Damienic 5th Gear May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 I remember some of their points which I am not totally convinced it will work. Need more convincing. It all sounds good eg.pay full salary for teh 1st 6mths (lesser after that) should someone lose their job, privatize most GLCs within 5 years, etc. Who and how are we going to fund it, will the country get some money/share back from those privatized GLCs, etc. I am not saying their proposal will not work. I need more convincing. I also do not buy TJS's proposal (earlier during the GE) to move manufacturing our of Singapore and attract higher value banking, service sectors. Again, it sound good and make sense. But as much as some manufacturing sectors are low-value, but during crisis, it is less easy to move infrastructure out of s'pore than say banking, service, etc... TJS nvr propose moving manufacturing out of Singapore. His main point is that Singapore should be less dependent on manufacturing but nowhere did he propose to phase out manufacturing in SG. His point was quoted out of context, no thanks to our state-controlled media. When you read the papers, it appears like he did advocate that, but when you actually hear him on the ground, during rallies, no, nowhere did he actually say that he would propose moving manufacturing out of Singapore. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 ... the Gomez fisaco. For 9 days of campaign, almost everything that were spoken by the PAP then was on the 'lack of integrity' of Gomez. Economic plans? I hardly heard any. Before that, 2001 and 1997, it was upgrading and upgrading and if you dun vote for me you will not get upgrading threats. Yes...that was an overkill and completely neglected more important local/national issues. That's why I hope in the next few GEs we will see a shift from petty politics to a more robust and one with more substance debate from all parties. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 Yes...that was an overkill and completely neglected more important local/national issues. That's why I hope in the next few GEs we will see a shift from petty politics to a more robust and one with more substance debate from all parties. Yes, me too. Actually among the PAP speakers, the ones that really impressed me the most have always been Tharman. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 Tharma is fairly careful with his words. Most PAP candidates are not charismatic..they just deliver speeches. Usually cannot fault them on facts, data, etc...but cannot connect with the masses. Some improvements in the last GE...but some over did it...bordering being silly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 (edited) WP's Png look damn jialat. He needs to improve on his looks otherwise all the auntie will vote for the more yan dao Desmond. Edited May 10, 2012 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 WP's Png look damn jialat. He needs to improve on his looks otherwise all the auntie will vote for the more yan dao Desmond. esp the front photo in today newspaper....can really see the"bias" of our local media Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 Bro a slight correction. Hockchew is 十万八千哩 different from Teochew or any local dialect here. Not a easy dialect to speak or even understand. Most may know what ka liu means but not other more chim ones... I may remember wrongly then about name of the other dialect that sounds like these two Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 WP's Png look damn jialat. He needs to improve on his looks otherwise all the auntie will vote for the more yan dao Desmond. That may be an advantage to WP's candidate. After YSL's case...some husbands may be wary of good looking one or those smooth talker. So looking unattractive may be good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 esp the front photo in today newspaper....can really see the"bias" of our local media Nothing new lah, never been a level playing field. Old tactics but the current electorate are too enlightened and educated to be fooled by these things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear May 10, 2012 Share May 10, 2012 hope hougang voters do us proud Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 [thumbsup] Like the feeling of WP rally! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear May 11, 2012 Author Share May 11, 2012 [thumbsup] Like the feeling of WP rally! the True singapore spirit can only be felt in Opp rally esp WP's rallies. even more spririted than national day, u know those around u, grow up with u, go thru same hardship as u and receive the same shxt from papayas, like kindred spirit, can just turn and tok to anyone. better than National Day! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 [thumbsup] Like the feeling of WP rally! Actually I have a question. Why so many people has Patriotic feelings and Pride of being Singaporean in WP rallies and not in P@P ones ? I mean can't be feel patriotic to our country whether facing a P@P Stage or a WP, SDP, SPP RP or SDA stage ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 Not that I am with PAP. But what have Opp. Party done/fare since GE2011??? Wat have PAP done then? Increase the expenses of living, more expensive government flat, more foreign Talent on the street, more foreigner to call us dogs, traitors and such and what more? Ya..of course wayang drama.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 I may remember wrongly then about name of the other dialect that sounds like these two I think the closest sounding dialect to Teochew is Hokkien. I may be wrong but I dare say none other dialects come close. Anyway nowadays many Singaporeans are educated unlike our parents' or grandparents' generation so speaking in either Mandarin or English is good enough for them to understand. But of course speaking in Teochew and speaking it fluently which most Hougang residents feel comfortable with will be one big advantage for any by-election candidate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 WP's Png look damn jialat. He needs to improve on his looks otherwise all the auntie will vote for the more yan dao Desmond. Not necessarily true. My wifey thinks that the more 'yan dao' one looks like he'll be more concerned about his hair, than the residents' welfare Furthermore he is too young still got boy-boy look... I wonder how the elderly can look up to him and trust him to understand and solve their problems?? On a more practical side, being too young also means too little life experiences... things like bringing up children of school-going age, taking care of elderly parents, etc. Has he even been through all that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 i was there that night!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear May 11, 2012 Share May 11, 2012 (edited) i was there that night!!!! ...& I was next to you! [laugh] Haha jokes aside it was electrifying to be amongst your fellow countrymen supporting a cause. [thumbsup] It still is. The nearest feeling would be back then cheering our national soccer team in Kallang stadium when we were playing the various Malaysian teams especially those from Pahang or Selangor. Will probably give the coming a miss due to the expected crowd and probably will be watching the rallies via YouTube sure to be uploaded by fellow bros. Edited May 11, 2012 by Vulcann ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...