Ken4555 1st Gear April 28, 2011 Share April 28, 2011 i thk the first FTs were the ghurkas.. even our commandos no match for them.. i ever saw them train at pasir lampa camp.. walau run like mad dog & super crazy fit. the ghurkas sprint the whole 2.4km ippt... finish like 6minutes... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 28, 2011 Share April 28, 2011 the one selling bar chor mee in my estate coffee shop is PRC, mixed rice also PRC even Char kway Teow also PRC....Sigh.....the only Sinagporean I see in the coffee shop is the 60 plus old aunties wiping table and collecting plates...ever overheard while waiting for my turn, the cleaning aunty asked for white rice and some fried vege only, from the mixed rice store run by PRC, the Ah Tiong told her off, must have minimium order of $2.50, if not cannot sell her the rice..heard liao, sibey tulan, wanted to offer to pay on her behalf, aunty said never mind, she will eat her bread with warm water.... then you should have insist on ordering the veg rice and you take the meat or smthing lah... not siding the PRC guy but many times these kinda PRC run stalls are own by singaporean bosses who are hardly ever at the stall and set all kinds of rules... once i asked a PRC worker to add additional egg for my carrot cake and he said cannot cause his boss counts the eggs... wtf... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 28, 2011 Share April 28, 2011 Put yourself in the shoes of a business owner esp a small one. Who would you employ? foreign labour or local? i would emply PRC meimeis... hardworking ones... pretty n smart would be an advantage... seriously you would want to employ the cheapest and most harworking ones... seriously, i am not feeling as much if nothing against FTs (NOT Foreign Workers) in SG.... maybe cause all my jobs positions i have never felt threaten by an FT... infact i have never felt threaten before... if there is competition at my work place, oh yeah i love to compete.... i can only see benefits to the department/company whenever there is a competitive spirit... but as for how many percentage and if FTs/FWs should be in Singapore... i leave this problem to be solved by the government... and i do believe that not government in this world world can please all the ppl in its country... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 28, 2011 Share April 28, 2011 Yesterday, at my office building, i was waiting to take the elevator down to first level. With me, there are 2 other PRC people waiting together. The elevator came, door opened and we entered the elevator. Inside the elevator, there were 4 other PRC people, coming down from higher levels. As the elevator was making its way down to first level, suddenly I felt so left out in the elevator. The 4 PRC ppl were talking among themselves (i assume they are colleagues from same office). And the other 2 PRC ppl were talking to each other. I felt so alien, so lonely in the elevator, and I'm in SG, not in China....... Then I realised that SG is no longer the same. With 1/3 of SG population are foreigners and 1/2 of newly created jobs go to these foreigners, I cannot imagine what is going to happen in the next 5 years. While i was in the elevator, the feeling to quickly get out of the elevator and i was hoping that the elevator will quickly travel even faster to the 1st level, was so great..... I felt sick in my stomach..... So people in this forum, look ard what is happening in SG, and what our garment is doing to this country..... I believe many/most people observed that the People Avoiding Party is abandoning/neglecting the locals, especially the older generation. MM Lee may have to thank Nicole Seah for not walking into his GRC, he can be the only GRC left of the current People Avoiding Party, come the 7th May 2011. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 28, 2011 Share April 28, 2011 take bus very low class meh?... you should feel ashamed of what you implied intentionally or not... As I say, you gonna get big time these few days...better bathe flower water Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 28, 2011 Share April 28, 2011 Of course it's different. While both are 'raiding' neighbouring countries, one is for survival and the other is high value investments/face. I think the point is that these PRCs buy up a basket of high value, quality items which they can easily afford anywhere in the world vs SGs who buy up a basket of cheaper comodities relative to local prices to cope with inflation. It boils down to, you want your 3 meals in restaurant, foodcourt or hawker? I think majority of SGs will answer restaurant of course, but till now still lan lan hawker, ocassionally foodcourt and once in a blue moon restaurant. While the said PRCs would be, how many michelin star restaurant? Just ranting. Yeah PRCs is for survival... Everyone knows how bad the milk powder is in china Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 I am a business manager. I insist that all my employees are local. My team is 100% Singaporeans. FTs can go to the back of the queue, Next! How you managed to get 100% s'porean in your co? I have one friend in HR told me whenever her co advertised for job vacancy, 98% of the resume received are FTs! And she has a very hard time getting local or PRs, so in the end her employee headcount of FTs are increasing rapidly! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 i would emply PRC meimeis... hardworking ones... pretty n smart would be an advantage... seriously you would want to employ the cheapest and most harworking ones... seriously, i am not feeling as much if nothing against FTs (NOT Foreign Workers) in SG.... maybe cause all my jobs positions i have never felt threaten by an FT... infact i have never felt threaten before... if there is competition at my work place, oh yeah i love to compete.... i can only see benefits to the department/company whenever there is a competitive spirit... but as for how many percentage and if FTs/FWs should be in Singapore... i leave this problem to be solved by the government... and i do believe that not government in this world world can please all the ppl in its country... fark lah...u intend to bonk them as their performance bonus...knn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 dun say..i take bus to my left, pinoy, front, bangla, back, ahtiong, right, burmese....i feel sooooooooo alone...knn lucky for u, back is ah tiong and not bangla haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 i bring my daugthers go down playground.... then die die saw a few ahtiong parents with their kids why cant we have gun here? watergun i meant Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 Did a quick count for my workplace. 100 odd employees, less than 16 sgpeans. 3 (including me) still need to go for ICT... oh well.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 Did a quick count for my workplace. 100 odd employees, less than 16 sgpeans. 3 (including me) still need to go for ICT... oh well.. err... suspect u work at the same place as me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ODC 1st Gear April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 U know why ah tiong so in demand? 1. Most company wanna go into china market 2. Ah tiong cheap salary Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 err... suspect u work at the same place as me Siao liao... i don't want ppl in my co. to know i'm surfing net during office hours.... later 1 less sgpeans in the co.... lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hcity 1st Gear April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 I have also done recruiting people for my dept...electronic engineers, there are times where there is no local applicants, so no choice but to take FT to meet the immediate manpower shortage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 mine has no FT applications... dunno why ... lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged April 29, 2011 Author Share April 29, 2011 Another unit in my office, just had a new hire, and she's a filipino. I still dont understand why they have to hire a FT. The job is not technical nor specialised skills. Just admin work....... sigh.... i'm sure they can easily find a local to do this job Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hazardous 1st Gear April 29, 2011 Share April 29, 2011 I take a neutral stance in this topic.. For those people saying pinoy are cheap labor, do you know how much they cost to employ? min $1,800 (soon $2,000) plus levy. You still think cheap meh? there must be a reason why employers are still hiring them, maybe its because no Singaporeans want to work that job. Go to restaurant, 99% of the time sure see pinoy working (waitress, waiter, or even floor manager). Could it be because Singaporeans don't want to work in such low level career? Everyone only want a job that everyday sit at desk, nice view, air-con, surrounded by chio working ladies. Work in a blue collar job??? NO THANKS. Unless the pay is 5x above market rate. I think the government has played a big part in our current state of affairs. Its not a blame game, and they have done a great job by ensuring the survival of Singapore as a whole. Our education system emphasizes this from a young age. Like LKY has envisioned, Singapore's only resource is its people. We have one of the highest educated population in the world today (I dunno the exact numbers), compared to other developed countries. How many people you know aim to work at Hagaan Daaz as a waiter? Or as a plumber? Don't forget, white collar jobs are the minority, but blue collar jobs are majority. Sad thing is, everyone choing for white collar jobs, blue collar jobs no one wants. I don't see people complaining about the high FT numbers in the construction industry, or the road sweepers, or the other less glamorous jobs in sg. On the other hand, you have instances like the mixed rice seller that bully our own people. WTF. Reading that makes my blood boil. I have met good FTs, but there are many FTs that should just **** off and take their stupid culture back to their country. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...