Cwong2910 2nd Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 I have a friend from China who got this scholarship where all expenses are paid. He went through the accelerated Masters program (4-1/2 years to get Masters instead of usual 4 years for Honours) This program is reserved for the academically inclined ones and easy to get dropped out. He has since converted to Singaporean citizenship. There is another one from Malaysia who got 1st class honours from NTU Engineering, married a Singaporean wife but still holding Malaysia citizenship. Their baby is due soon and I doubt he will cling on to his Malaysia citizenship much longer once the kid comes out. There are also the ASEAN scholars during my secondary school days SOME (not ALL) of whom are simply brilliant in their thinking skills. From the very limited number of cases I observe so far, the scholarships are not thrown to anyone but for those who are more academically inclined. I guess what the government is trying to do is to arrest the brain drain issue which is affecting alot of countries by securing these young and supposedly bright people while they are still studying, hoping they meet someone they like in Singapore and settle down in Singapore eventually. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Minikong 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 I have a friend from China who got this scholarship where all expenses are paid. He went through the accelerated Masters program (4-1/2 years to get Masters instead of usual 4 years for Honours) This program is reserved for the academically inclined ones and easy to get dropped out. He has since converted to Singaporean citizenship. There is another one from Malaysia who got 1st class honours from NTU Engineering, married a Singaporean wife but still holding Malaysia citizenship. Their baby is due soon and I doubt he will cling on to his Malaysia citizenship much longer once the kid comes out. There are also the ASEAN scholars during my secondary school days SOME (not ALL) of whom are simply brilliant in their thinking skills. From the very limited number of cases I observe so far, the scholarships are not thrown to anyone but for those who are more academically inclined. I guess what the government is trying to do is to arrest the brain drain issue which is affecting alot of countries by securing these young and supposedly bright people while they are still studying, hoping they meet someone they like in Singapore and settle down in Singapore eventually. yes indeed, and the goverment only wanted those that are so called elites and can contribute to the society, last time they also have those property investment pr scheme, and investment scheme. u just invest 2m in our state board company shares, for 5 years, and they will issue u a pr woth 5 year. but now all been removed liao, as they only wanted ppl they work here and contribute here. bascially goverment love those highly educated personal, from respected and reputable uni. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Readonly Neutral Newbie May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 There's also ppl who cant vote yet... There's also ppl in prision, overseas studying,etc leh... well if TNP says it is 2.2 million, i got to just take their numbers. afterall they are said to report the truth and nothing but the truth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilli_crab 2nd Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 I'm working n working very hard to save enough for my children Uni fees for the future, but you mean those PRC got it FREEEEEE? Why is my govt. treating us like this? Very Sad! Don't be sad on 7 May. Let your vote do the talking. Spread the news via the Net since local mass media will certainly not report it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 (edited) well if TNP says it is 2.2 million, i got to just take their numbers. afterall they are said to report the truth and nothing but the truth yea....if dont vote now... wait till next election....cfm there will be many diluted votes :angry: Edited May 5, 2011 by Mike1234 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Readonly Neutral Newbie May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Don't be sad on 7 May. Let your vote do the talking. Spread the news via the Net since local mass media will certainly not report it. so far only this forum has posted this issue. I have seen it being referred here but never as an article. guess there is no supporting data perhaps? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Its really a desperate and myopic move by the incumbents if so. Foreigners will simply sign up to reap the benefits accorded to them by our government, regardless of whether they will stay as citizens or pack up their bags and leave once their term is up. So in short, we are really taking a huge gamble on our policies here, at the expense of opportunities given to locals and taxpayers' money. Strangely, this sounds like one of their miscalculated policies to limit newborns to 2 per family 2 decades ago, which lead our problems of importing FTs now. yes, you are spot on. most of the PRC scholars find it hard to assimilate into the local schs and often stick to themselves. the sad thing is the best scholars usually leave S'pore after A levels to go to USA or UK to study at a prestigious university. the only good thing which comes out of it exposing our kids to foreign competition at young age. i have good friend who teaches at one of the top schools and he admitted even the top s'porean students feel threatened by the smarter PRC students. if u ask me whether giving free education and allowance to foreign students is worth, i ask why don't MOE dedicate more resources to our own Singaporean/PR students by increasing no. of teachers, better facilities, more subsidies for needy students... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjwong Neutral Newbie May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 we need to have the courage to vote for new people in this election. If opposition cannot win any seats, then it will be a major setback for opposition. They have finally come back with lots of good candadites this time. But it is not esay to make the choice because everyone still fears. It takes the new generation to think deeper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesgetz 4th Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 (edited) I'm working n working very hard to save enough for my children Uni fees for the future, but you mean those PRC got it FREEEEEE? Why is my govt. treating us like this? Very Sad! actually, this free education for foreigners have been going on for quite some time... last time it was just ASEAN scholarship but now they have cast the net wider to include China. and obviously, the budget has ballooned over the years... if you ask teachers, they will tell you the schools (esp pri and sec schs) are understaffed, lack of budget, etc. the $ spent on bringing in the foreigners are better channelled to improve the teach environment btw, which constituency is the education minister (Ng Eng Hen) in? Edited May 5, 2011 by Jamesgetz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konken Clutched May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 No doubt some of them converted and settled down. But what's stats? Again, we also know many of them wasted no time leaving for US or Europe when they got the pink IC. The sinkie passport is internationally more ... recognisable you see. But again, what's the stats on this? The fact that this is not published nor used to support their so-call new citizen policy leaves much to be desired. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leok777 Clutched May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 We must share this info with everyone we know to help the cause of our children's future. Pls spread the word or forever we will be holding our peace. 2 more days to go bros Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrixx 3rd Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Ok, I got to admit I read only the first page then I jump to the last to post this because........I'm really at a loss for words, and suddenly I get that lousy feeling being a Singaporean. I agree with many that this needs to be made known to people, and voters, of Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Upz for this thread...upz... Downz for the arrogant indians..downz for the unfriendly pinoys.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilli_crab 2nd Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 so far only this forum has posted this issue. I have seen it being referred here but never as an article. guess there is no supporting data perhaps? They are accounts of of the individual's encounter, corroborated by others. While the accounts are different, the gist remains, enough to suggest something is not quite right. Is there not enough biased/slanted report/article in the Straits Times recently to tell you that damaging materials will never be printed? Yes, we can verify through data. But, who is going to ask for them? PAP MPs? The Yes-men? We can't even get a breakdown of the YOG over-spending. We can't even get the actual building costs of an HDB flat. I'm sure you get the idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Upz for this thread...upz... Downz for the arrogant indians..downz for the unfriendly pinoys.... shh! we are trying to fly under the radar here! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondauto 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 I'm working n working very hard to save enough for my children Uni fees for the future, but you mean those PRC got it FREEEEEE? Why is my govt. treating us like this? Very Sad! On top on freeeee...got pocket money some more. This has on going for the past 2 -3 years already. Many people tried to voice out but can't publish in newspaper. Only election then more people will know the truth like you. I knew this 2 years ago becos I came to know one of them from china. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 (edited) Arrogant Indians, yes I have seen quite a handful. But unfriendly pinos? I have yet to come across unfriendly ones, maybe I juz lucky. Getting stats for this type of give money n blatant overseas recruitment for "TALENTS" shld be under talent development shld fall under WKS. But if u expect any transparency from him, u have more chance of getting the truth from the devil himself. Look at when he was asked on e criteria for selection of PR to converty to Sporean. Basically he replied that it is confidential. So if u were to ask him abt this stunt, he would say confidential again n maybe pretend to shed a tear or two, proclaiming why u all muz bully me...LHL forgive me alreadi, then GCT stabbed me in my back, then I sms during my boss rally, u people also take pot shot at me....WAHAHAHAH... Or I wld expect Lee Bee H to use her table tennis FT plan to say....we cast the net wide...some will not make it, but we juz need a few good ones to make it n justify our strategies work... Ok..enuf rumbling...Not happy, use ur vote to express ur unhappiness. Edited May 5, 2011 by Sabretan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
570 Neutral Newbie May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 hello all, QUOTE (Fondue @ May 3 2011, 09:29 PM) I've the same experience too ... and this PRC girl , who was then with NTU as a research fellow, even ask me why is the SGP goverment doing this !! I said I also don't know why simple la..before building casino here, u need more FT to built n spend here:be it GST/ERP/POWER/WATER TAXES..etc..after casino completed n go for expantion..more FT needed..so the top men in whites can long for many more millions as salary happily pay by theses SingaPOORean mah.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...