KARTer 2nd Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Hey dun read too much into people's avatar le If not we have many superheroes, freaks and what-have-yous in the MCF liao! Had been from the ugly green force but no longer now, sayonara! Actually i missed the last NAVY open house....... really want to go inside a sub to check it out ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Actually i missed the last NAVY open house....... really want to go inside a sub to check it out Not sure if they allow sub visits during the open house which will be on next month. You so interested in our navy meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 24, 2011 Share April 24, 2011 Not sure if they allow sub visits during the open house which will be on next month. You so interested in our navy meh? not particularly spore navy, any navy/airforce/landforce i am curious..... but since i havent been near any sub, should be interesting to take a peep.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 not particularly spore navy, any navy/airforce/landforce i am curious..... but since i havent been near any sub, should be interesting to take a peep.... Can understand why you interested in subs. Who will want to be trapped inside a pressurized steel tube under hundreds of feet of cold water for days or even weeks? And in the event of emergency, there is seldom anyone on the surface can do much to help if these guys are underwater. Gota say these sailors really have b*lls steel to work in these type of claustrophobic conditions & to fight their adversaries in wartime conditions. It is no wonder that the silent service is one of the highest paid in any armed service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 Because they can be sued for it....... how to prove the whole issue is true...... word vs word.... think TOC still wanna keep their red underwear..... Of course in other countries you would be able to use the law to garner "access" to an MPs email account and verify. Just look at what happened in the US with D.O.J saccking scandle under Bush - entire email accounts (including some personal) were subpoenaed. ANd by law all official communications must be archived. (Note: this is NOT an open invititation to everybody to read the exhanges the MP has, but if the case went to court, the court would be able to "requisition" the acccount to see if there really was such an email) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 One question that should be asked - Where did the funding for the Newsletter Minister Lui referred to come from? Recently we got a newsletter to our house "celebrating" 10 yeaars of achievements in our ward - it looks like little more than a political party congratulatory missive. I am wondering how it was founded, and quite seriously hope it was not paid for out of town council funds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 (edited) Can understand why you interested in subs. Who will want to be trapped inside a pressurized steel tube under hundreds of feet of cold water for days or even weeks? And in the event of emergency, there is seldom anyone on the surface can do much to help if these guys are underwater. Gota say these sailors really have b*lls steel to work in these type of claustrophobic conditions & to fight their adversaries in wartime conditions. It is no wonder that the silent service is one of the highest paid in any armed service. Totally agree with you.......... that's why as a visitor, i like to be downthere for a peep and imagine how life's like totally shut off from outside world thousands of feet below the ocean...... Edited April 25, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 If this incident is true, this minister is seriously out of touch...if you can't tell why voters should vote for you....I don't think he deserve the vote...vote him out! Ivory tower is too high up to hear us ..... Maybe the branding of Papaya is too strong so he is trying to say vote for them sure wont go wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 that's becos he is busy dressing up for parties instead of walking the ground and attending to his people.... This is funny! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear April 25, 2011 Share April 25, 2011 His "noise" comment has pissed many netizens off. For someone who is in charge of Information, Communications and the Arts, he doesn't really know what's going on online and has failed to realise that this election is different from the previous ones because this election Singapreans have the internet to balance the SPH propaganda machine. For those seeking to know something more than the calculated and manipulated information the SPH puts out, they go on the internet, and that is where half, if not the entire, battle will be won. In the previous elections, there was little other choice but to get biased information and opinions from SPH outlets. You just do not call Singaporeans, one of the most web connected people in the world, noise makers. If elections are like a popularity contest, then propaganda and public relations are of great importance to winning hearts and minds. Many young voters, Generation X, Y, Z, critical and opinionated on the internet, may just decide to vote the opposition, out of spite and hatred for the old man who labelled their opinions "noise". May be the writer is seen as a detractor to him and henceforth, deemed too Noisy. http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1120127/1/.html GE: Shut out the noise and focus on task, Lui tells PAP's youngest candidate By Sharon See | Posted: 01 April 2011 1825 hrs SINGAPORE: Shut out the noise and focus on the task at hand. That is the advice Information, Communications and the Arts Minister Lui Tuck Yew has for Ms Tin Pei Ling, a new candidate of the People's Action Party. Mr Lui was speaking to reporters at the sidelines of the launch of an arts exhibition by autistic students. PAP's youngest candidate unveiled so far for the upcoming General Election, Ms Tin has come under fire from some netizens. However, Mr Lui said this could be a chance for Ms Tin to prove herself. He said: "The most important thing is to stand fast to your beliefs and your set of values. Yes, pay attention by all means to the feedback that is given by others, particularly if it is constructive feedback on how we can improve ourselves - we all need to do that, not just the new candidates. "But at the end of the day, we must also recognise that there will be some who will support us very strongly, there will be detractors, and we just need to make sure that we focus on serving the residents and doing our best for the future of Singapore." -CNA/ac Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 26, 2011 Share April 26, 2011 Totally agree with you.......... that's why as a visitor, i like to be downthere for a peep and imagine how life's like totally shut off from outside world thousands of feet below the ocean...... Go watch the 夸张good old American action-packed movies Hunt For The Red October, Crimson Tide or U571 to have a feel on sub sailors' feeling & experiences under fire. For a more realistic feel, go watch the German production Das Boot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branteo Clutched April 26, 2011 Share April 26, 2011 Another interesting reading: - Kenneth Lin: A conversation with Mr Lui Tuck Yew http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=4485 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...