Kenneve888 4th Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 I think the "tsunami will arrive in a few hours" (quote Mr Mah's analogy). So many highly-qualified people, from PHD to Masters degrees to BSC to successful corporate honchos have stepped forward to declare contest against PAP incumbents. Why is it so, at this coming election? Obviously, many have risen through the system, get a good headstart in life. Why then the risk? Something is seriuosly wrong with the system. These fine and bright people , if the system is so good and rewarding according to the PAP folks, are seeing something that we lesser mortal don't? My humble opinions are that: People are fed-up with the high-handedness of the ruling party. People are upset with the gerrymandering. People are very unhappy with the "you don't vote me, I dont upgrade your flat" threat. People are very unhappy with all the stupid reasons ala GST is to help the poor. People are very unhappy with the high cost of living (asking hawkers not to raise price when other big conglomerates suka suka raise price eg petrol companies). People are very unhappy with stupid reasons such as selling new flats at lower price equals to raiding the reserves. People are very unhappy with CPF's change of rules and shifting of withdrawal age and "locking of money" under CPF life. People are very unhappy squandering money on renaming Marina Bay and Budget Terminal when it was so difficult to increase the meagre amount to the poor. People are very unhappy with the caSINos People are very unhappy to be packed like sardines and the minister concerned show no sympathy People are very unhappy with limping MSK running away and the remark "what to do? It happened" People are very unhappy with PA, CC, and what not grassroots oprganisations being subsumed as part of PAP People are very unhappy when Zorro rubbished no minmum wage for workers but stamped a multi-million $ minimum wage for his colleagues. People are very unhappy with Khaw bactracking when he said something like "means testing was only an idea" but implemented straightaway after election. People are very unhappy that YOG ocverspent the budget under the same MInsiter who rejected calls to increase payment to the destitude (eat in hawker centre, food court or restaurant remark) People are very unhappy when hardo do Minister mocked our fairer sex to skip one hairdo to pay for mamogram screening. People are very unhappy when jobs and more jobs go to foreigners (and for that matter, foreigners should include PERMANENT RESIDENTS) People are very unhappy Minister Mah sproutingnonsense about HDB subsidy when he did not dare to divulge what is the actual cost of building a flat. People are very unhappy becasue we do not know what constitutes our reserves, who has oversight or how are they deployed. People are very unhappy when NS for Singaporeans, but high post and even potentialn MP posts for newly minted Singaporean. Many many more, but hands are tired from typing..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 add one more who is piss off with them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 I guess many people are unhappy about tin tin but she still will be voted in irregardless how unhappy people are Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Enough is enough............... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 People are fed up with the gahment being out of touch with their bread and butter issue and PAP in denial of such problem exist> Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passat57 3rd Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Me too, really pissed off. Ppl say they "pian" ah peh, i think they try to pian all ppl :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 wun even apologise for mas selamat, yog burst budget, u tink they will rescind policies. in fact do they even know the policies are bad policies??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeff49er Clutched April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Wee Shun Min blog is a classic case of exemplifying eleetism. Good thing Wee Siew Kim stepped down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 All i can say is happy or not, just dun vote out of fear Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 I think the "tsunami will arrive in a few hours" (quote Mr Mah's analogy). So many highly-qualified people, from PHD to Masters degrees to BSC to successful corporate honchos have stepped forward to declare contest against PAP incumbents. Why is it so, at this coming election? Obviously, many have risen through the system, get a good headstart in life. Why then the risk? Something is seriuosly wrong with the system. These fine and bright people , if the system is so good and rewarding according to the PAP folks, are seeing something that we lesser mortal don't? My humble opinions are that: People are fed-up with the high-handedness of the ruling party. People are upset with the gerrymandering. People are very unhappy with the "you don't vote me, I dont upgrade your flat" threat. People are very unhappy with all the stupid reasons ala GST is to help the poor. People are very unhappy with the high cost of living (asking hawkers not to raise price when other big conglomerates suka suka raise price eg petrol companies). People are very unhappy with stupid reasons such as selling new flats at lower price equals to raiding the reserves. People are very unhappy with CPF's change of rules and shifting of withdrawal age and "locking of money" under CPF life. People are very unhappy squandering money on renaming Marina Bay and Budget Terminal when it was so difficult to increase the meagre amount to the poor. People are very unhappy with the caSINos People are very unhappy to be packed like sardines and the minister concerned show no sympathy People are very unhappy with limping MSK running away and the remark "what to do? It happened" People are very unhappy with PA, CC, and what not grassroots oprganisations being subsumed as part of PAP People are very unhappy when Zorro rubbished no minmum wage for workers but stamped a multi-million $ minimum wage for his colleagues. People are very unhappy with Khaw bactracking when he said something like "means testing was only an idea" but implemented straightaway after election. People are very unhappy that YOG ocverspent the budget under the same MInsiter who rejected calls to increase payment to the destitude (eat in hawker centre, food court or restaurant remark) People are very unhappy when hardo do Minister mocked our fairer sex to skip one hairdo to pay for mamogram screening. People are very unhappy when jobs and more jobs go to foreigners (and for that matter, foreigners should include PERMANENT RESIDENTS) People are very unhappy Minister Mah sproutingnonsense about HDB subsidy when he did not dare to divulge what is the actual cost of building a flat. People are very unhappy becasue we do not know what constitutes our reserves, who has oversight or how are they deployed. People are very unhappy when NS for Singaporeans, but high post and even potentialn MP posts for newly minted Singaporean. Many many more, but hands are tired from typing..... Excellent post. You raised many issues that were hot potatoes then but were some how dumped away quietly. My reading of the situation is that the RP is very reluctant or resistant to change. For example, the recent change of allowing up to the best 9 OP candidates not voted in but can become NCMPs is not maganimousity on their part. It is actually out of urgent necessity to desperately prove to us folks that they listen & know we want alternative voices. By doing so they hope that they can still get the lion's share of the votes to claim the mandate to rule. Another change is the increase of SMCs to 12 in number. Do anyone seriously think that 9 additional seats out of 87 will make any difference to the balance of power in the parliament if all 9 are won by OPs? These are all rolled out out of because of necessity rather then willingness to change. They are unwilling to make any further compromises is due to the fear that once the Pandora's Box is opened i.e. citizens wanting & demanding more changes, their position may be more shaky. Ironically, this behavior could be the beginning of the end of this once well respected & popular party.... We will have to wait & see this coming May 7... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forrestcat 2nd Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 People are fed up with the gahment being out of touch with their bread and butter issue and PAP in denial of such problem exist> Bro, any also the influx of "foreign talents"...... These few days i saw so many filipino families playing with their kids in the malls.. They are virtually everywhere! I dread to think how many native Singaporeans will be left in the next 30 years.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Excellent post. You raised many issues that were hot potatoes then but were some how dumped away quietly. My reading of the situation is that the RP is very reluctant or resistant to change. For example, the recent change of allowing up to the best 9 OP candidates not voted in but can become NCMPs is not maganimousity on their part. It is actually out of urgent necessity to desperately prove to us folks that they listen & know we want alternative voices. By doing so they hope that they can still get the lion's share of the votes to claim the mandate to rule. Another change is the increase of SMCs to 12 in number. Do anyone seriously think that 9 additional seats out of 87 will make any difference to the balance of power in the parliament if all 9 are won by OPs? These are all rolled out out of because of necessity rather then willingness to change. They are unwilling to make any further compromises is due to the fear that once the Pandora's Box is opened i.e. citizens wanting & demanding more changes, their position may be more shaky. Ironically, this behavior could be the beginning of the end of this once well respected & popular party.... We will have to wait & see this coming May 7... i have a feeling they will get prataman to activate the SAF of freak result comes out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 i have a feeling they will get prataman to activate the SAF of freak result comes out Will SAF actually shoot at the people if ordered too? I doubt so. Most might shoot at enemy's soldiers but definitely not at unarmed, fellow citizens Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Don't forget that, save for our Malay fellow countrymen, our forefathers were the migrants here. My own father migrated here in the 60s. The FTs as we call them now, are just another wave to follow the previous waves of migrants that seek a better life by coming here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Will SAF actually shoot at the people if ordered too? I doubt so. Most might shoot at enemy's soldiers but definitely not at unarmed, fellow citizens maybe will ask their maid to do it for them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 I think the "tsunami will arrive in a few hours" (quote Mr Mah's analogy). So many highly-qualified people, from PHD to Masters degrees to BSC to successful corporate honchos have stepped forward to declare contest against PAP incumbents. Why is it so, at this coming election? Obviously, many have risen through the system, get a good headstart in life. Why then the risk? Something is seriuosly wrong with the system. These fine and bright people , if the system is so good and rewarding according to the PAP folks, are seeing something that we lesser mortal don't? My humble opinions are that: People are fed-up with the high-handedness of the ruling party. People are upset with the gerrymandering. People are very unhappy with the "you don't vote me, I dont upgrade your flat" threat. People are very unhappy with all the stupid reasons ala GST is to help the poor. People are very unhappy with the high cost of living (asking hawkers not to raise price when other big conglomerates suka suka raise price eg petrol companies). People are very unhappy with stupid reasons such as selling new flats at lower price equals to raiding the reserves. People are very unhappy with CPF's change of rules and shifting of withdrawal age and "locking of money" under CPF life. People are very unhappy squandering money on renaming Marina Bay and Budget Terminal when it was so difficult to increase the meagre amount to the poor. People are very unhappy with the caSINos People are very unhappy to be packed like sardines and the minister concerned show no sympathy People are very unhappy with limping MSK running away and the remark "what to do? It happened" People are very unhappy with PA, CC, and what not grassroots oprganisations being subsumed as part of PAP People are very unhappy when Zorro rubbished no minmum wage for workers but stamped a multi-million $ minimum wage for his colleagues. People are very unhappy with Khaw bactracking when he said something like "means testing was only an idea" but implemented straightaway after election. People are very unhappy that YOG ocverspent the budget under the same MInsiter who rejected calls to increase payment to the destitude (eat in hawker centre, food court or restaurant remark) People are very unhappy when hardo do Minister mocked our fairer sex to skip one hairdo to pay for mamogram screening. People are very unhappy when jobs and more jobs go to foreigners (and for that matter, foreigners should include PERMANENT RESIDENTS) People are very unhappy Minister Mah sproutingnonsense about HDB subsidy when he did not dare to divulge what is the actual cost of building a flat. People are very unhappy becasue we do not know what constitutes our reserves, who has oversight or how are they deployed. People are very unhappy when NS for Singaporeans, but high post and even potentialn MP posts for newly minted Singaporean. Many many more, but hands are tired from typing..... Party Avoid People just like that. Decide carefully when you vote. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Me too, really pissed off. Ppl say they "pian" ah peh, i think they try to pian all ppl :angry: People Avoiding Party or Party Avoiding people? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 wun even apologise for mas selamat, yog burst budget, u tink they will rescind policies. in fact do they even know the policies are bad policies??? I believe they thought most Singaporeans chronically retarded by inhaling expired air in trains during daily peak hours, can not identify bad policies. GST is also tax. CPF made to work like another tax. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...