Why Most Car Manufacturers Place The Batts in the Engine Bay

Mona-vie

Ok noted.... your batt $170, mine only $110. So I was thinking how much longer can we use if we were to shift the batt to the boot. This is compared relative to the amount of money and time we spent doing the shifting. Secondly, the boot area would be compromise as well...

Oh IC, I thought your batt is those $500 type like many elites here in MCF.

I don't know how much longer it will last but heat from the engine bay does shorten the lifespan of the batt. As for trunk space, not that much for me cause mine is already tiny by nature.

Previous cars I drove all have the batts in the trunk (either came this way or someone done the shift already). I can use 4+yr for a cheapo Aurora battery. It still kept going but I replace it with a Varta cause I gotten some lobang for it.

Now my Satria Neo using Amaron. Again made in India cheapo stuff. I don't know how long it can last so I hope it will last as long as possible.

TS so u happen to own car with battery in the trunk before.

it will be nice if u can provide detail on how u make the shift and how u secure the battery in the trunk.... it could be a nice DIY for some over the weekend..and it will be informative.

battery?

i make it a point to change every 1.5-2 years.

mine just changed in jan after the previous owner used it since jan 2008!

and my engine is always hot!

my latio battery lasted only 28k then dead, cant start car need get new batt

stock Tan Chong battery??

try changing it to a maint-free.. every 1.5yrs~2yrs change..

mileage is not a good judgement i find, i normally follow the date of purchase..

stock Tan Chong battery??

try changing it to a maint-free.. every 1.5yrs~2yrs change..

mileage is not a good judgement i find, i normally follow the date of purchase..

Talk about Tan Chong's battery make me fed up,now they are using "Diamond" brand,a brand not heard before.

my car battery under the backseat - nice and cool inside the cabin.

battery has lasted more than 3 yrs liao.

then again, the only piece of electronics in the car is the radio .. haha .. car don't even got a ECU

Battey cheap meh? It cost me $170 for a Varta Silver batt. I would want it to last as long as possible.

Anyway, I finally finished the job. Took me 3hrs ripping out rear seats, part of the carpet etc......

..Eh, moving the batt to the boot will decrease ur voltage due to the resistance (longer cables), therefore the ur alternator have to work harder to charge the batt too..unless u have calculated the "engineering" aspect of the voltage drop due to the resistivity of the cables - like d conti car makers who plonked d batt in d boot, then I think ur effort may actually cost u more money in the long run - alternator carbon brushes wore out faster and d batt Cold Current Ampere low bcoz not fully charged..not to mention if u get the wrong cable, the cable may melt and any short circuit or any fuel leak, the fuel tank is where?...u just might void ur insurance Bro..

d batt u bought is oredi a good one and that is why it cost $170..other better ones can fetch $200++...battery once it starts to send out their charge, its life span starts to deplete regardless of the working temp which incidentally, the boot is oso hot as there are no cooling fans right?..

my car battery under the backseat - nice and cool inside the cabin.

battery has lasted more than 3 yrs liao.

then again, the only piece of electronics in the car is the radio .. haha .. car don't even got a ECU

Sounds like a classic VW Beetle.

..Eh, moving the batt to the boot will decrease ur voltage due to the resistance (longer cables), therefore the ur alternator have to work harder to charge the batt too..unless u have calculated the "engineering" aspect of the voltage drop due to the resistivity of the cables - like d conti car makers who plonked d batt in d boot, then I think ur effort may actually cost u more money in the long run - alternator carbon brushes wore out faster and d batt Cold Current Ampere low bcoz not fully charged..not to mention if u get the wrong cable, the cable may melt and any short circuit or any fuel leak, the fuel tank is where?...u just might void ur insurance Bro..

d batt u bought is oredi a good one and that is why it cost $170..other better ones can fetch $200++...battery once it starts to send out their charge, its life span starts to deplete regardless of the working temp which incidentally, the boot is oso hot as there are no cooling fans right?..

Thanks for the info.

Wouldn't be easier to just add heat shielding to the battery? or even better add a "CAI" for battery? :D

I'm sure the manufacturers gave consideration when building the car so I wldnt think too much bout it

my car use solar [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Wouldn't be easier to just add heat shielding to the battery? or even better add a "CAI" for battery? :D

idea leh... [laugh]

another reason to do it -> security...

when they pried open your car.. they will try to kill off the alarm when activated... placing a batt at the boot with a lock will take them quite a while to locate the wiring...

popular cars like Satria Neo or performance ride are highly soughted in MY..

Thanks for the info.

..btw: u r not entirely wrong about heat from d engine, but I used inner tyre rubber to wrap around the batt to act as a heat insulator for my old mazda ride... Normally it should last 2 years for a maintenance-free batt but I got close to 4...and it wasn't a $170 but a Made in Indonesia maintenance free batt at $120 and also I prised the caps open to add distilled water once a year only (but very little only as not much of d batt liquid electrolytes evaporated) ..heeee .. (if urs is gel electrolytes don add distilled water like me and if no caps then don go and cut one hah...)

PS: I cannot do d same tactic for my current korean ride as it is still under warranty, later AD sure make noise lah!...

another reason to do it -> security...

when they pried open your car.. they will try to kill off the alarm when activated... placing a batt at the boot with a lock will take them quite a while to locate the wiring...

popular cars like Satria Neo or performance ride are highly soughted in MY..

..actually they killed the alarm from the ignition wiring..so no need to locate the batt..