Agalvilaku 2nd Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Yesterday, took my car for veh inspection to JIC Ang Mo Kio. When i was in the queue, one of the inspector came and said that my front windscreen, back door windows tinting cannot pass and advised me to remove it before being inspected. He did mentioned that it was done in malaysia and to me personally, the tinting wasn't that bad and it is bit golden tan colour tinting, but not sure how much of light pass through. Since i bought the used car a year back, it came as it is and wonder how it passed the previous inspection. Any advise to try my luck on other inspection centers or any recommendation on workshops to remove the tinting and how much it would cost. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 They are all on the ball recently, try Yishun Vicom if not tear on the spot and reapply again later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agalvilaku 2nd Gear April 22, 2011 Author Share April 22, 2011 Is it that easy to tear without a trained technician help? I have seem some youtube clips on DIY, but still don't think i can able to remove the front and back windscreen tints. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 did they actually do the test on ur windscreens? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Is it that easy to tear without a trained technician help? I have seem some youtube clips on DIY, but still don't think i can able to remove the front and back windscreen tints. Dont tear first until they failed your tinting, its easy just strip the corner, you need not have to tear out every thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeff49er Clutched April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Yesterday, took my car for veh inspection to JIC Ang Mo Kio. When i was in the queue, one of the inspector came and said that my front windscreen, back door windows tinting cannot pass and advised me to remove it before being inspected. He did mentioned that it was done in malaysia and to me personally, the tinting wasn't that bad and it is bit golden tan colour tinting, but not sure how much of light pass through. Since i bought the used car a year back, it came as it is and wonder how it passed the previous inspection. Any advise to try my luck on other inspection centers or any recommendation on workshops to remove the tinting and how much it would cost. On my previous inspection ( my car was OPC ) I saw a guy failed his inspection. He tried to tear away his tint with his bare hands and gave up later. It is best leave it to the pro. Bro, recently I won a V Kool voucher, courtesy of Wheels Asia awards. Please let me know if you are keen to purchase the discount voucher worth $500. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jailbird005 1st Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 maybe u can try this.....cheap and good! http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?autoco...t&MID=10547 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agalvilaku 2nd Gear April 22, 2011 Author Share April 22, 2011 did they actually do the test on ur windscreens? No he didn't used any equipment to test, but by seeing he was very sure that it will fail. He mentioned if i proceed, i have to pay the fee, not sure, may be out of goodwill he could have told, but, i am planning to take it to some tinting shop to test the light penetration %. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weewee1976 3rd Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 maybe u can try this.....cheap and good! http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?autoco...t&MID=10547 I agree. The boss is quite friendly and with a bit of cham siong, he'll waive the removal fee for you if you get the film from him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Best remove it, they can oso stop you on the road. Why drive with fear? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agalvilaku 2nd Gear April 22, 2011 Author Share April 22, 2011 maybe u can try this.....cheap and good! http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?autoco...t&MID=10547 Thanks bro, i will check with them about the price. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agalvilaku 2nd Gear April 22, 2011 Author Share April 22, 2011 Best remove it, they can oso stop you on the road. Why drive with fear? Yep, either pass lta inspection or going to remove it once for all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 my is clear security film but they still go through with the meter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chess Neutral Newbie April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Re-tint lor ... heard every test center will not miss test. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 this is the same place that failed my front window tint, just 10% failure also don't give chance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
7seater Clutched April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Hi, think the claim from the inspector without checking the light transmission is true. Because one condition is that if the tinting film should not has reflection as mentioned gold, then it is not local done and not approved film. You can check more on LTA site. So better to remove than being penalised while on the road. Sorry to hear above your problem. You have no choice. So I am rather careful with what kind installations that can be done in Malaysia to avoid such issue even though it is cheaper across the bridge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2bfree Neutral Newbie April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 They are all on the ball recently, try Yishun Vicom if not tear on the spot and reapply again later. Yishun Vicom will oso fail. Kena tis year for my tinted film. Asked to remove it after the inspection & testing. Tried to remove it DIY for 20min & gave up. Drove to WS & paid to remove it chop chop then go back Vicom for inspection again......quite a waste of time if u ask me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 I think no two ways about it anymore, did you pay the fee again? I did my in march was warned about my blue small light and my stick-on Number PLATE not sticker type but never mention about my ride too low (about 4ins from the ground) surprised still passed me. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...