Babysaint Neutral Newbie May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 hi guys.. i just installed a greddy type rs on my legacy gt and now the turbo feels underpowered. could it be a bov that cause this? kinda feel emo abt it now... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Readonly Neutral Newbie May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 hi guys.. i just installed a greddy type rs on my legacy gt and now the turbo feels underpowered. could it be a bov that cause this? kinda feel emo abt it now... I am not familiar with the greddy type rs bov. but what setting is it at? if its those bov that can adjust the pressure which it opens up, then you can still send it back to get it adjusted so that it does not open up at low pressures. but typically if you are using a low pressure turbo, installing a bov will cause more bad then good :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babysaint Neutral Newbie May 3, 2011 Author Share May 3, 2011 i think mine is a low pressure turbo ba.. cuz legacy firstly is a family car. secondly mine is stock and thirdly i hand itchy go buy bov.. the car comes with a bypass valve i think Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babysaint Neutral Newbie May 3, 2011 Author Share May 3, 2011 better to replace the bov with the stock thing? i guess its called a bpv Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 Sorry huh, off track a bit....what is a BOV???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 alot of high end BOVs come with stiffer springs to be able to hold in larger pressures of 2 bars and above without leaking. Bring your bov to a trusted mod shop and have them look at it. Maybe the spring set too tight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babysaint Neutral Newbie May 3, 2011 Author Share May 3, 2011 BOV = blow off valve anyway i think im putting back the original thing.. dunno if long run will damage the car anot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 it wont la, not much of a difference. Bring to one of the tuners like that famous subaru tuner and let them look at it? Dont just waste the money =d Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babysaint Neutral Newbie May 3, 2011 Author Share May 3, 2011 as in fixing back the original thing wun help? btw how to tell if the turbo is working anot? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 Whats your reason for installing the BOV? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 Sorry huh, off track a bit....what is a BOV???? boobs over vagina hahahaha Blow Off Valve la. u know when driving turbo car u open throttle turbo spool spool spool then when release throttle will "pewwwww" ahhhhh fyi that one not turbo sound that one is the sound of BOV release excess air. UNDERSTOODED???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 Whats your reason for installing the BOV? explain in layman term it is a reservoir to store excess air that sucked in by turbo charger and release it to environment. to prevent turbo spoil la. increase turbo charger de lifespan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 as in fixing back the original thing wun help? btw how to tell if the turbo is working anot? maybe ur turbo suck in air all go into BOV? that's why turbo no power. Guess nia. Turbo masters please advise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babysaint Neutral Newbie May 3, 2011 Author Share May 3, 2011 actually i install just to gian the sound.. lols.. abit stupid i know... anyway how to tell if my turbo is working anot? cuz i on the engine can hear the whistle sound but when revving the car like dun feel the pull leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 actually i install just to gian the sound.. lols.. abit stupid i know... anyway how to tell if my turbo is working anot? cuz i on the engine can hear the whistle sound but when revving the car like dun feel the pull leh Last time got a TURBO MASTER OF THE WORLD in MCF by the name "mini-itx" He sibei sibei a lot of knowledge about turbo charger coz he bought a Celica GT4 and guess he read up a lot on the internet or something. Too bad he tiok ban already. Probably because he paste many little Doraemon stickers on his Celica GT4 and make many people puke. hahahaha Anyway after a few months he said his Celica GT4 engine died and I think scrap already. And he never appear in MCF ever again....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Readonly Neutral Newbie May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 as in fixing back the original thing wun help? btw how to tell if the turbo is working anot? without a boost meter, you can only tell by hearing? do you hear any bov sound when you rev hard and release? basically if you are on a low pressure turbo, a bov isnt going to do you much good. since you are never going to boost to 1.5bar or more. you can bring your car back to the shop and check if they can adjust the settings. if you dont hear any bov sound when you rev hard (erm 4k rpm or more) and release, then the setting might be too tight. if you rev to ermm 2k rpm and release and you hear bov sound, it might be set to too soft. hope this helps :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babysaint Neutral Newbie May 3, 2011 Author Share May 3, 2011 ... wtf.... i dun wan my car to die.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Readonly Neutral Newbie May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 Last time got a TURBO MASTER OF THE WORLD in MCF by the name "mini-itx" He sibei sibei a lot of knowledge about turbo charger coz he bought a Celica GT4 and guess he read up a lot on the internet or something. Too bad he tiok ban already. Probably because he paste many little Doraemon stickers on his Celica GT4 and make many people puke. hahahaha Anyway after a few months he said his Celica GT4 engine died and I think scrap already. And he never appear in MCF ever again....... really? turbo master of the world? i have seen his nick around but i didnt think he had that title. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...