Header Clutched May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 http://mrwangsaysso.blogspot.com/ Pls consider carefully before voting! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kage Neutral Newbie May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 George Yeo's Past Kena Digged Up 'If you are not of a certain economic class, you should not even think of going there. You should confine yourself to 4D, Toto or horse racing.' George Yeo's order to Singaporeans to gamble on "low class" horse racing and Toto which are more suited to their peasant class-status in society and not on high-class casinos meant for the Singapore's higher classes...."If your chips are down, you're out", 147th Prostitute Press, 17 March 2004.. DEBATE YES, BUT DO NOT TAKE ON THOSE IN AUTHORITY AS "EQUALS'. 147th Singapore Prostitute Press 20 February 1995 REMEMBER your place in society before you engage in political debate, said Information and the Arts Minister George Yeo yesterday. Debate cannot degenerate into a free-for-all where no distinction is made between the senior and junior party, or what the Hokkiens describe as "boh tua, boh suay". "You must make distinctions - what is high, what is low, what is above, what is below - and then within this, we can have a debate, we can have a discussion," he added. Speaking to reporters at the end of his Moulmein tour on the parameters of debate, an issue sparked off by the Catherine Lim controversy, he made it clear that people should not take on those in authority as "equals". The Prime Minister responded to writer Catherine Lim for her article on his governing style because her tone showed disrespect for authority. Brig-Gen (NS) Yeo recalled that in 1991, the National Trades Union Congress raised a rumpus when Straits Times columnist Sumiko Tan criticised then union-MP Goh Chee Wee for his speech in Parliament. Mr Goh felt that Miss Tan was "wagging her finger at him", he said. Likewise, during last year's Budget debate, Parliament took issue with ST columnist Cherian George for his comments on the Speaker's handling of the guillotine. "He had no right to speak to the Speaker as an equal." Pointing to a more recent example, he noted that the judiciary responded when American academic Christopher Lingle took "pot shots" at it in an article he wrote in the International Herald Tribune. He added: "This is not to say that MPs, ministers, Speakers or judges cannot be criticised ... They ought to be criticised if they are wrong but it should always be done in a way which doesn't tear the social fabric." He said that these individuals did not arrogate to themselves the right to receive respect: MPs were elected while judges were appointed in a solemn ceremony. Turning to examples abroad, he said the British monarchy had fallen into disrepute because newspapers criticise the royals to increase circulation. But the Thais threw those who criticised the monarchy into prison. "Every society creates immune systems to defend its own key organs and we must have the immune system in Singapore. Otherwise, by slow increments, we allow these organs to be infected and degraded. And that is not good for us, it is not good for the health of whole society." http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?915...PECT-ME-OR-ELSE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pedigree Neutral Newbie May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 Can we afford to lose Georgie n his team? My verdict: YES, WE CAN Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corgan Neutral Newbie May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 as usual, to advise everyone reading to take in full context and not just what is posted online. Applies to both sides. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OmOm 5th Gear May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 There are frameworks within society. Within a family there is a hierarchy. I do not talk to my father as if he is my son. In traditional asian culture, there is respect shown to elders and likewise to those in authority. The west does not emphasise as much on such implicit hierarchical structures. Children can call their parents by their first names. Can we accept our children calling us by our first names? One may scoff and say that the family structure is different from social structure. However, I personally feel that they share the same fundamentals and if you tear social structure up on the pretext of advancement, then family structure is the next to go. George Yeo's Past Kena Digged Up 'If you are not of a certain economic class, you should not even think of going there. You should confine yourself to 4D, Toto or horse racing.' George Yeo's order to Singaporeans to gamble on "low class" horse racing and Toto which are more suited to their peasant class-status in society and not on high-class casinos meant for the Singapore's higher classes...."If your chips are down, you're out", 147th Prostitute Press, 17 March 2004.. DEBATE YES, BUT DO NOT TAKE ON THOSE IN AUTHORITY AS "EQUALS'. 147th Singapore Prostitute Press 20 February 1995 REMEMBER your place in society before you engage in political debate, said Information and the Arts Minister George Yeo yesterday. Debate cannot degenerate into a free-for-all where no distinction is made between the senior and junior party, or what the Hokkiens describe as "boh tua, boh suay". "You must make distinctions - what is high, what is low, what is above, what is below - and then within this, we can have a debate, we can have a discussion," he added. Speaking to reporters at the end of his Moulmein tour on the parameters of debate, an issue sparked off by the Catherine Lim controversy, he made it clear that people should not take on those in authority as "equals". The Prime Minister responded to writer Catherine Lim for her article on his governing style because her tone showed disrespect for authority. Brig-Gen (NS) Yeo recalled that in 1991, the National Trades Union Congress raised a rumpus when Straits Times columnist Sumiko Tan criticised then union-MP Goh Chee Wee for his speech in Parliament. Mr Goh felt that Miss Tan was "wagging her finger at him", he said. Likewise, during last year's Budget debate, Parliament took issue with ST columnist Cherian George for his comments on the Speaker's handling of the guillotine. "He had no right to speak to the Speaker as an equal." Pointing to a more recent example, he noted that the judiciary responded when American academic Christopher Lingle took "pot shots" at it in an article he wrote in the International Herald Tribune. He added: "This is not to say that MPs, ministers, Speakers or judges cannot be criticised ... They ought to be criticised if they are wrong but it should always be done in a way which doesn't tear the social fabric." He said that these individuals did not arrogate to themselves the right to receive respect: MPs were elected while judges were appointed in a solemn ceremony. Turning to examples abroad, he said the British monarchy had fallen into disrepute because newspapers criticise the royals to increase circulation. But the Thais threw those who criticised the monarchy into prison. "Every society creates immune systems to defend its own key organs and we must have the immune system in Singapore. Otherwise, by slow increments, we allow these organs to be infected and degraded. And that is not good for us, it is not good for the health of whole society." http://www.sammyboy.com/showthread.php?915...PECT-ME-OR-ELSE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 I think if we are ever in a situation where we cannot afford to lose a certain individual, we are in rather serious trouble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 There are frameworks within society. Within a family there is a hierarchy. I do not talk to my father as if he is my son. In traditional asian culture, there is respect shown to elders and likewise to those in authority. The west does not emphasise as much on such implicit hierarchical structures. Children can call their parents by their first names. Can we accept our children calling us by our first names? One may scoff and say that the family structure is different from social structure. However, I personally feel that they share the same fundamentals and if you tear social structure up on the pretext of advancement, then family structure is the next to go. Neither do I. But by the same token, my father speaks to me as though I am a grown man with my own life experience, my own right to run my life, make mistakes or triumphs for myself and full make my own decisions and then live by those decisions. In other words, he treats me with a respect that I have earned from him. I also treat him with the respect that he has earned, and is due as my father. He does not look down on me, nor does he consider his thoughts and opinions more important than mine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leok777 Clutched May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 I Thot they say we are the master n they are the servants, of course not equal lah. Like that also must say? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 http://mrwangsaysso.blogspot.com/ Pls consider carefully before voting! How can he said these.. He said the Government did not predict the sharp demand for flats after the recession in mid-2009. When they open up the flood gate for FT to come in....THEY DON"T NOE THAT FT (PR) CAN ALSO BUY HDB ???? this is bad excuse. And also when they increased the nos. COE for the pass how many years....THEY DO NOT NOE OUR ROADS and the CARPARKS are LIMITED....... becoz they BO CHAP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 (edited) Actually, to a certain extend it make sense depending on what angle you look at. for example, if you are a lowly Sgt, how are you going to debate with your General who know more insider information/news than you on how to handle a war situation. Edited May 4, 2011 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
OmOm 5th Gear May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 You have a great father and kudos to him for producing a wonderful son. Neither do I. But by the same token, my father speaks to me as though I am a grown man with my own life experience, my own right to run my life, make mistakes or triumphs for myself and full make my own decisions and then live by those decisions. In other words, he treats me with a respect that I have earned from him. I also treat him with the respect that he has earned, and is due as my father. He does not look down on me, nor does he consider his thoughts and opinions more important than mine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtfsl Neutral Newbie May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 PAP ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...