Road trip Penang - Kelantan - Cameron Highland 12 - 15 May

Chpeck

From KL the next highway you could use is Karak (E8), but up till Cherating only. Then after all are B roads liao. If you want to cut short your journey use the Bentong-Raub-K Lipis-Gua-Musang-Machang road (no. 8).

Vellfire tries to avoid B roads drive. That stretch may have heavy traffic as well ( lorries, trucks ).

Actually, his target time of 1300 hrs reaching KB is unsafe. Where's the fun in the driving too?

Edited by TameDriver

OH, I wonder that goes on there to let that beach earned such a name??? :D

[rolleyes] the name speaks for itself.

Pre PAS days were quite liberal ...........

Vellfire tries to avoid B roads drive. That stretch may have heavy traffic as well ( lorries, trucks ).

Actually, his target time of 1300 hrs reaching KB is unsafe. Where's the fun in the driving too?

All B roads will have some lorries and trucks along the way... this is unavoidable. [:(]

Well, depending on individual, some simply prefer to stick to the easy highway drive and avoid B roads. To each his own lah.

Don't know if one car is considered a convoy with 4 huge guys inside.

The highlight of the trip is mainly photoraphy and nature appreciation + plenty of good food. AWD is prefered as may go into forest tracks.

Itinerary:

12 May, Thursday

8am - set off from Singapore

5pm - Some arrive by flight in Penang

6pm - check into a hotel in Butterworth, probably Ecotel (2 stars)

7pm - Seafood dinner at Tambun

13 May, Friday

9am - Breakfast

9.30am - Butterworth - Grik - Jeli Kelantan, Gua Musang - Cameron highland (apprx 500km)

6pm - arrive at Cameron highlands and spend a night there

14 May, Saturday

8am - 5pm - Hang around Cameron highlands whole day

6pm - Head north to Butterworth

7pm - 12am - Free and easy at Batuk Feringhi area and stay a night there

15 May, Sunday

set off for Singapore

Your timing is very agressive. For example 14 May, 1 hour to reach Butterworth from Cameron is not possible as you must drive at extreme speed and hope that no traffic jam in Butterworth on Sat evening.

I would recommend that you do a leisure drive like below

1. SG - Ipoh (stay overnight, dinner - the famous beans sprout chcicken, breakfast - Foh San tim sum)

2. Ipoh - Penang (try to stay on the island itself, it is nicer and easier to explore the town & food)

3. Penang - Cameron (on route eat seafood at Tambun or go Pulau Aman - also famous for seafood)

4. Cameron - SG

OR alternative Cameron - KL stay (overnight and enjoy the pubbing scenes in KL) then followed by KL - SG

Guarantee not siong and more fun. Frankly driving on a straight highway in the middle of the day, is damn sianz (sleepy) and boring for passengers and driver too., try to avoid it.

he went in 2011, i think should be back by now ^_^

Your timing is very agressive. For example 14 May, 1 hour to reach Butterworth from Cameron is not possible as you must drive at extreme speed and hope that no traffic jam in Butterworth on Sat evening.

I would recommend that you do a leisure drive like below

1. SG - Ipoh (stay overnight, dinner - the famous beans sprout chcicken, breakfast - Foh San tim sum)

2. Ipoh - Penang (try to stay on the island itself, it is nicer and easier to explore the town & food)

3. Penang - Cameron (on route eat seafood at Tambun or go Pulau Aman - also famous for seafood)

4. Cameron - SG

OR alternative Cameron - KL stay (overnight and enjoy the pubbing scenes in KL) then followed by KL - SG

Guarantee not siong and more fun. Frankly driving on a straight highway in the middle of the day, is damn sianz (sleepy) and boring for passengers and driver too., try to avoid it.

Hahahaha. My bad.. 3 days. 2 nights. . Sure. Intend to leave 24th may. Early morning at 4am. Straight to KL. Estimated time of arrival : 7am.. then breakfast there. Then chiong to Kelantan

Btw, just inform you that 24 May to 9 Jun is Malaysia school holidays.

Also in Kelantan, even for men, please dress appropriately. Many years ago, one of my male friend in my car did not wear a shirt (topless) due to the hot weather. Then we encounter a Polis check-point just outside KB, we were told to pull over and the Polis scolded all of us for disrespecting the local law there. We stood there in silence and let him scold, hoping he won't lock us up! We were only released after about 30 mins later, really wasting time. :wacko:

and hold hand and kiss or not? [laugh]

Ohhhhh.. roger.. wow. more reasons for me to leave early..

HAHa.. roger.. usually with family I will dress properly one.. [laugh]

From KL the next highway you could use is Karak (E8), but up till Cherating only. Then after all are B roads liao. If you want to cut short your journey use the Bentong-Raub-K Lipis-Gua-Musang-Machang road (no. 8).

Noted.. took a screenshot.. thanks.. [thumbsup][thumbsup]

Sud b clear till abt 8-9plus. But b careful. Road conditions might b bad.

Plus elections just over n some not happy might put stuff on e dark roads.

Roger.. noted.. hahaah.. and must know the AES locations also..

U know. ..Tangkap khawin....right? B careful. [laugh]

There strict sariyah laws apply. [:/]

HAHAHA.. Yupps.. heard of it.. there still beri strict I see..

You gotto be joking....!!! That time still very young....already scared like hell, so only stand still and dare not even moved. Where got mood to fool around? [laugh]

Noted.. took a screenshot.. thanks.. [thumbsup][thumbsup]

If you do take the Bentong-Machang route, come back and tell me how it is...cos I am likely to go this route in Jun, but to Cameron Highlands.

Thanks in advance! [:)]

Lucky he never take out his rotan n give each 100 lashes. :wacko:

Hold hand n kiss only? :angry: Why never kneel down?

100 lashes. Now bend down. :blink:

Ohhhhh.. roger.. wow. more reasons for me to leave early..

HAHa.. roger.. usually with family I will dress properly one.. [laugh]

Dun forget headscarves n songkok. White colour better.

HAHAHA.. Yupps.. heard of it.. there still beri strict I see..

I almost kenna tangkap khawin many times when young.

Lucky i rub my body wh coconut oil n managed to slip away into e dark night. [laugh]

I think thats how those stories abt orang minyak came about. [rolleyes]