduct medisave counter: no, it must be in cash elderly couple: i'm not working for the past few years as i'm retired. how am i going to pay? counter: i'm sorry sir that is the rules elderly couple: but how am i going to pay? after that it was my turn to see the specialist thus i dont know what is the out come but it set me thinking how are we going to pay when you are retired not working and worst if you have no relatives to help my late dad did not pay 1 of the bills for a few hundred guess what, they sent a lawyer letter which of course he ignore it until he pass away Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 Curious, which ward did you choose? B2 cause base on my experience if B2 dont have bed, they will put you in B2+ but charge B2 rate BUT if you choose B2+ and no bed they will put you in B2 and charge at B2+ rate if i remember correctly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 For those who can afford the medical insurance, must buy those that can stay private hospital. Almost double the premium. But worth it cos some doctors can only find at specialist hospital. Especially if you are the sole breadwinner (like me), we would not want our love ones to worry about the huge medical bill. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kungming 1st Gear May 6, 2011 Share May 6, 2011 For those who can afford the medical insurance, must buy those that can stay private hospital. Almost double the premium. But worth it cos some doctors can only find at specialist hospital. Especially if you are the sole breadwinner (like me), we would not want our love ones to worry about the huge medical bill. More importantly, when u need to see a specialist quickly, the govt hosp will definitely book an appointment for you, weeks or even months later... For a specialist, you may even get to see him on the same day or the day after depending on his availability. The same applies for lab results hor. You decide if you wanna worry and wait and wait... Nothing beats the anxiety of waiting when one is sick. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 7, 2011 Share May 7, 2011 (edited) $8 not sure how to calculate,maybe he like huat my friend went to operation after break his ligament,18k stay in 4 bed room, his premium A plan can cover all,but he didnt claim use his company one instead.. i think he claimed his accident claims,got pay for staying in hospital i just renew yday..288 cash + 100 plus cpf iirc 388 cover a whole year to leverage a big sum medical..wo hua ma thats why i said before,it's about planning etc...pay high tax,get medical welfare,end up ownself lugi..base on such comparison,u can get millions in coverage or after death insured sia... Edited May 7, 2011 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakid 6th Gear May 7, 2011 Share May 7, 2011 This "elite" minister everything they see are all being "arranged" well beforehand. So how will they ever seen the life of a commoners? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged May 7, 2011 Share May 7, 2011 Can somebody come up with a calculation that's as close to $8 given a heart bypass case? I asked a friend who has been in the industry close to 20 yrs and even he can't give me $8 after calculation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear May 7, 2011 Share May 7, 2011 THe Khaw is keeping mum on this or perhaps he will shed another tear or two on Sporeans questioning his $8 bill. What u have provided are possibilities which is very good, but u still don't have the detail breakdown or what are the other private medical premiums that he had used to reduce his bill. What most people want is accountability n transparency. If he had been more upcoming n truthful with his $8 bill n how is it acheived instead of juz claiming, what he had claimed, people would not be jumping on his neck w this. Unless you are able to provide his exact cost breakdown, claims etc, u can email him personally or call him to explain himself to the public who deserve to know, u will not be able to convince most. No hard figures, no hard facts, how to convince? Tears or sorries?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tony76 1st Gear May 7, 2011 Share May 7, 2011 THe Khaw is keeping mum on this or perhaps he will shed another tear or two on Sporeans questioning his $8 bill. What u have provided are possibilities which is very good, but u still don't have the detail breakdown or what are the other private medical premiums that he had used to reduce his bill. What most people want is accountability n transparency. If he had been more upcoming n truthful with his $8 bill n how is it acheived instead of juz claiming, what he had claimed, people would not be jumping on his neck w this. Unless you are able to provide his exact cost breakdown, claims etc, u can email him personally or call him to explain himself to the public who deserve to know, u will not be able to convince most. No hard figures, no hard facts, how to convince? Tears or sorries?? doubt anyone can get the truth bro...everytime pap cockup they will evade the topic...this time round is no difference...which is why we can bravely say this party has no sense of accountability to us as citizens of singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 7, 2011 Share May 7, 2011 (edited) THe Khaw is keeping mum on this or perhaps he will shed another tear or two on Sporeans questioning his $8 bill. What u have provided are possibilities which is very good, but u still don't have the detail breakdown or what are the other private medical premiums that he had used to reduce his bill. What most people want is accountability n transparency. If he had been more upcoming n truthful with his $8 bill n how is it acheived instead of juz claiming, what he had claimed, people would not be jumping on his neck w this. Unless you are able to provide his exact cost breakdown, claims etc, u can email him personally or call him to explain himself to the public who deserve to know, u will not be able to convince most. No hard figures, no hard facts, how to convince? Tears or sorries?? The possibility he gives do not exist currently coz NTUC has cease that bo hua rider plan. KBW says he uses the 3M's framework to get $8, to convey the message his health care plan can be affordable or even cheap. The Plus rider which best_ctzn says is NOT consider affordable to alot of singaporean and does not comes under the 3M's framework (not CPF approved). In fact even middle income earner would comtemplate hard before buying that premium health plan. So the possibilty offered by Best_ctzn is not conisder an affordable 3M's framework. As of now, I still not convinced that a ordinary Singapore Citizen can get $8 heart bypass under the 3M's framework that KBW claim he uses. He's talking c*ck. Edited May 7, 2011 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedz76 2nd Gear May 7, 2011 Share May 7, 2011 he tot he can b-------t and go through it without being question, but this time round, we are smarter (with Help from our potential opposition MPs) Imagine how much more b-------t we have to take if there are no one speaking for us, if there is no opposition in parliament, you will hear more outrageous comments Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear May 7, 2011 Share May 7, 2011 I think you are not very clear about this policy. The preferred plan is the one that that entitles you to stay in private hospitals. if you buy the Assist rider, you will be charged 10% of total bill, meaning $800 if the bill comes to $8000. If you did not buy the rider, it will cost you $2600 as illustrated in the website. if you did not buy the enhanced medishield, you will have to pay the full $8000! Sad to say, ntuc has withdrawn the 'as charge' feature since Nov 2007. This Plus rider allows you to claim full payment for anything charged by the hospital. Guessed it was too attractive and resulted in money losing for the company. For those who managed to buy it, like me and probably kbw, we can still continue to enjoy it until we decide to let the policy lapse. But I remember Great Eastern still has similar policy available. please go to CPR board to check for details. My point is this - it is possible to be charged only $8 for a $25,000 hospital bill, even no need to pay at all, with an annual premium of about $400 payable partially with CPF medisave fund. Hi, am concerned about eventualities such as weekly dialysis and daily expensive chemo medications - is there a plan that covers such issues? Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...