Altivo 3rd Gear May 2, 2011 Share May 2, 2011 Taken from HWZ..... http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=3217007 3 rally goers made posters and brought it to the rally tonight. 1 of the poster said "SAY NO TO CARROTS!" ( sorry i don't have a pic of this now) 2 of the remaining posters said "CHIAM-PION Before the rally began, they walked around the stadium with them. Once they returned to their spot (2m in front of me), I witness an incident that makes me really disgusted. An SPP member called on to the 3 supporters and told them to put the signs away. He told them apologetically that the police just made a call to him and ask him to put the signs away if not the rally will be cancelled. Other supporters got a little worked up and asked for the reasons because there was nothing offensive about the messages. The SPP member could only coax them, overheard him telling them it is better to keep the stuff than to get it cancelled and no one can enjoy the rally anymore. The supporters obliged. This incident has yet shown again there is no basic freedom of speech and very little human rights in Singapore. This translates to many aspects of our lives if you could stop and think about it. I'm certainly not for protests or riots. But I think we are going overboard with these restrictions. Let's change this and make Singapore more free to live in. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dahawk Clutched May 2, 2011 Share May 2, 2011 It is wrong. Do you know why? Cause they're wearing the wrong colour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged May 2, 2011 Share May 2, 2011 How low can you go??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear May 2, 2011 Author Share May 2, 2011 It is wrong. Do you know why? Cause they're wearing the wrong colour. ya... i guess so! :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 2, 2011 Share May 2, 2011 Ridiculous...we are becoming like a police state.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 2, 2011 Share May 2, 2011 whats a rally without placards sia. make a shirt then! how to ask them to remove them? walk around topless? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dahawk Clutched May 2, 2011 Share May 2, 2011 IMHO without a doubt if Dr Chee was the one holding up that placecard or signboard, SOC would be on scene within 15mins. Who thinks so too? Kee Chiu! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear May 2, 2011 Share May 2, 2011 hmm... what's wrong with the board?? PAP supporters also bring sign boards... boh sa la mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackchicken Neutral Newbie May 2, 2011 Share May 2, 2011 I tot the signs were funny..esp the carrots one..nv tot the police would get so uptight over it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged May 2, 2011 Share May 2, 2011 Hmmm.. on 2nd thoughts, maybe they are only allowed to show the placards after 7pm, when the official time for rallying has started? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agentwilson 1st Gear May 2, 2011 Share May 2, 2011 probably, coz i rem seeing them at bishan stadium juz now. the ' no to carrots ' signage Hmmm.. on 2nd thoughts, maybe they are only allowed to show the placards after 7pm, when the official time for rallying has started? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leok777 Clutched May 2, 2011 Share May 2, 2011 Like I said before......Different strokes for Different folks..... I'm sure if u carry poster of praising the pap it will be no prob. This is absolute crap....so u know what u must do on sat or repent for the next(not 5) but a whole generation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 Wats wrong with the MIB? If this happens in the WP rally where the mood of the supporter are very high then ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 Wats wrong with the MIB? If this happens in the WP rally where the mood of the supporter are very high then ... The garment still doesn't get it..... Sigh. They still dun understand what is wrong in the present situation Talking abt signs, I saw on tv, pap rally, supporters even have LED sign boards! Very bright. So how come police never stop them? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 The garment still doesn't get it..... Sigh. They still dun understand what is wrong in the present situation Talking abt signs, I saw on tv, pap rally, supporters even have LED sign boards! Very bright. So how come police never stop them? Maybe to them PAP supporters are loyal to the country and OPP supporters are trouble makers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 (edited) To me the "No to Carrots" is as good as a public protest nothing to do with rallying. If the party is holding a rally dan I guess only signboards like party logo or pics of party members are allowed(as seen in PAP's rally). I think the oppo also dun want to be seen as holding some kind of demonstration instead of a rally. If words like "vote for what's-his-face" still acceptable but words that suggest hints of protests are not acceptable. I think it's fair lah if it's really a police state situation like some ppl suggested those ppl would be arrested and rally cancelled w/o warning. Edited May 3, 2011 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kac 4th Gear May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 http://www.facebook.com/theonlinecitizen/p...150233935916383 It seems that NSP Supporters were allegedly DENIED the use of toilets by the CC during the rally too.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 knn wats wrong with those boards? :angry: ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...