Csnewbie 1st Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 we have been fooled times alrdy. will we be fooled again? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XLR8 1st Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 The ppl with track record are those who increased the number of FT, skyrocketed HDB property prices, made little progress over the last 5 years on median wage, paid themselves millions of dollars. Which is more important? To vote for those with track record or those who will set policies that will benefit Sporeans? Regret? Regret Spore will have less foreigners??? Regret HDB prices will be affordable??? Regret ministers will be paid decent salaries that reflect public service? Regret more will be done to help the poor? Seriously, if our society is going to regret those things, i guess i better find a new country to live in. Swee! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Stupid old man using his usual I KNOW ALL mentality again. He really donno all. I will vote for PAP if old man reveals how much we have actually lost through Temasek Holdings & GIC. $50 billion or $100 billion? And to think that he is hiding the losses from us, telling us that CPF is very safe with them and so u guys dont need to take out CPF lah. Work until u die better. You can do a google search on the deals they have done AND got burned. NYC: Stuyvesant Town deal... Tishman Speyer and Blackrock defaulted on debt payment. GIC kena IBs deal --- UBS and Citigroup pre Lehman Brothers investment... check details on web Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chemmie78 Clutched April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 End of the day, who can deliver? although i am seriously pissed with pap for making me pay pay and pay...but can the opposition really deliver steady economic growth to singapore which is important to all of us? we can whine and whine but how many cities in the world where you can see clean streets and do not need to worry about going out at night? I am still a neutral party and have not decided to vote for Eric Tan or Lim Swee Say Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Today's ST is Front Page FULL OF SUPPORT FOR Aljunied GRC. From MM to PM, especially LHL targeting at middle-income cos Aljunied comprises mainly of middle-income class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 MM: Aljunied GRC residents will regret choosing the WP By Leslie Koh VOTERS in Aljunied GRC who choose the Workers' Party (WP) team will regret it, said Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew on Friday night. 'If they choose (the opposition), then I say, good luck to them. They have five years to ruminate and to regret what they did. And I have no doubts they will regret it,' he said. The People's Action Party (PAP) team there comprises Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Hwee Hua, Senior Minister of State for Foreign Affairs Zainul Abidin Rasheed - who has been identified as a potential Speaker of Parliament - Madam Cynthia Phua and new face Ong Ye Kung, an assistant secretary-general of NTUC who is touted as a potential office holder. They are facing a challenge by a high-profile team from the WP comprising former Hougang MP Low Thia Khiang, former NCMP Sylvia Lim, the party's 'star catch' Chen Show Mao, a corporate lawyer with top academic qualifications; as well as family counsellor Muhamad Faisal Abdul Manap and post-graduate law student Pritam Singh. Speaking to reporters during a visit to Tampines, Mr Lee said the contest in Aljunied GRC could be boiled down to this issue: Do you want a capable team that can look after your interests, or do you want a team with little track record? 'At the end of the day, if you are in Aljunied, ask yourself: Do you want one MP, one Non-Constituency MP, one celebrity who has been away 30 years, and two unknowns to look after you?' Or, he continued, did voters prefer two ministers, one potential Parliament Secretary, one potential Speaker of Parliament, and one grassroots MP? 'Just ask yourself that,' he said http://www.straitstimes.com/GeneralElectio...ory_662848.html Can a PAP supporter help me - what bread and butter issues has the 5 incumbents spoke on + fought for us in Parliament last 5 years? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 (edited) End of the day, who can deliver? although i am seriously pissed with pap for making me pay pay and pay...but can the opposition really deliver steady economic growth to singapore which is important to all of us? we can whine and whine but how many cities in the world where you can see clean streets and do not need to worry about going out at night? I am still a neutral party and have not decided to vote for Eric Tan or Lim Swee Say Opposition lacks the experience of dealing with policies in association with macroeconomics. They are good in addressing the smaller issues of the people (probably) without consideration on how it affects the economy as a whole. My view is that PAP is focusing too much on creating Singapore as a developed economy that they lost their sight at the ground level. A balanced approach will be the key Edited April 30, 2011 by Porker Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kage Neutral Newbie April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 (edited) 'We want to have a First World parliament for Singapore. So we need to have a First World government and a First World opposition.' MM Lee said this 5 yrs ago. http://www.asiaone.com/specials/ge2006/new...3_story2_1.html Opposition members not of First World standard: MM If they act like a First World opposition, playing by the rules, the Government will return courtesy but if they behave like hooligans, they must expect to be treated like hooligans, says Minister Mentor Lee By Sumiko Tan April 23, 2006 The Straits Times FOR Singapore to have a First World parliament, there must be opposition members of a First World standard, but this is not the case, Mr Lee Kuan Yew said last night. The Minister Mentor added: 'If the opposition acts like a First World opposition playing by the rules, the Government will return the courtesy. 'If they behave like hooligans, they must expect to be treated like hooligans.' The quality of the opposition was the theme of his remarks in both Mandarin and English at a community function in Redhill Lane Market and Food Centre, which he attended with his Tanjong Pagar GRC team mates. It was one of numerous events attended by members of both the People's Action Party (PAP) and the opposition yesterday, ahead of Nomination Day on Thursday and Polling Day on May 6. In his speech, Mr Lee referred to a question Workers' Party chief Low Thia Khiang had raised: Do Singaporeans need an opposition, do they want an opposition? 'The answer is, of course, they do,' said Mr Lee. 'But they want an opposition that is equal to the job, that can match the PAP in integrity, capability and commitment. 'We want to have a First World parliament for Singapore. So we need to have a First World government and a First World opposition.' He noted several times that if Mr Low was as proud of his candidates as the PAP is of its slate, he would have presented them at the same time as the PAP so voters could compare the two sets of candidates. 'But he held back in spite of being teased by the Prime Minister. Now, under pressure, he first produces the best three. We have told him where PAP candidates will be fielded. He should say where his candidates will be fielded, so voters know who they are going to get.' To those asking if it is bad for Singapore to have no opposition in Parliament, he pointed out that there were no opposition MPs from 1965 to 1981, yet Singapore made rapid economic and social progress. As to the state of the opposition now, he felt that the Workers' Party was moving in the 'right direction' and trying to improve its quality of candidates. It might boast of a lecturer among its candidates, he said, referring indirectly to WP chairman Sylvia Lim. But there are 'hundreds' of lecturers around, he added, and when the PAP chooses from them, it does so very carefully. He conceded, however, that with the departure of former Workers' Party chief J.B. Jeyaretnam from the party, 'WP has moved away from gutter politics and has dropped some of the disreputable candidates'. 'JBJ gave the opposition a bad name,' he said. Now, 'Chee Soon Juan is giving the opposition a bad name', he added. His assessment of the quality of the opposition and Dr Chee came a day after his lawyers served a letter of demand to Dr Chee and others in the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) for making allegedly defamatory comments about him and the Prime Minister regarding the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) scandal in its newsletter, The New Democrat. 'When the opposition moves to higher standards of contention and disputation, the PAP will respond at that higher level,' said MM Lee. 'If they play the politics of the Third World, making wild defamatory allegations, like what the SDP has published in The New Democrat timed for this election, they will destroy themselves.' The Minister Mentor also took pains to stress the high standards the PAP sets for its candidates, which means that voters can be assured they are getting quality MPs. 'If you have two brand new candidates contesting for the first time, voters cannot tell in two weeks which of the two is the better, the more reliable candidate. You can see who is the better speaker, but not who is more honest, more sincere, reliable and capable.' This, he said, is why the opposition parties want all constituencies to be single wards for them to try their luck. He said opposition leaders Mr Low, Mr Chiam See Tong and Mr Steve Chia know that they can win seats only if they have good candidates like the PAP. 'They are learning from the PAP, that to win they have to field credible candidates, people with ability, track records and the dedication to work. However, none of them has yet found a credible core of such men and women to field.' He ended by noting that as Singaporeans go to the polls on May 6, they should vote for the best candidate or the best group of candidates in a GRC. 'Whichever party he belongs to, choose the most reliable and capable as your MP or MPs,' he advised. But membership does have its advantages. 'If he or they also happen to be in the PAP, it is an added benefit. The PAP is very likely to be the next Government. So PAP MPs will have the Government's attention to get the problems of their constituents attended to,' he said. 'Only a PAP MP can get you priority attention of the Government. A PAP Government must give more attention to the constituencies that support the PAP. This is so everywhere. Any government must first look after its supporters, whether it is America, Britain, Australia, Malaysia, Thailand or Singapore.' Edited April 30, 2011 by Kage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lv3338 Clutched April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Today's ST is Front Page FULL OF SUPPORT FOR Aljunied GRC. From MM to PM, especially LHL targeting at middle-income cos Aljunied comprises mainly of middle-income class. Only run the campaign from Wed with 2 rally of WP.....and they are already so "scare" OMG ! buay steady ler... ... It's always a difficult task to do...to tell our father, grandparent that they have lead a incorrect path... they always treat us like kids hahah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ODC 1st Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Opposition lacks the experience of dealing with policies in association with macroeconomics. They are good in addressing the smaller issues of the people (probably) without consideration on how it affects the economy as a whole. My view is that PAP is focusing too much on creating Singapore as a developed economy that they lost their sight at the ground level. A balanced approach will be the key I tot u scared lim kopi talk Wat talk s--t Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 this is just so damn farnie..!!!! want to embed it but dunno how...damn.. mmm the visuals alone are worth watching Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 That's the best you can do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 With so much support there, I think the pap are really worried of losing that ward. Cannot imagine what all of their reactions are during polling day if they lose that grc. Up till now, I don't think much pp & hg people regret voting the opposition. If not why would they be voting them in all these years, they must have done something right. I think pap candidates should review what the past candidates is lacking before going in and contest again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ODC 1st Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 That's the best you can do? No is this yours? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chemmie78 Clutched April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Opposition lacks the experience of dealing with policies in association with macroeconomics. They are good in addressing the smaller issues of the people (probably) without consideration on how it affects the economy as a whole. My view is that PAP is focusing too much on creating Singapore as a developed economy that they lost their sight at the ground level. A balanced approach will be the key This is true...but sometimes I also feel that we as citizens need to be more independent and not always rely on the govt for hand outs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Of course MM n ALL the P8P wil say things like that to convince u to vote P8P. Its only natural ty want to keep their multi-million dollar jobs. Can see ty now start their old song about how we wil all die if OP comes in. Fear tactics all over again. Ty must b very desperate to bring this old, overused trick out again. If ty lose their big salary, where r they going to get so much $$$ to buy big houses overseas n invest $$$ all over the world. This election can see ty all very worried ty going to lose more seats n if the OP can do a good job the next 5 years, next election we might just see the last of the P8P. Then all those highly paid ministers wil hv to start looking for real jobs where ty hv to work hard n b accountable to the pple who pay their salaries. No more free lunches. Plus if ty lose, the OP wil start to dig out all the hanky-panky that has been going on all these years n if those skeletons r exposed then where r ty going to hide their faces. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 Difficult to change mindset that has been shaped for so many years. Takes time. Those who wished that change is fast and drastic will be sorely disappointed and naive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sigurros Neutral Newbie April 30, 2011 Share April 30, 2011 (edited) Quotes from Thomas Jefferson. 3rd president of United States of America "My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government." "When the people fear the government, there is tyranny. When the government fears the people, there is liberty." Edited April 30, 2011 by Sigurros ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...