GEORGE YEO FOR PRESIDENT!!

Vulcann

It is sickening to learn that George Yeo is considering hard to go for the EP by citing "people" asked him to do so. This is b-------t. George Yeo, please get out of this race if you are a honorable and trustworthy character and keep your promise of what you have said before the recent polling day and do not make a fool of yourself!

GY will NOT get my vote or my family's. Pap linked, I reiterate. To be totally impartial and able to offer checks, the elected president must be someone not linked to the govt.

Edited by Latio2005A

u think he wants to come back himself? confirm LHL instruct him to as there is good chance of TCB being the EP n being a thorn in MIW's flesh. even if not TCB, it could be TKL!

Tan Kin Lian to donate a "significant portion" of the Presidential salary if elected

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporesc...-132956671.html

UPDATED

Tan Kin Lian mulls over whether to contest in the Presidential Election.

If elected, potential Presidential candidate and former NTUC Income chief Tan Kin Lian says he will use a "significant portion" of the Presidential salary to fund a new charity for needy students and seniors.

While the salary is still under review, he expects it to "still be substantial" and "be much more than needed for my modest lifestyle, if I were to take up this office".

However, he declined to give any specific figure or guarantee. He said, "I will only ask for the votes of Singaporeans who trust me to act honestly, fairly and in the best interest of the people."

The charity will pay the school fees of needy primary and secondary students and foot the hospital bills for elderly people who cannot afford to pay the subsidised fees.

"Although there is a Medifund scheme to serve this purpose, some elderly people do not want to be a burden to their children who do not earn enough for their own family needs," said Tan in a statement released on Saturday.

The 63-year-old added, " I know that there are many charities and agencies that now provide these types of assistance, but most of them appeared to be burdened with bureaucracy and stringent rules that have to be met before the beneficiaries can get the financial assistance."

Tan, who on Monday has still not made clear whether he has decided to run for President, said he has ideas on how to simplify the process.

He indicated his interest in running for President on Friday after his friend Png Eng Huat collected the Certificate of Eligibility forms on his behalf.

He outlined some key messages he would campaign on, such as improving the transparency of the reserves, and launched a website titled, TKL for Elected President, after releasing the statement. He called for supporters to register their willingness to help him in the campaign or to share a few words to endorse his candidacy.

While he will be submitting the forms, the civil society activist is still undecided on whether to join the Presidential polls, due by 31 August, as his wife has "reservation about my participation".

She is worried about a "possible smear campaign in the media and the Internet" and whether Tan could fit the "ceremonial and diplomatic role of the Presidency" since he comes from a humble background and has lived a humble lifestyle, said Tan.

However, he does not think a smear campaign is likely. "I believe that PM Lee Hsien Loong is open minded and sincere about making changes to the political climate. I expect that the climate will be different this time," he said.

On the ceremonial and diplomatic role of the President, Tan said that his friends assured him he could "learn on the job".

The main reason Tan is considering running for President is "to respond to the call from many readers of my blog and friends".

More than 100 people have e-mailed him over the past few months to urge him to stand for election, he said.

Some feel he may have a better chance, compared to former Member of Parliament Dr Tan Cheng Bock, whom may appear "closely associated with the PAP (People's Action Party)", he added.

Outlining the messages he will convey if he enters the election, Tan said, "People expect the EP (elected President) to safeguard the reserves. It means asking questions."

"I know what questions to ask and how to deal with the answers. I believe that the Government is acting honestly in managing the reserves, but it would be good to improve the transparency," he said.

If elected, he would also share with the candidates for key appointments the "values that should hold the nation together".

Tan wants to promote the values of honesty, fairness, courage, positive attitude and public service.

For the election campaign, Tan said he would use blogs and YouTube videos as his main platforms.

In 2008, Tan announced he would seriously consider running for President if 100,000 signatures could be collected in a petition for him to join the polls.

In 2009, he said he would not contest as only some 1,000 signatures were gathered.

u think he wants to come back himself? confirm LHL instruct him to as there is good chance of TCB being the EP n being a thorn in MIW's flesh. even if not TCB, it could be TKL!

i think he's actually neutral since his surname is not LEE

OK I tahan very long liao ... have to let it out.

I will never vote for George Yeo as President.

1) How come so many people say he is a nice person? How many actually know him? He seems like a nice person but ....

2) He is a flip-flopper. Considering running for President after he said he will quit politics is a small issue but still remember the Casino? He said he was against it but later did an AH Q and claimed it was not a casino but an IR (so can accept). This is a very dangerous trait to have because who knows what he will flip flop over next?

3) He claimed he will change P@P yet for 20+ years, he just twiddled his thumbs until it was apparent the hammer was going to knock him out. Talk about never see coffin never shed tears.

4) From the above, I deduce he is an establishment man through and through.

5) Maybe he is just using his "candidacy" to strongarm some people for benefits

Please vote wisely.

Edited by Ahtong

OK I tahan very long liao ... have to let it out.

I will never vote for George Yeo as President.

1) How come so many people say he is a nice person? How many actually know him? He seems like a nice person but ....

I heard too. Alas, the public only has a public persona to vote on.

Such a exceptional, sharp-minded & sincere man of such high-calibre should not fade into the back-ground if he loses his seat in the parliament.

WP Pritam Singh did everyone a great service by suggesting he contest in the Presidential Election come August 2011.

Ambassadors or GIC/TLC posts seem insignificant as compared to the highest office in our land so I think in the likely possibility George loses his Aljunied GRC seat, he should move on to seek the President's post.

That to me is the best scenario under the circumstances & will not put Aljunied GRC votes to a emotional dilemma.

For those who argue that LTK should instead go for the Presidential Election, unfortunately he is not qualified based on the high standards required of a potential Presidential candidate.

I believe just sheer waste of public fund to pay millions for ceremonial appointements like these. Can not audit national reserve with one-man-operation. Can not walk properly, just like parasite?

I am one of those that still believe GY is "a few good man" left in the PAP.

However, I really hope the decision to run or not is really his.

With the ground swell againt PAP now.. wont b surprise if the PAP want him to come forward to run.

He is deemed to have a good chance of winning if he run.

He is a known entity - PAP central committee and the cabinet knows him and how to work/deal with him.

Last thing the Gov want will be a anti PAP or maverick to become prez, riding on the ground swell against PAP.

LHL wont want another "trouble maker" in the Istana giving him nitemares, asking tough qns, digging up dirt while he tries to maneuver PAP into a more acceptable party for the next GE.

well said. I think it is LHL we ask him to stand. Dun think they want to take the risk with Tan Cheng Bok coz of his past record.

and with the ground sentiments now against PAP, if they try to push for another Nathan type of prata-man, it might backfire.

so GY becomes a natural and safer choice. People also likely to feel sympathy for him based on their reactions when he lost the GE.

Hai... lose GE still can go and become President.. a really bagus system we have

Crap. My wife and I will not vote for GY if he decides to run.. He's still so closely linked to PAP govt, what makes people think he can be a good president then? Better choice is TCB or TKL.

well said. I think it is LHL we ask him to stand. Dun think they want to take the risk with Tan Cheng Bok coz of his past record.

and with the ground sentiments now against PAP, if they try to push for another Nathan type of prata-man, it might backfire.

so GY becomes a natural and safer choice. People also likely to feel sympathy for him based on their reactions when he lost the GE.

Hai... lose GE still can go and become President.. a really bagus system we have

yup...from the looks of it, they gonna hang TCB this time, bad mouthing him...cos he will definitely ask for transparency and not be a puppet

Actually.....which part of TCB is NOT PAP??? I wonder.

TKL.... our President? Surely there is someone else more suitable and presentable.

GY? At this moment.... i think he would look the most presentable to the world.

Personally Im not in favor of having a PAP guy as president. Defeats the purpose totally

End up with another prata man......

Actually.....which part of TCB is NOT PAP??? I wonder.

TKL.... our President? Surely there is someone else more suitable and presentable.

GY? At this moment.... i think he would look the most presentable to the world.

Most Sinkie are like that!

self imposed delusion....fed with years of ST propaganda...

Give them 1.... they take 1...tell them A .. they hear A...

Look at GEORGIE...on the night of defeat...

he himself confirm retire from POLITICS ...isn't being a President back into politics?

Such a person to MAKE U-TURNS...

If not like Pappy dogs ....what other species is Georgie then?

The out of the world kind?..

Like ET?

Personally Im not in favor of having a PAP guy as president. Defeats the purpose totally

End up with another prata man......

Could be a laksa man this time round...

Since you got prata ...and the first president was satay (Mat)...

And you already got a person who like mee siam without hum..

What else is there..

popiah? [laugh]

The problem with our Presidential system is that the criterias are so high, only 2 types of people will qualify:

1) Neutral private sector big shots - Unlikely to contest. Why give up an equally good, well paid life where you call the shots to be a rubber stamp?

2) Civil servants / Ex-Papmen - The most likely source for a (s)elected President.

Therefore if we do have a Presidential Election, it is not about voting the best guy but the least unsatisfactory choice. <_<

Don't suppose CSM has a twin brother? [sly]