Kiadaw 6th Gear April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 Wait. There are about 1/3 of workforce that is foreigners (exclude PR), so Singaporeans & PR made 2/3. so for every FT, they create jobs for 1.5 Singaporeans (say the other 0.5 is PR)? He must just visit a spin doctor, or just plugging statistic from thin air, as the 2 figures are not directly related. If I have 1/2 of the people in my company is foreigners, mean 1 FT create jobs for 1 Singaporeans? Then monday, I will do to office to thank all the FT, if not I will not have a job. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 On 4/21/2011 at 8:38 PM, Jamesboyan said: You know... I agree... the foreign talents do help our nation grow... only problem is... the quality of the "foreign talents" nowadays. In the past(80's) i still remembered when foreigners came to Singapore to work - they are really specialists in their field. nowadays these talents want more $ money but less work than me!! this i cannot accept. one of my clients... other than top management, lower/middle management people like directors and managers are nearly all foreigners.. and well, once foreigners. prc & indian mostly. pinoys are catching up. people like engineers and admin are also slowly getting replaced with their kampong kaki. singaporean is a minority... and this is a GLC. yes, definitely these are jobs that can be done by singapoerans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 (edited) On 4/21/2011 at 5:38 PM, Mike1234 said: Nvm, I help you quote what he said "IMFLASH Singapore employed about 1200 workers in these workers, 6/10 are residents (Either Singaporeans OR PRs) The other 4/10 are foreigner workers" => of total employment (1200) : 40% (480pax) are foreigners (work permit, expats); 60% (720pax) are Singaporeans and PRs On 4/21/2011 at 5:38 PM, Mike1234 said: "Technician & manufacturing jobs 2/3 are foreign workers" "Managerial and professional levels 2/3 are Singaporeans" Question: How many "Managerial and professional levels" jobs are there?... and how many "Technician & manufacturing jobs" jobs are there? Edited April 22, 2011 by Scoots Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pentium 1st Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 How many Managers? 1 singapore manager, 1 PR mgr, 1 foreign director. There is your 2/3 of managers jobs going to singapore citizens and PR. But hire 666 foreigners, 333 PRs, 1 singapore citizen = 1/3 of jobs go singapore citizen and PRs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theone2010 Neutral Newbie April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 (edited) at this rate we are going, when MCF members reach age of 60's, we will be cleaning tables and toilets. strangely, if one work or study with foreigners, you just focus on the job or studies, not so TL at personnel level. i work in shipyard before, 99.9% are foreigners, but we work hard and are like brothers. even my kid's best friend is from Myanmar, duh! but if i look at them in the public, as strangers, then it is damn TL. i guess it's the policy sucks, not the foreigners. if the policy can differentiate the locals and FT, then we may not so TL. giving us $600-800 every 5 years is like putting salt to our wounds. For the start, we can have free school fees to Poly, free medical, really subsidised HDB, full time NS salary peg on regulars to give them savings for further studies or whatever, improved quota system to employer for PMET jobs etc. Edited April 22, 2011 by Theone2010 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 On 4/21/2011 at 5:27 PM, Vulcann said: Geee I must have heard wrongly. Let's watch the video again shall we? http://www.straitstimes.com/GeneralElectio...ory_659474.html Take note at the 02:55 part bro I didn't know until today I am a first class labour force Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 On 4/22/2011 at 1:09 AM, Theone2010 said: at this rate we are going, when MCF members reach age of 60's, we will be cleaning tables and toilets. strangely, if one work or study with foreigners, you just focus on the job or studies, not so TL at personnel level. i work in shipyard before, 99.9% are foreigners, but we work hard and are like brothers. even my kid's best friend is from Myanmar, duh! but if i look at them in the public, as strangers, then it is damn TL. i guess it's the policy sucks, not the foreigners. if the policy can differentiate the locals and FT, then we may not so TL. For the start, we can have free school fees to Poly, free medical, really subsidised HDB, full time NS salary peg on regulars to give them savings for further studies or whatever, improved quota system to employer for PMET jobs etc. So we gotta focus our dissatisfaction to the party responsible and take the correct steps the correct the wrong ... vote wisely Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 On 4/21/2011 at 10:51 PM, Kiadaw said: Wait. There are about 1/3 of workforce that is foreigners (exclude PR), so Singaporeans & PR made 2/3. so for every FT, they create jobs for 1.5 Singaporeans (say the other 0.5 is PR)? He must just visit a spin doctor, or just plugging statistic from thin air, as the 2 figures are not directly related. If I have 1/2 of the people in my company is foreigners, mean 1 FT create jobs for 1 Singaporeans? Then monday, I will do to office to thank all the FT, if not I will not have a job. Bingo... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 (edited) On 4/21/2011 at 5:05 PM, Vulcann said: I watched both the ang mo & chinese news. I am very sure PM said on tv that 2/3 of the managerial & professional positions goes to SINGAPOREANS. He did not say Singapore residents at all. frankly no proof no talk....... he can say all he wans, who is to verify? anyways how many production waokers and how many managers are there in a company??? c--k la his math Edited April 22, 2011 by Tom_kkh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 On 4/22/2011 at 1:24 AM, Tom_kkh said: frankly no proof no talk....... he can say all he wans, who is to verify? anyways how many production waokers and how many managers are there in a company??? c--k la his math How dare you question the leader of the A-Team? Wait BA whack you then you know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nom107 1st Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 (edited) On 4/21/2011 at 3:47 PM, Windwaver said: It has been together for a long time...........and I don't think MOM will ever release figures or percentages of PR vs locals. IS HERE The total amount of valid Voters is 2,350,257. That means Singaporean population in this country = 2.3mil (exclude those under 21). Let's say under 21 is 20% of the population. Total Singaporean population is 2.8mil. That means Singapore PR + FT = 5mil - 2.8mil = 2.2mil Edited April 22, 2011 by Nom107 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 (edited) On 4/22/2011 at 1:15 AM, Jp66 said: I didn't know until today I am a first class labour force Yes we are, I think, but that's just us. Last I heard our leaders got problem getting local talents to form another A-team. And oldies have to stay back to augment the cabinet. In addition we need talented Foreign Talents to boost up our non-talented locals le. Geee, this is all very confusing.... Actually you are right we are only good as a first class LABOUR force.. LABOUR..... Edited April 22, 2011 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 Yup I think lumping PRs and Singaporeans together is REALLY INSULTING. HELLO!!! PRs are the FT we singaporeans are complaining about. This just shows how far detached he is from the ground. I still cannot believe it. Well, I am glad I live in AMK GRC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 On 4/21/2011 at 11:49 PM, Solar said: one of my clients... other than top management, lower/middle management people like directors and managers are nearly all foreigners.. and well, once foreigners. prc & indian mostly. pinoys are catching up. people like engineers and admin are also slowly getting replaced with their kampong kaki. singaporean is a minority... and this is a GLC. yes, definitely these are jobs that can be done by singapoerans. Sama sama in my workplace lah. Ask around, same story lah. Thats why I am handling in my transfer request for higher level work in a place far far away. Unless can go to some industries (probably only those concerning national security like ST) that have strict rules for hiring foreigners, it just doesn't seem safe. Just wait & see, even current market that is mainly Singaporeans like education & banking, will be soon influx by FT as well, if it has not already... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 On 4/21/2011 at 3:19 PM, D15z7 said: PM Lee: Foreigners help create more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 On 4/22/2011 at 11:26 AM, Kiadaw said: Sama sama in my workplace lah. Ask around, same story lah. Thats why I am handling in my transfer request for higher level work in a place far far away. Unless can go to some industries (probably only those concerning national security like ST) that have strict rules for hiring foreigners, it just doesn't seem safe. Just wait & see, even current market that is mainly Singaporeans like education & banking, will be soon influx by FT as well, if it has not already... MOE already hiring 'native speakers' from Alpha Tango land to teach chinese.. no meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 On 4/21/2011 at 3:55 PM, Felipe said: i'm also keen to find out how much the workers, foreign and local are paid. it's one thing to be employed, another thing to be paid well enough to afford a decent standard of living. I believe the Elites do not belive in productivity, but cheap. More FT means cheap labour. Elites do not care if locals are able to survive decently or not with the inflation they introduced. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear April 22, 2011 Share April 22, 2011 On 4/22/2011 at 11:26 AM, Kiadaw said: Sama sama in my workplace lah. Ask around, same story lah. Thats why I am handling in my transfer request for higher level work in a place far far away. Unless can go to some industries (probably only those concerning national security like ST) that have strict rules for hiring foreigners, it just doesn't seem safe. Just wait & see, even current market that is mainly Singaporeans like education & banking, will be soon influx by FT as well, if it has not already... Just to share with you all: in our local construction industry, locals at any level, is almost perfectly extinct since no one want to employ locals. I mean other than the Directors/shareholders, no local employee at all. So we are learning to accept 3rd world FT for constructing our buildings. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...