Blueray Hypersonic April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Hawkers told to keep prices stable in March ... ... then receive letter from NEA about rental increase in April looks like things not very co-ordinated these days, sad ... -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Why this hawker can't afford to maintain prices 02:05 PM Apr 26, 2011 Letter from Edward Chan I read with interest that the Retail Price Watch Group (RPWG) enlisted more than 120 hawker stalls to pledge to maintain their prices for six months. Mr Lee Yi Shyan, Chairman of the RPWG, Minister of State for Trade and Industry and Manpower and MP for East Coast GRC, was present to launch the initiative on March 20. The RPWG was "encouraged to see more businesses taking the initiative to help Singaporeans mitigate increases in prices." Despite the Ministry of Trade and Industry's efforts to maintain food prices at hawker centres, it is with regret and trepidation that I read about the high-handed stance that the National Environment Agency is taking toward hawkers. My retiree friend was notified by NEA that his stall at Old Airport Hawker Centre had been "assessed by professional valuers to be fair and reasonable" regarding his rental increase from S$1,110 to S$1,500 with effect from April 1, after taking into account "stall size, location and the prevailing economic conditions". This letter came in response to his appeal through Mr Lim Biow Chuan, MP for Marine Parade GRC. It leaves me saddened that agencies are taking initiatives counter to each other's. On the one hand, MTI wants to keep inflation low and prices stable. On the other hand, NEA is bent on keeping in line with "prevailing economic conditions". My friend is keen to maintain his prices but with a 36 per cent increase in rental, he will find it difficult not to pass this price increase to his customers. NEA's letter also states: "If you have difficulty maintaining your stall rent, you may consider assigning the stall to an eligible party or surrendering it to NEA." This is his livelihood as a retiree. So it's a take it or leave it approach? Such compassion, coming from the civil service. I can understand if this were a private landlord. http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC11042...maintain-prices ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leo72 6th Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Hawkers told to keep prices stable in March ... ... then receive letter from NEA about rental increase in April looks like things not very co-ordinated these days, sad ... -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Why this hawker can't afford to maintain prices 02:05 PM Apr 26, 2011 Letter from Edward Chan I read with interest that the Retail Price Watch Group (RPWG) enlisted more than 120 hawker stalls to pledge to maintain their prices for six months. Mr Lee Yi Shyan, Chairman of the RPWG, Minister of State for Trade and Industry and Manpower and MP for East Coast GRC, was present to launch the initiative on March 20. The RPWG was "encouraged to see more businesses taking the initiative to help Singaporeans mitigate increases in prices." Despite the Ministry of Trade and Industry's efforts to maintain food prices at hawker centres, it is with regret and trepidation that I read about the high-handed stance that the National Environment Agency is taking toward hawkers. My retiree friend was notified by NEA that his stall at Old Airport Hawker Centre had been "assessed by professional valuers to be fair and reasonable" regarding his rental increase from S$1,110 to S$1,500 with effect from April 1, after taking into account "stall size, location and the prevailing economic conditions". This letter came in response to his appeal through Mr Lim Biow Chuan, MP for Marine Parade GRC. It leaves me saddened that agencies are taking initiatives counter to each other's. On the one hand, MTI wants to keep inflation low and prices stable. On the other hand, NEA is bent on keeping in line with "prevailing economic conditions". My friend is keen to maintain his prices but with a 36 per cent increase in rental, he will find it difficult not to pass this price increase to his customers. NEA's letter also states: "If you have difficulty maintaining your stall rent, you may consider assigning the stall to an eligible party or surrendering it to NEA." This is his livelihood as a retiree. So it's a take it or leave it approach? Such compassion, coming from the civil service. I can understand if this were a private landlord. http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC11042...maintain-prices NEA got to increase rental lor... else how to justify their bonus that's coming soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 let the MP do the talking lor.. see how he handle the situations... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theone2010 Neutral Newbie April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 (edited) these ppl really barking on the wrong tree, yes, very convenient too. asking hawkers chey!!! why not approach ministar, maple tree, JTC, HDB, URA, Shell, BP,Caltex, SPC, NTUC,Sheng Shiong, Cold storage group etc etc. Edited April 30, 2011 by Theone2010 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Isn't this what they've been doing? Act like angel but behave like a devil. High GDP Growth at all costs, so that they can get their big pay packets while citizens are left to struggle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theone2010 Neutral Newbie April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 just now got RC/PAP advance party, all in White, knock on my door, say MP coming to see us, can or not. i told them straight, Cannot! they LL, walk away, then another groupcome just place some mag, leaflets on my floor, i TL, don even look at it,throw straight into my rubbish bin. now must shut my door and keep low profile....scarce wait they threaten me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingkong 5th Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 just now got RC/PAP advance party, all in White, knock on my door, say MP coming to see us, can or not. i told them straight, Cannot! they LL, walk away, then another groupcome just place some mag, leaflets on my floor, i TL, don even look at it,throw straight into my rubbish bin. now must shut my door and keep low profile....scarce wait they threaten me. If you put anything in the corridor that could be deem as "illegal", then maybe the town council will be knocking on your door pretty soon... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 which is why i do not understand why do hawker stalls want to participate in the pledge.....they are the last of the food chain (minus away the consumer), raw materials, crude oil prices go up, naturally distributors/retailers etc will increase price to cover cost, how long can these hawkers tahan the price increase???? pledge not to increase for 6 mths after that increase by alot, LPPL.....seriously these hawkers are "conned" by these officials, whoever that come out of this idea is living in the LALA land, only these hawkers are naive enough to support...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 just now got RC/PAP advance party, all in White, knock on my door, say MP coming to see us, can or not. i told them straight, Cannot! they LL, walk away, then another groupcome just place some mag, leaflets on my floor, i TL, don even look at it,throw straight into my rubbish bin. now must shut my door and keep low profile....scarce wait they threaten me. You may see an ERP gantry outside your doorstep next time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 just now got RC/PAP advance party, all in White, knock on my door, say MP coming to see us, can or not. i told them straight, Cannot! they LL, walk away, then another groupcome just place some mag, leaflets on my floor, i TL, don even look at it,throw straight into my rubbish bin. now must shut my door and keep low profile....scarce wait they threaten me. u r living under fear, u should step out and challenge them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 seriously exception those minority star hawkers driving merc tat we hearsay, it is a very tough job. most work fr wee mornings to late and hoping they dun catch major illnesses. this stupid scheme of asking them to commit to holding prices is stupid from the start. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 just rike 44ct/litre petrol duty, never change for donkey years despite oil price increase how many % liao Now esso98 is 2.17/litre but part of that is still the 44ct/litre petrol duty... y not reduce it to help reduce transport cost inflation? after that cannot sappork ministar pay ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 There'a a Bak Chor Mee stall at Eunos Crescent. I asked them why they haven't increase price for a long time, they said bo pian just earn less. They were also never ask to join any stupid program. Their business is damn good. Lunchtime up to 10 people queuing. So I only go during off peak hrs. Btw, their noodles is delicious, must go once a week. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 wah.. Own goal indeed.. the hawker swallow the increase in material cost.. then next, the operating cost goes up higher because of the rental.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megaweb Clutched April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 just now got RC/PAP advance party, all in White, knock on my door, say MP coming to see us, can or not. i told them straight, Cannot! they LL, walk away, then another groupcome just place some mag, leaflets on my floor, i TL, don even look at it,throw straight into my rubbish bin. now must shut my door and keep low profile....scarce wait they threaten me. then they will take note your unit is usupporting the opp ... marked ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Not just hawkers are affected. SME operating in HDB & JTC properties every year also increase rental. I recall economy hardly recover only they immediately increase rental dun even give ppl a breather. This is too much. Indirectly driving prices up and making livelihood difficult by suppressing businesses telling them not to increase prices. Why dun they suppress the rental increase instead? What I see is a mascarade. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
FromA2B Neutral Newbie April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 and SingPower also increase electricity bills.................... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leok777 Clutched April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Not only commercial rents. Didn't u notice that our property tax also went up cos they revised the property values Upwards. Iras will be getting a good bonus again this year I guess? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...