Shull Turbocharged April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 very true,some regulars got their career hentak kaki. if it's secret,then why the need for serial number with your name and ic number on it? To prevent 'fake' voting slips and chain voting.. UK also uses voting slip with serial number.. NY City and Malaysia also uses the same system.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 very true,some regulars got their career hentak kaki. if it's secret,then why the need for serial number with your name and ic number on it? After so many years of Voting with all Oppo confirmed Chop chop its secret till now people scared ? Why ? Kiasu, Kiasi. Upgrading ?- my estate upgrade until can last for next 10 years. Got Lift also. Got handicap walkways, got everything except no private swimming pool, gym, Funshyen room, but got BBQ area ... I vote without any biaseness. Voting is my right as a citizen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 can try but i tell u is no use one lah... they will be foolish people out there believe that they will be "fixed" if they vote for opposition. If wanna fix, the first will be the oppositions... where got time to fix voters? For more details on how serial number works... you can see this link. Even New York City uses serial number... http://nyvv.org/doc/TearOffBallotStubs.pdf I see it diff though.... voters, esp from CS dont wanna vote Oppo cause they alwasy said CS over paid.... so if they get into power..... HK liao.... no more $$$ for that Batam/China/Pinoy mistress.... .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 After so many years of Voting with all Oppo confirmed Chop chop its secret till now people scared ? Why ? Kiasu, Kiasi. Upgrading ?- my estate upgrade until can last for next 10 years. Got Lift also. Got handicap walkways, got everything except no private swimming pool, gym, Funshyen room, but got BBQ area ... I vote without any biaseness. Voting is my right as a citizen. maybe you vote for them they gibe you a private landing pad.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 maybe you vote for them they gibe you a private landing pad.... I wonder how many votes it would take to get them to let my group have the helix bridge.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Park88 1st Gear April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 i doubt those smaller party with questionable candidates will get voted..... [rolleyes] compare to ?????? 27year that is definitely getting into parliament without or without being questioned Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 I wonder how many votes it would take to get them to let my group have the helix bridge.. this one need top work ab it more harder.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 (edited) Latest news from TR.. SDP to contest in Sembawang GRC... RP to contest in AMK... Give them one MANY MANY TIGER!!!! Edited April 21, 2011 by Shull Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 there are actually many who believe that once you vote for opposition, you get black listed... those waiting for hdb... all at risk of less pirority if you vote for opposition... wonder how true.... wah lao.. i posted the thread on voting secrecy.. you never pay attention ah?!! like that how to support opp? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 These lot of kns even without the serial no. They will still vote in fear! They will tell u got invisible ink ar. They can trace. Lolx some say... after polling, sent to CID where they dust for thumb prints too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 (edited) On voting secrecy, my thoughts for further discussion: a. To trace your vote, the govt will need access to all the ballots cast during election, which are sealed and locked away for 6 months before they are incinerated prior to inspections by opposition parties, I think. While it may be possible for a secret and covert agency to get every votes scanned and recorded into a database during this period and to reseal the ballot boxes based on today's technology, the logistic would be challenging and would entail significant risks. b. To utilise the database and discriminate against you based on your political belief/vote, a govt-wide system must be developed. ie. Everytime a citizen applies for a HDB flat, govt subsidies, govt job (due for promotion), business permits or whatever pieces of paper requiring govt's approval, someone must access the database and decide the "merit" of the application/request based on this database (positive or negative) and thereafter approve/reject the application accordingly. This would be impossible to keep under wrap for long, people talk, especially civil servants (to refuse citizens with this special category/classification). And if someone higher up is delegated this duty and every application needs to go thru this person (hiding in a basement with no windows perhaps) to give the all-clear, there will be more talks and more rumors. I have not heard of such rumors todate, have you? Based on the above and considering the logistics and risks involved for a govt that values its clean and almost corruption-free reputation around the world (can you imagine what will happen if the cat is let out of the bag?). I conclude there is no central database. Your vote is secret. PS. if the govt needs to check the political affiliation of certain influential/selected people, it would be easier and less risky to do this using the govt's vast intelligence network and assets at its disposal. Edited April 21, 2011 by Voodooman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 Ho seh! Got opposition come to AMK. Still scared this year cannot vote. ^^ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stingerquek Clutched April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 Latest news from TR.. SDP to contest in Sembawang GRC... RP to contest in AMK... Give them one MANY MANY TIGER!!!! Things are getting more and more interesting now Will this be the first GE since 1965 that opps party contesting all GRC & SMC? We should see...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 How many of them will eventually vote for them? Talking about talk is cheap and actions always speak louder than words. OK i will qualify that i am voting opposition. 1 down, another few hundred throusand to go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 How many of them will eventually vote for them? Talking about talk is cheap and actions always speak louder than words. eh, dont come and disturb lah...... i know how i will vote Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 (edited) i doubt those smaller party with questionable candidates will get voted..... [rolleyes] not saying all the small ones are worth our votes, but there's always the first step, no matter how small......... of course every voter is entitled to his own benchmark in placing his bet/vote .......... if the korean car makers were not given a chance when they first started with basic / cheap models to fight mainly on price, most probably they wont be where they are today similarly, the small ones are targetting to be 'voices' in the HOUSE for a start, not ministerial material now (just like the early korean car models never aspired to be RR or Benz when they started...... Edited April 21, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 not saying all the small ones are worth our votes, but there's always the first step, no matter how small......... of course every voter is entitled to his own benchmark in placing his bet/vote .......... if the korean car makers were not given a chance when they first started with basic / cheap models to fight mainly on price, most probably they wont be where they are today similarly, the small ones are targetting to be 'voices' in the HOUSE for a start, not ministerial material now (just like the early korean car models never aspired to be RR or Benz when they started...... u dun give them chance, how they learn? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear April 21, 2011 Share April 21, 2011 Has anyone ever checked? Is it really true the oppo wards has lower value cf with wards are same age and locale? Like I buy the oppo flat across the road is 50K cheaper that kind of thing. Could people living in oppo wards now comment please ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...