Theone2010 Neutral Newbie April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 (edited) so do we still need to standby RM50??? No more hidden roadblocks and speed traps - Star-motoring SHAH ALAM: There will be no more hidden roadblocks and traps to book speeding motorists as police will now conduct such operations in the open. Deputy Inspector-General of Police Datuk Khalid Abu Bakar, who announced this on Saturday, said there would be no more “ambush” in such operations. He said signs would be placed ahead of speed traps and roadblocks to forewarn motorists. “We should not be hiding behind bushes or trees. We should come out in the open and enforce the law,” he said after attending a public dialogue session at the “A Day with the Police” event held at the Selangor police contingent headquarters. The newly-promoted deputy police chief said the move was also in line with making the force more transparent. “We should educate the public against committing traffic offences, not just give out summonses. “The first step towards that is to be more open and transparent,” he said. Khalid, however, explained this did not mean police were going to go easy on speed demons. “Just because you do not see us it does not mean you can speed and break traffic laws. “Other than speed traps which will be done in the open, we are looking at other ways to discourage traffic offences. “One is to have more cameras installed along roads,” he said. Former Transparency International Malaysia president Tan Sri Ramon Navaratnam, in an immediate response, said he welcomed the move as it indicated that police wanted to be transparent. “This will increase public confidence in them. “Being transparent to prevent rather than to punish shows that the police are trying to be friends of the public,” he said. Bank staff Phua Eu Jin, 23, said conducting operations in the open to nab speeding drivers would be more effective. “The police have been conducting speed traps by placing cameras behind large pillars and hiding behind bushes. “This was not much of a deterrent as most motorists did not know they were caught speeding until summonses were mailed to their homes,” he said. Engineer Shawn Dass, 23, said speed traps to ambush motorists were not safe as accidents could happen. Selangor and Kuala Lumpur Tipper Lorry Owners Association president Lee Keen Seng welcomed the directive, saying the association had been appealing for such a change. “This is good for all drivers, not just lorry drivers, as visible policemen are a much more effective deterrent,” he said. Johor Lorry Operators Association deputy president V.K. Mani agreed, saying some of the “hidden” traps could also be unsanctioned by the police. Edited April 25, 2011 by Theone2010 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 sounds good news to me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theone2010 Neutral Newbie April 25, 2011 Author Share April 25, 2011 sounds good news to me orders from the top to lower ranks may still not click. i think they will still roadblock and aim for S plate... morning sir, how are you sir? license please. your speed 124km/hr, over 110km/hr, you want summon? summon Ringgit 300 pay at Jaybee, confirm want tiket? double confirm? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 orders from the top to lower ranks may still not click. i think they will still roadblock and aim for S plate... morning sir, how are you sir? license please. your speed 124km/hr, over 110km/hr, you want summon? summon Ringgit 300 pay at Jaybee, confirm want tiket? double confirm? I just came back from Penang and I encountered 2 road blocks. One was northbound near Machap, the other one the usual one near to custom complex towards Singapore on a Sunday later afternoon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duckduck Turbocharged April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 NATO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theone2010 Neutral Newbie April 25, 2011 Author Share April 25, 2011 I just came back from Penang and I encountered 2 road blocks. One was northbound near Machap, the other one the usual one near to custom complex towards Singapore on a Sunday later afternoon. so you donate to their country or the family??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 so you donate to their country or the family??? Nope. The Machap one was just setting up, I was caught in the jam but they were not stopping anyone, yet. The one at second link was closing becoz it started to rain. If anything, most likely to be camera & summon but they will have to catch me to pay. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theone2010 Neutral Newbie April 25, 2011 Author Share April 25, 2011 Nope. The Machap one was just setting up, I was caught in the jam but they were not stopping anyone, yet. The one at second link was closing becoz it started to rain. If anything, most likely to be camera & summon but they will have to catch me to pay. i think their timing is between 10 to 12 am, & 2 to 5 pm. the rest of the time they kooning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 i think their timing is between 10 to 12 am, & 2 to 5 pm. the rest of the time they kooning. Most likely when it is not too hot i.e between 11am to 3pm. Just like fishing, they know where to maximize their catch by observing the fishes. Morning 8-10am, Northbound on second link or Machap/ Pagoh area where SGP cars are heading in on Friday (Long weekend) or Saturday. Most will be heading to at least Ayer Keroh. Sunday, 4pm to 10pm, southbound, on second link or near Senai when everybody is coming back. This one nearly 100% catch rate. So normally I dun really speed up until I pass Ayer Keroh. Coming back, slow down around 40km mark. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 I have & will nvr pay the on-the-spot summon. I will pick up the ticket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 hmm...not only 5pm end leh... Friday night around 8pm was heading towards Bukit Indah on Plentong also saw them setting up road block on the left lane, on a 3 lane freeway. Tot was workers repairing the road until I saw their vest with the word "Polis" behind. Heck, they were not wearing uniforms but own clothes, only vests. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 (edited) second link speed trap before gelang patah is a luctrative source of income ... Edited April 25, 2011 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 second link speed trap before gelang patah is a luctrative source of income ... It is part of GNP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 Malaysia boleh leh.Yesterday coming back from Cameron and stop by JB to eat. This lane which allows left turn and right turn, so we turn right. Then the polis down the road stop us and said,kanan turn tak boleh. Then a malaysian car also stop cause all singapore car pull by the road side. Later the polis flag him off and hold back a SG car in front and my friend's car behind. We push RM50 to him and he keep tak boleh. After a few seconds of boleh & tak boleh, end up also boleh.KNN! we made a turn and come back, the operation finished??? Takde polis on the roadside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 (edited) Most likely when it is not too hot i.e between 11am to 3pm. Just like fishing, they know where to maximize their catch by observing the fishes. Morning 8-10am, Northbound on second link or Machap/ Pagoh area where SGP cars are heading in on Friday (Long weekend) or Saturday. Most will be heading to at least Ayer Keroh. Sunday, 4pm to 10pm, southbound, on second link or near Senai when everybody is coming back. This one nearly 100% catch rate. So normally I dun really speed up until I pass Ayer Keroh. Coming back, slow down around 40km mark. if they are really hungry and traffic is light, they will do their random 'hunting'.......... especially flashy S cars. one time i was in a bone-shaker Satria (in slippers, singlet, jogging pants, hair un-washed), they must be too hungry and stopped me........... they smiled at me and I smiled back, .............. words were exchanged.... my last sentence: I got no money.... they took a look at my car, gave up and turn around to stop another S car..... heng!!! Edited April 25, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beonhah 1st Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 I have & will nvr pay the on-the-spot summon. I will pick up the ticket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theone2010 Neutral Newbie April 25, 2011 Author Share April 25, 2011 I have & will nvr pay the on-the-spot summon. I will pick up the ticket. if once a blue moon go in or going to sell car, than of course boh chap. if frequently go in, RM300 very shiong. RM 300 can pay for six or more times "highway pass". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkwalker Clutched April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 When in Rome, do what the romans do... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...