MM SAYS:U WILL REGRET IF U CHOOSE WP!

Nightsky

On 4/30/2011 at 9:19 AM, Duckduck said:

in 2006, garmen banned internet politcal media! thats how easy it was for them to censor, by making it illegal!

But many pple can still access. Only dont get caught.

We can still get info on Youtube etc b even SBF has moved to Australia. Mr Brown is still posting his jibes at P8P so its not so easy to censor.

Just look at porn. How ty block u can still see. [laugh]

On 4/30/2011 at 12:22 AM, Lv3338 said:

God knows whether if he has another 5 years ??? [bigcry]

Lee Kuan Yew said he wanted to take care of us for 5 years.. I think we are the one who is taking care of him instead! After 5 years he will be 93 year old. No one will believe Singapore has the oldest politician on earth!

  On 4/30/2011 at 1:26 AM, Kage said:

'We want to have a First World parliament for Singapore. So we need to have a First World government and a First World opposition.'

MM Lee said this 5 yrs ago.

http://www.asiaone.com/specials/ge2006/new...3_story2_1.html

Opposition members not of First World standard: MM

If they act like a First World opposition, playing by the rules, the Government will return courtesy but if they behave like hooligans, they must expect to be treated like hooligans, says Minister Mentor Lee

By Sumiko Tan

April 23, 2006

The Straits Times

FOR Singapore to have a First World parliament, there must be opposition members of a First World standard, but this is not the case, Mr Lee Kuan Yew said last night.

The Minister Mentor added: 'If the opposition acts like a First World opposition playing by the rules, the Government will return the courtesy.

'If they behave like hooligans, they must expect to be treated like hooligans.'

The quality of the opposition was the theme of his remarks in both Mandarin and English at a community function in Redhill Lane Market and Food Centre, which he attended with his Tanjong Pagar GRC team mates.

It was one of numerous events attended by members of both the People's Action Party (PAP) and the opposition yesterday, ahead of Nomination Day on Thursday and Polling Day on May 6.

In his speech, Mr Lee referred to a question Workers' Party chief Low Thia Khiang had raised:

Do Singaporeans need an opposition, do they want an opposition?

'The answer is, of course, they do,' said Mr Lee.

'But they want an opposition that is equal to the job, that can match the PAP in integrity, capability and commitment.

'We want to have a First World parliament for Singapore. So we need to have a First World government and a First World opposition.'

He noted several times that if Mr Low was as proud of his candidates as the PAP is of its slate, he would have presented them at the same time as the PAP so voters could compare the two sets of candidates.

'But he held back in spite of being teased by the Prime Minister. Now, under pressure, he first produces the best three. We have told him where PAP candidates will be fielded. He should say where his candidates will be fielded, so voters know who they are going to get.'

To those asking if it is bad for Singapore to have no opposition in Parliament, he pointed out that there were no opposition MPs from 1965 to 1981, yet Singapore made rapid economic and social progress.

As to the state of the opposition now, he felt that the Workers' Party was moving in the 'right direction' and trying to improve its quality of candidates.

It might boast of a lecturer among its candidates, he said, referring indirectly to WP chairman Sylvia Lim. But there are 'hundreds' of lecturers around, he added, and when the PAP chooses from them, it does so very carefully.

He conceded, however, that with the departure of former Workers' Party chief J.B. Jeyaretnam from the party, 'WP has moved away from gutter politics and has dropped some of the disreputable candidates'.

'JBJ gave the opposition a bad name,' he said.

Now, 'Chee Soon Juan is giving the opposition a bad name', he added.

His assessment of the quality of the opposition and Dr Chee came a day after his lawyers served a letter of demand to Dr Chee and others in the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) for making allegedly defamatory comments about him and the Prime Minister regarding the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) scandal in its newsletter, The New Democrat.

'When the opposition moves to higher standards of contention and disputation, the PAP will respond at that higher level,' said MM Lee.

'If they play the politics of the Third World, making wild defamatory allegations, like what the SDP has published in The New Democrat timed for this election, they will destroy themselves.'

The Minister Mentor also took pains to stress the high standards the PAP sets for its candidates, which means that voters can be assured they are getting quality MPs.

'If you have two brand new candidates contesting for the first time, voters cannot tell in two weeks which of the two is the better, the more reliable candidate. You can see who is the better speaker, but not who is more honest, more sincere, reliable and capable.'

This, he said, is why the opposition parties want all constituencies to be single wards for them to try their luck.

He said opposition leaders Mr Low, Mr Chiam See Tong and Mr Steve Chia know that they can win seats only if they have good candidates like the PAP.

'They are learning from the PAP, that to win they have to field credible candidates, people with ability, track records and the dedication to work. However, none of them has yet found a credible core of such men and women to field.'

He ended by noting that as Singaporeans go to the polls on May 6, they should vote for the best candidate or the best group of candidates in a GRC.

'Whichever party he belongs to, choose the most reliable and capable as your MP or MPs,' he advised. But membership does have its advantages.

'If he or they also happen to be in the PAP, it is an added benefit. The PAP is very likely to be the next Government. So PAP MPs will have the Government's attention to get the problems of their constituents attended to,' he said.

'Only a PAP MP can get you priority attention of the Government. A PAP Government must give more attention to the constituencies that support the PAP. This is so everywhere. Any government must first look after its supporters, whether it is America, Britain, Australia, Malaysia, Thailand or Singapore.'

I got a feeling that he might not know that PAP got Tin Pei Ling thou.

[:p]

  On 4/30/2011 at 7:02 AM, Alim said:

We will really regret if we give PAP another 5 years to import new citizens.

When it happens, more new citizens than true citizens will vote for PAP.

To All True Singaporeans, you will regret because more jobs will be lost and your votes will also lose out to new citizens.

This is the HARD TRUTH.

Dont need 5 years.

Just today I went to the bank to print out a simple statement.

So this is what the queue is like 2guys+1 girl in a group, 1 girl, 1 girl, 1 guy, me, 1 guy, 1 girl, 1 auntie

That 2guy+1 girl group is from china, then the 2 different girls infront of me also from china, the 1 guy infront of me is ang moh, the guy behind me is korean/japanese, girl behind the guy is from china, only auntie is confirm singaporean.

This is in DBS bank too.

I am outnumbered [laugh]

  On 4/30/2011 at 10:18 AM, Readonly said:

Dont need 5 years.

Just today I went to the bank to print out a simple statement.

So this is what the queue is like 2guys+1 girl in a group, 1 girl, 1 girl, 1 guy, me, 1 guy, 1 girl, 1 auntie

That 2guy+1 girl group is from china, then the 2 different girls infront of me also from china, the 1 guy infront of me is ang moh, the guy behind me is korean/japanese, girl behind the guy is from china, only auntie is confirm singaporean.

This is in DBS bank too.

I am outnumbered [laugh]

It just proved that new immigrants still don't know how to use internet banking .... [laugh]

I think he half accept defeat.

But warned 5 years of repent if it happened.

Singapore has 5 years to make PAP work harder in those lost ground.

On 4/30/2011 at 7:01 AM, Kyrios said:

Last week I was recalled for NS, and I saw this group of 30 Gurkhas training in full fatigue. My guess is that they will be deployed against us should we citizen soldiers refuse to fire on our countrymen. You think the MIWs dun have back up plans? It was reported a few months ago that a gURKHA took on more than 30 taliban troops in Middle East and lived to tell the tale..think he was awarded the highest medal of honour..

Just imagine..NSmen vs a few hundred Gurhkas...sure heavy casualties.. [:(]

If it is a fair election, I don't think p8p dare to call in the army or Gurkhas to surpress the people.

Uncle Sam might be watching, though we may have good ties with them, you never know when they'll come in and remove the government as well as use it to divert attention away from their own domestic problems.

Saddam Hussein is a good example.

P8P though defeated may still have a chance to fight again in next election, if Uncle Sam comes in and forcibly remove them, they can forget it forever.

I don't think the Gurkhas can take on the US army.

On 4/30/2011 at 2:05 PM, SimonTan said:

I think he half accept defeat.

But warned 5 years of repent if it happened.

Singapore has 5 years to make PAP work harder in those lost ground.

I think he already accept full defeat, he knows very well Aljunied GRC is gone csae liao. He don't even bother to go Aljunied to help George Yeo.

On 4/30/2011 at 8:14 AM, Theone2010 said:

Why MCF no PRO-PAP? where have they gone to???? reflection?

I think there is, just that these people are chosing to stay quiet.

No point speaking up, sure get flammed and the more they try to speak up, it'll make matters worst.

So might as well just lie low and wait for further "instructions" from the top.

On 4/30/2011 at 9:53 AM, PaiKia-Lee said:

Lee Kuan Yew said he wanted to take care of us for 5 years.. I think we are the one who is taking care of him instead! After 5 years he will be 93 year old. No one will believe Singapore has the oldest politician on earth!

P8P is always obsessed with being the world first.

So maybe MM can go into the Guiness Book of Records as being the oldest politician around.

On 4/30/2011 at 2:37 PM, Bystander50 said:

P8P is always obsessed with being the world first.

So maybe MM can go into the Guiness Book of Records as being the oldest politician around.

already is