Vulcann 6th Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Was flabbergasted after reading this guy's online letter. What has one being verbally abused by a irritated parent got to do with ruling a nation? By stretching my imagination, I suspect that he compares himself to that of a government & that the father & son team is the people. When the people does something wrong & kena from the government, the latter get rebuked? [shakehead] Really this guy CHAMPION in making comparisons !!!!!! From ST Forum online: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_664793.html May 5, 2011 What it takes to make a difference ON MAY Day, I went for an evening run and witnessed first-hand how difficult it is to run a country. A father and his son sped past me on their bicycles. Moments later at a road junction, I found a plastic bottle which the boy had been holding on to earlier. So when I saw them again, waiting at a red light, I politely broached the matter with the boy. But his father became furious and started hurling abuse. I would like to thank our nation's leaders for their courage to step forward and lead to make a difference. It is a thankless job, judging from my own experience. Tang Kum Cheong ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 $3 million a year is enough thanks they getting.. They should be getting lesser thanks if base on the track record of the past 5 yrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 i find the analogy stupid at best Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 i find the analogy stupid at best Agree. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Was flabbergasted after reading this guy's online letter. What has one being verbally abused by a irritated parent got to do with ruling a nation? By stretching my imagination, I suspect that he compares himself to that of a government & that the father & son team is the people. When the people does something wrong & kena from the government, the latter get rebuked? [shakehead] Really this guy CHAMPION in making comparisons !!!!!! From ST Forum online: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_664793.html May 5, 2011 What it takes to make a difference ON MAY Day, I went for an evening run and witnessed first-hand how difficult it is to run a country. A father and his son sped past me on their bicycles. Moments later at a road junction, I found a plastic bottle which the boy had been holding on to earlier. So when I saw them again, waiting at a red light, I politely broached the matter with the boy. But his father became furious and started hurling abuse. I would like to thank our nation's leaders for their courage to step forward and lead to make a difference. It is a thankless job, judging from my own experience. Tang Kum Cheong Absolute rubbish. Anyway, more of such letters will appear in the ST forum. There's even thank you letter to gahment for giving "Grow & Share" money. Stop reading toilet paper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Twnll 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Stop reading toilet paper. Too painful for my butt hole leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Every level of work, I think can be a thankless job. Restaurant chef - will say the customers never thank him for cooking good food, that is enjoyable and clean, that did not give them stomach upset. Taxi driver - will say the passenger never appreciate and thank him for bring them to meetings/airports on time as as not to missed important events. Chambermaid - will say the hotel guest never thank them for keeping the room and bed clean, to allow the guest to sleep well at night. Security guard - will say the bank customers never thank him for protecting their money in the bank, or proetect the $million dollar goods in warehouse from thief. So on and so forth. Even the table cleaner and toilet clean can be considered as a thank less job, if one is so caught up in getting a verbal "thank you' from everyone. If the salary paid out for performing those jobs not considered as a 'Thank-You' in return, then what is? Status, Image, Reputation? My company boss also once complained(in a DnD) that he has a thankless job .He claimed he is keeping his employees' family & children with work, so they can buy house, cars, go holiday. But when he question some employess why waste working time on long lunches, and surfing MCF, over spend on office things, etc, The employess will treaten to join the competitor company. Its hard to be a boss. But then....my boss forgot that his GCB at holland and his S-class, are bought partly from the hardwork and dedication of his employees who help the company to make money. Anyway i talk too much about my boss....I cannot betray him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 All I can say is... paid in excess of $3 mill a year is not exactly "thankless". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 (edited) Every level of work, I think can be a thankless job. Restaurant chef - will say the customers never thank him for cooking good food, that is enjoyable and clean, that did not give them stomach upset. Taxi driver - will say the passenger never appreciate and thank him for bring them to meetings/airports on time as as not to missed important events. Chambermaid - will say the hotel guest never thank them for keeping the room and bed clean, to allow the guest to sleep well at night. Security guard - will say the bank customers never thank him for protecting their money in the bank, or proetect the $million dollar goods in warehouse from thief. So on and so forth. Even the table cleaner and toilet clean can be considered as a thank less job, if one is so caught up in getting a verbal "thank you' from everyone. If the salary paid out for performing those jobs not considered as a 'Thank-You' in return, then what is? Status, Image, Reputation? My company boss also once complained(in a DnD) that he has a thankless job .He claimed he is keeping his employees' family & children with work, so they can buy house, cars, go holiday. But when he question some employess why waste working time on long lunches, and surfing MCF, over spend on office things, etc, The employess will treaten to join the competitor company. Its hard to be a boss. But then....my boss forgot that his GCB at holland and his S-class, are bought partly from the hardwork and dedication of his employees who help the company to make money. Anyway i talk too much about my boss....I cannot betray him. If I were you, I will write an open email, cc every employee, & tell him to think before talking, & apologies to every employees. Edited May 5, 2011 by Kiadaw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Any self-consolation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 5, 2011 Author Share May 5, 2011 $3 million a year is enough thanks they getting.. They should be getting lesser thanks if base on the track record of the past 5 yrs. I think many people will kill for the opportunity of getting a thankless job for a cool 3 million bucks a year excluding bonuses & other perks like pensions, etc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 gimme this thankless job pls.................... im willing to take 1.5M Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 kan cheong spider, it maybe a thankless job but is a pocket bah bah job whereby the family is well taken care of down the road, make mistakes there no fear of being step down or kenna retrench, the most assign to other appointments elsewhere but stille arn comfortably..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 This is the type of letter SPH online published? OMG, get some Quality control can or not? Or isit any pro PAP letters sure publish? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 I not greedy...1 mill per year can liao. gimme this thankless job pls.................... im willing to take 1.5M Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 This is the type of letter SPH online published? OMG, get some Quality control can or not? Or isit any pro PAP letters sure publish? So are they trying to tell us to show appreciation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Was flabbergasted after reading this guy's online letter. What has one being verbally abused by a irritated parent got to do with ruling a nation? By stretching my imagination, I suspect that he compares himself to that of a government & that the father & son team is the people. When the people does something wrong & kena from the government, the latter get rebuked? [shakehead] Really this guy CHAMPION in making comparisons !!!!!! From ST Forum online: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_664793.html May 5, 2011 What it takes to make a difference ON MAY Day, I went for an evening run and witnessed first-hand how difficult it is to run a country. A father and his son sped past me on their bicycles. Moments later at a road junction, I found a plastic bottle which the boy had been holding on to earlier. So when I saw them again, waiting at a red light, I politely broached the matter with the boy. But his father became furious and started hurling abuse. I would like to thank our nation's leaders for their courage to step forward and lead to make a difference. It is a thankless job, judging from my own experience. Tang Kum Cheong Like that also can publish? Stupid analogy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...