YOU are only worth this much

Ah_tee

I think for "Equality" between foreigners and singaporeans, WE should be given FREE education from Pri - Seconday and JC.

Dun you think so ?

My kids will be going Pri 1 in 2yrs time. Getting into the ideal School for Primary one is already like mission impossible. Must ballot and must do volunteer work... and with so many other People to compete with.

Edited by Swiftee

KNNBCCB [furious][furious][furious][furious]

You need to calm down, it's cooling off day. Spread the word so others may 'calm' down as well.

Then, let all hell break loose tomorrow.

well to take some tension off, i would like to share an experience i had with one of these so-called middle class FTs

2 years back, i was making an order at the fruit juice stall at PS food court. i wanted to order mixed fruit juice so i said "Pear starfruit 一杯

I have been following everything very closely here though just to know more about Singapore.As beling a FT myself, i have few points to share.

Yes, Singaporeans should be given all or most of the chances for better education, scholarships, or should send them to foreign countries for more better education in few cases, it is their right and should get it.As far as foreign talents are concerned, there are usually 2 types of professions where (1) you can utilize anyone as the task requires same customized procedures (2) task requires unique input and everytime using 1 medium or another.In every country, you wil always find almost80% jobs that falls under category 1.To hire a foreign talent for such task is useless,and the worst is, to hire them so as to get them for lesser salaries.People will misuse these options.

I have heard from some parents that this is also true for about 15% of students at the Secondary and JC levels at top schools. They are sourced at their villages and if they pass the screening test, then they are selected for an all expenses trip to Singapore with full scholarships.

Hi guys, I came across this thread from facebook.

Some points I would like to make:

1. First, I am a Singaporean who has interacted with many PRCs both at the undergraduate and post-graduate level in NUS and NTU for many years.

2. I can tell you their favourite and daily topic of discussion “strengthening of the RMB” and “the value of coming to Singapore is diminishing as the RMB strengthens” etc. PRCs love basketball and follow the NBA more closely than their domestic league. One of their favourite news site is http://www.6park.com/.

3. While their general consensus is that Singapore is too small and the potential to develop is limited, the PRCs are full of praise for the efficiency of the government and civil services in Singapore.

4. Most of them are very poor compared to a median local household, and thus cannot afford the university fees. The vast majority of PRCs who come here to study do not pay for their school fees. There are some rare exceptions in a few specialised courses, but the rule is school fees are paid for and living allowances are provided both at the undergraduate and postgraduate levels (this is the norm for all).

5. They arrive here through active recruitment from the Singapore government and word of mouth from fellow PRCs. Sometimes it is the universities themselves are doing the recruitment in order to have cohort size big enough to start the course.

6. As to promise of jobs or fast track to PRs after studies, it really depends and there is no guarantee.

7. A rationale Singaporean will have to ask why Singapore is actively and specifically recruiting relatively poor PRCs to come here and not other more talented individuals from rest of the world e.g. Koreans, Arabs, Europeans, Latin Americans or even India? Mind you the PRCs vastly outnumber the Indians too, maybe as much as 15 to 1. In addition, those non PRCs students are likely to be able to afford the school fees as well if it is just because they are attracted by the excellent education available at the universities.

8. Sometimes the answer is very obvious but I find it amusing that there will be some sceptics that continue to ask for verifiable proof that is already right in front of their noses. I am really surprised some posters think this is all made up for a political agenda. I think most of the posts about PRCs in universities are accurate in general terms, and if they are fabrications, you would have seen an official rebuttal by now.

9. PRCs have been dominating the post graduate courses in NUS/NTU as early as the 1990s. Maybe back then the government can explain it away as Singaporeans not willing to pursue further postgraduate studies. So whenever a local pays undergraduate fees, part of the money is paid out as research scholarship to the PRCs and foreigners pursing their post graduate degrees here.

10. However, it is harder to explain away the rise of PRCs in undergraduate courses which is a more recent phenomenal within this decade. Let’s not fool ourselves. Their presence serves the agenda of both the government and the universities.

11. I think I have most of the ten above points correct; please do not find fault in specific errors on my part which are not intentional.

[cool]

Edited by Leok777

.As being a FT myself, i have few points to share.

Yes, Singaporeans should be given all or most of the chances for better education, scholarships, or should send them to foreign countries for more better education in few cases, it is their right and should get it.As far as foreign talents are concerned, there are usually 2 types of professions where (1) you can utilize anyone as the task requires same customized procedures (2) task requires unique input and everytime using 1 medium or another.In every country, you wil always find almost80% jobs that falls under category 1.To hire a foreign talent for such task is useless,and the worst is, to hire them so as to get them for lesser salaries.People will misuse these options.

For the option 2, every country have very few such talents, and they need to fill the places with either foreign talents or educate their own people.It also depends on different fields.Lets say in creative or arts, everyy country has their own colors,looks, culture, influences, weather that affects in your arts and brings out the uniqueness in works.Blending of such talent is totally fine

if they are good enough .But sadly, i have seen , sometimes they get FTs only to get them for cheap.ALot of companies are playing such.Fortunately, my company has mantained a very very good balance.

For me, i am not hungry for PR or something, yes, i am a FT and hired on the basis of my talent that is unique for anywhere i go means whichever country ( talking specifically in accordance with my profession). But, i would also like to share my expertise, i would like to be called in universities or schools to teach my skills, i would like to be utilized so that youngsters get the learning opportunity, i would like to guide and for this your govt should be asking me to do, but i myself is thinking like this and am very keen.Right FTs shouldnt be about getting the job done, but also to utilize them to teach new comers and share expertise/ideas/ways/skills.

Hope you guys get what you really deserve.you are a very good nation with great people.Just think wisely and see the Big long term picture.:)

P.s: wrote everything in one go, so excuse my wrong spellings if any.

Thanks

Edited by Pkorion8

.As being a FT myself, i have few points to share.

For the option 2, every country have very few such talents, and they need to fill the places with either foreign talents or educate their own people.It also depends on different fields.Lets say in creative or arts, everyy country has their own colors,looks, culture, influences, weather that affects in your arts and brings out the uniqueness in works.Blending of such talent is totally fine

if they are good enough .But sadly, i have seen , sometimes they get FTs only to get them for cheap.ALot of companies are playing such.Fortunately, my company is has mantained a very very good balance.

For me, i am not hungry for PR or something, yes, i am a FT and hired on the basis of my talent that is unique for anywhere i go mans whichever country ( talking specifically in accordance with my profession). But, i would also like to share my expertise, i would like to be called in universities or schools to teach my skills, i would like to be utilized so that youngsters get the learning opportunity, i would like to guide and for this your govt should be asking me to do, but i myself is thinking like this and am very keen.Right FTs shouldnt be about getting the job done, but also to utilize them to teach new comers and share expertise/ideas/ways/skills.

Hope you guys get what you really deserve.you are a very good nation with great people.Just think wisely and see the Big long term picture.:)

P.s: wrote everything is 1 go, so excuse my wrong spellings if any.

Thanks

Thank you for a sensible post.

I guess as a real FT you do understand that the global wage arbitrage is bad for everyone except the ruling class.

The race to the bottom will be the doom of you and me.

All these are done in the name of globalization, capitalism, efficiencies or spreading the wealth and opportunities to everyone.

But we really know the only reason the ruling class wants it is because they see the wealth to concentrate upwards.

Which is why the rich are owning most of the wealth in the world now.

For me, i am not hungry for PR or something, yes, i am a FT and hired on the basis of my talent that is unique for anywhere i go means whichever country ( talking specifically in accordance with my profession). But, i would also like to share my expertise, i would like to be called in universities or schools to teach my skills, i would like to be utilized so that youngsters get the learning opportunity, i would like to guide and for this your govt should be asking me to do, but i myself is thinking like this and am very keen.Right FTs shouldnt be about getting the job done, but also to utilize them to teach new comers and share expertise/ideas/ways/skills.

P.s: wrote everything in one go, so excuse my wrong spellings if any.

Thanks

May I know what kind of profession that you are in?

Thank you.

Regards,

I am a Snr Broadcast/Visual effects Artist , if go a bit more in details , i do matte paintings, compositing, VFX, etc , but its not just my profession that fulfills the above written points, there are more .But anyways just to mantain the neutrality i would not like to go more into details about a specific profession but yes for just an example , we can discuss and dig more.

Regards

I am a Snr Broadcast/Visual effects Artist , if go a bit more in details , i do matte paintings, compositing, VFX, etc , but its not just my profession that fulfills the above written points, there are more .But anyways just to mantain the neutrality i would not like to go more into details about a specific profession but yes for just an example , we can discuss and dig more.

Regards

You are here at a sensitive time.

Sorry, I don't know much about arts. I just have to assume that being a Senior Broadcast/Visual Effect Artist, you are here to help create jobs for the locals and imparting the more needed knowledge to them.

Thank you for sharing.

Regards,

KNNBCCB...

After reading this thread from a forwarded email link, I was f**%king pissed off and nearly go back home half way from work...I couldn't believe they actually sacrificed us in order to bring in FT and everything was included in the package except F&*%...

I really regretted why I vol myself when our gov give FT all the needs they required and we have to serve the nation and earn part-time job to support my studies...

I will not send my son into NS unless PAP are out.....

The table tennis team is a big joke and I never feel proud of them.....In life, there are things you have to take it easy. You can't be winning everything from airport, ports, sports....

The cost of a HDB 25 yrs ago is about 50K according to my uncle who was a contractor building the flats...

Now, with new technology and lego block casting of flats, it should be cheaper becoz the walls and ceiling are much thinning...

Oppositions are not good enough now but it doesn't mean the PAP can do the job well....may as well fire them and get someone cheaper to come in for 5 yrs...give them a chance...

It's not a cooling day for me...I am big time f*&% pissed off with the ministers and dogs who approves and recruited those FT without giving more supports to our locals students...

Do you know it is so much expensive when a child got sick....everything at least $40 - $150 per visit to hospital or gg to clinics

KNNBCCB [furious][furious][furious][furious]

Alex 31..u really speaks out our minds n we fully agreed to it..its true that in 1984 those new 5 room flats in BLK 340 Clementi was sold to HDB new applicants for abt S$32,000 n now how u expect yr grown up chd ie: a young couple lucky enough to get jobs as new teachers to bear kids for future SG? pressure cooker in - pressure cooker out..no wonder they hv to expand Woodbridge > IMH >SUPER IMH with SWISS std ..soon for many SingaPOOReans..

well to take some tension off, i would like to share an experience i had with one of these so-called middle class FTs

2 years back, i was making an order at the fruit juice stall at PS food court. i wanted to order mixed fruit juice so i said "Pear starfruit 一杯

WE ARE BEING SCREWED, SUCK-DRIED, MILKED EVER SINCE XIAO LEE BECOME PM........ AGREED?!!

TO ME, WILL DEFINITELY VOTE FOR OPP AS NOW ALREADY SO CHAM, WILL IT MAKE ANY DIFFERENT IF MORE CHAM?!!!

QUOTE FROM 柴九:人生有几个十年(or rather五年),最重要是痛快!!!

LIM PEH KUM WAN SUFFER IF OPP REALLY BUAY SAI, AT LEAST LIM PEH SHIOK!!!!!

Its TRUE cos I've friends from China as well. I verify with them and they have indeed been invited by Unis and Polys in Singapore, offering free lodging, school & pocket money. SO UNFAIR!

Regards

Thats pretty much telling people where you are working.

Because in SG there are only less than a handful of studios that does that.

As compared to places like bangkok or jakarta [laugh]

Its TRUE cos I've friends from China as well. I verify with them and they have indeed been invited by Unis and Polys in Singapore, offering free lodging, school & pocket money. SO UNFAIR!

I am seeing alot of you 1 post newbies here.

Just exactly how come you guys come to mcf and register account to just post in this thread?

I am seeing alot of you 1 post newbies here.

Just exactly how come you guys come to mcf and register account to just post in this thread?

I think MCF is rather active in this subject. The other one is Arofanatics.