Spanly 5th Gear May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 hehe ok i underestimated the fluency of his teochew. but i hope the young voters see no need to have teochew speaking. then again, teochew is not that hard to pick up due to its close resemblance to hokkien/hok chew. if png goes thruough crash course in teochew, i am sure he can also speak decently. Let's hope Png being not a Teochew will not placed him at some dis-advantage... so far in the rallies... the HG candidates will sure speak a part of the speech in Teochew... LTK did it well & win over the crowd... YSL also spoken in Teochew in last yr rally... though I would said his Teochew is at best "passable"... as it somehow doesn't carried the "air" as LTK... Hopefully this Png will come up with an equally good speech with his Hokkien perhaps mixed in some Teochew (with some coaching fr the LTK Teochew master) to rally the crowd ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 This Png fella from WP ... Looks like NATO. For what this kind of speech? I don't think there was a lot of passion in him ... and neither did that kind of speech move me! Need more substance lah! He needs to challenge and provoke the partisan crowd. Waste time only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 hehe ok i underestimated the fluency of his teochew. but i hope the young voters see no need to have teochew speaking. then again, teochew is not that hard to pick up due to its close resemblance to hokkien/hok chew. if png goes thruough crash course in teochew, i am sure he can also speak decently. Bro a slight correction. Hockchew is 十万八千哩 different from Teochew or any local dialect here. Not a easy dialect to speak or even understand. Most may know what ka liu means but not other more chim ones... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 I should let my wife and daughter watch this video and hope they understand I am so supportive of WP You are moved by the mediocre? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 This Png fella from WP ... Looks like NATO. For what this kind of speech? I don't think there was a lot of passion in him ... and neither did that kind of speech move me! Need more substance lah! He needs to challenge and provoke the partisan crowd. Waste time only Only 2 things will move you to tears 1. Deaths in you family 2. Money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 This guy is good, he deserves a shot in parliament. Punching arm into the air does not a good parliamentarian make. Maybe try Taiwan hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 Punching arm into the air does not a good parliamentarian make. Maybe try Taiwan hor Look whose punching arm into the air. Your favourite. What a joke his speech was. [laugh] You just had eggs thrown on your face. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 Punching arm into the air does not a good parliamentarian make. Maybe try Taiwan hor I'll vote passionate Opposition anytime vs dead zombie self-serving PAPaya idiots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 Look whose punching arm into the air. Your favourite. What a joke his speech was. [laugh] You just had eggs thrown on your face. Most opp candidates were like that. Maybe they were still new or just want to say what the masses like to hear. All I hear were attacks of gov policy...which are part and parcel of any rally. But I would also like to hear what are their proposed alternatives and how they intend to implement it, where are they going to get the funds from, how they are going to get locals to fill the jobs that are currently held by FTs, etc. Criticising is easy...we all do that eg. armchair football expert, backseat drivers, etc... most of us enjoy it occasionally. I expect more from political candidates fighting for a seat in the Parliament. But I also realised our political climate is at it's infancy and both the candidates and voters need time to mature politically. I am looking forward to a less 'childish' rallies from all parties in the next few GEs. For a start, I look forward to a more engaging and better prepared debates on gov policies from the WP's team during this term. Their 1st on minister's pay would have been a great one if they hadn't screwed up on the most basics eg.starting senior civil servant pay, etc...on which some of their argument was based on. Given time, they will come good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 (edited) Most opp candidates were like that. Maybe they were still new or just want to say what the masses like to hear. All I hear were attacks of gov policy...which are part and parcel of any rally. But I would also like to hear what are their proposed alternatives and how they intend to implement it, where are they going to get the funds from, how they are going to get locals to fill the jobs that are currently held by FTs, etc. Criticising is easy...we all do that eg. armchair football expert, backseat drivers, etc... most of us enjoy it occasionally. I expect more from political candidates fighting for a seat in the Parliament. But I also realised our political climate is at it's infancy and both the candidates and voters need time to mature politically. I am looking forward to a less 'childish' rallies from all parties in the next few GEs. For a start, I look forward to a more engaging and better prepared debates on gov policies from the WP's team during this term. Their 1st on minister's pay would have been a great one if they hadn't screwed up on the most basics eg.starting senior civil servant pay, etc...on which some of their argument was based on. Given time, they will come good. Not really you know. How many opp rallies did you really attend to make such conclusions that most opp are like that? At least I can say that there were quite a number of opp speakers who spoke with logic and have good plans to propose after attending quite a number of opp rallies. For e.g the ones by CSM, Gerald Giam, Dr Vincent, Nicole Seah, Slyvia Lim, Pritam Singh, Tony Tan and etc etc were quite good imo. Hardly hot air and they presented their points well. Did anyone seriously expect some PAP MPs and even Ministers to be so lightweight in their speeches, like the one I showed abv and the analogy by Lui Tuck Yew of poisonous mushrooms is mind boggling..hardly the kind stuff you would expect from the MIW who everyone thought has such solid credentials. Edited May 10, 2012 by Damienic Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sopskysalat 4th Gear May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 Not that I am with PAP. But what have Opp. Party done/fare since GE2011??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear May 10, 2012 Author Share May 10, 2012 Most opp candidates were like that. Maybe they were still new or just want to say what the masses like to hear. All I hear were attacks of gov policy...which are part and parcel of any rally. But I would also like to hear what are their proposed alternatives and how they intend to implement it, where are they going to get the funds from, how they are going to get locals to fill the jobs that are currently held by FTs, etc. Criticising is easy...we all do that eg. armchair football expert, backseat drivers, etc... most of us enjoy it occasionally. I expect more from political candidates fighting for a seat in the Parliament. But I also realised our political climate is at it's infancy and both the candidates and voters need time to mature politically. I am looking forward to a less 'childish' rallies from all parties in the next few GEs. For a start, I look forward to a more engaging and better prepared debates on gov policies from the WP's team during this term. Their 1st on minister's pay would have been a great one if they hadn't screwed up on the most basics eg.starting senior civil servant pay, etc...on which some of their argument was based on. Given time, they will come good. Do u noe SDP actually came out with an alternate economic plan? Post GE , SDP again come out with a shadow budget? Have u even taken a look at these proposals? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 During the last GE, I watched quite a few candidates (opp and pap) rally speech on youtube. Most are just attacks and (if any) offered a very brief solution without going slightly deeper in outlining how their alternatives will work. Attack is easy when the enemy has already has, good or bad, something to show while most opp candidates has none to be criticized. So the least I expect is to attack, then offer a better alternative and outline how it can be implemented. The better ones from opps were Vincent, CSM, Sylvia Lim, etc. Some PAP candidates were also trying to play 'dumb' in their attempt to reaching out to the masses...which I do not like either. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear May 10, 2012 Author Share May 10, 2012 You are moved by the mediocre? U moved by 7th mth ghost rally speech of teo ser luck? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 Not that I am with PAP. But what have Opp. Party done/fare since GE2011??? haha what can they do when they are not involved in making of policies nor have a chance to run constituencies except WP? U expect them to fare like the incumbents when they are not given the tools to do that? They can only offer alternative plans and they did that for those who got into parliament, but did you even bother to look at their proposals? so tell me what brilliant plans the MIW had offered since the last 1 yr? till today the mushroom man did not even have a clue how to get the mrt running again after it has broken down at least 2-3 times per week since late 2011 till now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 Do u noe SDP actually came out with an alternate economic plan? Post GE , SDP again come out with a shadow budget? Have u even taken a look at these proposals? And the SDP actually put together a very carefully thought economic plan with the help of high respected figures in the finance sector...the media did not even bother to place any coverage on it and hence for those who continue with the unshaken belief that opp is useless and only pap is good to take us forward will not bother to go to non-mainstream media to follow such proposals...and so they continue with the mistaken impression that the opp has nothing concrete to offer, which is not true at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 (edited) Do u noe SDP actually came out with an alternate economic plan? Post GE , SDP again come out with a shadow budget? Have u even taken a look at these proposals? I remember some of their points which I am not totally convinced it will work. Need more convincing. It all sounds good eg.pay full salary for teh 1st 6mths (lesser after that) should someone lose their job, privatize most GLCs within 5 years, etc. Who and how are we going to fund it, will the country get some money/share back from those privatized GLCs, etc. I am not saying their proposal will not work. I need more convincing. I also do not buy TJS's proposal (earlier during the GE) to move manufacturing our of Singapore and attract higher value banking, service sectors. Again, it sound good and make sense. But as much as some manufacturing sectors are low-value, but during crisis, it is less easy to move infrastructure out of s'pore than say banking, service, etc... Edited May 10, 2012 by Silver_blade Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 (edited) During the last GE, I watched quite a few candidates (opp and pap) rally speech on youtube. Most are just attacks and (if any) offered a very brief solution without going slightly deeper in outlining how their alternatives will work. Attack is easy when the enemy has already has, good or bad, something to show while most opp candidates has none to be criticized. So the least I expect is to attack, then offer a better alternative and outline how it can be implemented. The better ones from opps were Vincent, CSM, Sylvia Lim, etc. Some PAP candidates were also trying to play 'dumb' in their attempt to reaching out to the masses...which I do not like either. I do not disagree that some opp speakers lack substance too. But it is also a fact that there are members lacking in substance in their speeches not only in opp camp but also the pap. In 2006 GE, most of the things that the PAP said then were surrounding on the Gomez fisaco. For 9 days of campaign, almost everything that were spoken by the PAP then was on the 'lack of integrity' of Gomez. Economic plans? I hardly heard any specific plans on economy for Singaporeans. Before that, 2001 and 1997, it was upgrading and upgrading and if you dun vote for me you will not get upgrading threats. In 2011, they finally fared better in their speeches after realising the calibre of opp had gone up tremendously and that pple on the ground were really unhappy. But it is still not too difficult to pick up some atrocious speeches made by memberrs of the MIW....the ones on Teo Ser Luck and Lui Tuck Yew I mentioned are just one of the many that I came across. Stone throwing and attacking opponents with no substance, ain't the pap guilty of that too? Was there a need for SM Goh to stoop to attacking TJS on a personal level? Edited May 10, 2012 by Damienic ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...