Park88 1st Gear April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 Unit at Hougang Green hits $809 psf 11 April 2011 ChannelNewsAsia Homes in suburbs such as Simei and Buangkok are enjoying a resurgence of interest owing to their affordability and accessibility as new malls and MRT lines are built. The appreciation in the prices of such property is prompting some homeowners to cash out at a profit. In Buangkok, prices at the 99-year leasehold Hougang Green recently hit a peak of $837 psf in February when a 764 sq ft unit on the 10th floor was sold for $640,000. This comes after the launch of a new executive condominium development a few streets away ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 Ask yourself how long did the last recession last? 2 years? 99% of these investors will have the cash or CPF to Tahan the installment for 2-3 years! No problem one lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 what has the article gotta do wif being aware of another recession??..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 I think what he mean is bubble getting bigger and bigger and gg to burst anytime which in turn may trigger a recession. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 Just look atht he properties prices in HK and China. Singapore is still very cheap. There is a huge group of china businessman....that will dump their money on singapore properties. If the situation goes bad in Chinda due to recession, these businessman will divert all their money to SIngapore properties. Properties wont die one! If scared...then vote for Marlborol...he will die die sustain the property for another 5 years term. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unidentified 1st Gear April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 SONGZ!subprime crisis in singapore. good luck to those jokers getting 800k-1mil HDB flats in east coast which in reality only worth 300K at most. HAHAHAHA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chengwh492 Clutched April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 YES! Recession will be the best. BUT the ruling party will take the opportunity to blame opposition if opposition is voted in with majority votes while they enjoy their millions in offshore banks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 if the gahmen is serious abt reigning in the runaway prices, they shld impose restrictions on non-resident purchases. i mean, a rich chinaman not residing in sgp can get away wif a 20% d/p for speculation while a sgp family gotta pay 40% d/p for a genuine home upgrade. something not very right here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 Let's look at Changi Rise. Price for a 3rm 1200sqf is about $1mil. Rental is about $3300 pm or $3000 after deduct maintenance fee. If investment cost, Interest rate from Bank is 2%, Annual interest is $20000 or $1700 only. So, from an investor point of view, this condo still return 3.6% of rental yield, which is not bad plus potential capital gain. For someone who has $300k spare money, they could use the $300k as down payment and rent it out with $3k nett income. $700k loan over 25 y @2% interest, their repayment is about $3k. Zero cash flow per month but After 25y, the condo is his. Every year, needs about $2k for the property tax and a few $k for the repairs. Of course, there are risk. If the interest rate is 4%, the above business plan is not viable. It will be better to save the money in conventional FD. So, the high property price is partly caused by the low interest rate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 Recession, nothing to be scared of, .....if you are a "cash based" person... but if you are a "loan based" person, wish you beri good luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 I bought my place in May last year for 850k.. then there are other neighbours sales transactions after that at 955k, 970k, 1.17m, 1.37m, and recently cross 1.4m.All units are same size n same views. Its damn scary looking at how fast it move up in prices. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 (edited) Let's look at Changi Rise. Price for a 3rm 1200sqf is about $1mil. Rental is about $3300 pm or $3000 after deduct maintenance fee. If investment cost, Interest rate from Bank is 2%, Annual interest is $20000 or $1700 only. So, from an investor point of view, this condo still return 3.6% of rental yield, which is not bad plus potential capital gain. For someone who has $300k spare money, they could use the $300k as down payment and rent it out with $3k nett income. $700k loan over 25 y @2% interest, their repayment is about $3k. Zero cash flow per month but After 25y, the condo is his. Every year, needs about $2k for the property tax and a few $k for the repairs. Of course, there are risk. If the interest rate is 4%, the above business plan is not viable. It will be better to save the money in conventional FD. So, the high property price is partly caused by the low interest rate. actually many folks including myself, can easily challenge the way, your single dimension calculation is done. but my question is , have you done it / are doing it? Edited April 19, 2011 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 (edited) I bought my place in May last year for 850k.. then there are other neighbours sales transactions after that at 955k, 970k, 1.17m, 1.37m, and recently cross 1.4m.All units are same size n same views. Its damn scary looking at how fast it move up in prices. good for you so sell loh, waiting for what. until realised, profits are little different from losses except adding a smile on your face Edited April 19, 2011 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 If only it was plain single dimension mathematics (as you suggested), I would buy another 3 more. Isn't this sustaining the property market right now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 Isn't this sustaining the property market right now? yes and no. but I dont make my decisions base on another person's decision. thats my take Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 If you are renting out a property, likelyhood is you already have one. Therefore for $1mil property you need to down $400k. not $300k Therefore, your above calculation is all flawed. If only it was plain single dimension mathematics (as you suggested), I would buy another 3 more. Ok, the policy has changed to 40% down. This is one reason why the govt increase the down from 20% to 40%. At 20%, many is investing on 2nd property. At 30%, still many although less than before but price still headed north. Now 40%... pace has slow but still going up. But this measure only cut off those not too rich from investing. The super/ultra rich will have less competition and will make more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 if the gahmen is serious abt reigning in the runaway prices, they shld impose restrictions on non-resident purchases. i mean, a rich chinaman not residing in sgp can get away wif a 20% d/p for speculation while a sgp family gotta pay 40% d/p for a genuine home upgrade. something not very right here. yep i have also the same view when the policies to rein in the runaway property market was introduced. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear April 19, 2011 Share April 19, 2011 Raised Bank Interest Rates to 5 % n c how many jokers start losing money on their "investment yield instrument". These jokers will not have e capital to hold on to their property investment (at least majority of them) n have no choice but to dispose of them asap else they will be having a negative yield or cash flow. Those who act fast will be able to cash out of their prop w some profits...the slower ones will realize that many of their counterparts who r playing e same ball game due to attending most likely the same property talk seminars by some gurus (on how to earn millions thru property investments) will be burnt.... But don't worry....a few years or so down e road, the cycle repeats itself...that's why we have property boom n bust. LOL. Some will go bankrupt, some may commit suicide, some will gain, some will become filthy rich...Welcome to the School of Hard knocks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...