Air-con: Inverter VS non-inverter

Aaronlkl

let me share from my knowledge since i always deal in air con

inverter...different step up load for compressor when cut in

non inverter...full load when compressor cut in

why inverter save energy is because they load in compressor by stage compare to non inverter,once on,full load, waste energy

however to see maximum effect of inverter, long hour usage of air con to be used..if not v small differences

how to save non inverter..easy..set lowest temperature and highest fan for 2 hour..Please note the temperature u set in remote control is return room temperature...so when u put 25, it's easy to maintain 25 degree...if 24,compressor cut in and out...23 and below good game, compressor keep full load...so waste power

Since u deal in air con, is it necessary to do chemical cleaning?

My service guy says my room air con needs chemical cleaning coz it's choking. The air is not coming in 100%

I got my whole house installed with China-brand aircon which is damn cool and cheap. 5 units for about $2700.. I think normal japanese brand would have cost almost S$5000.

I on my 5 aircons about 8-10 hours on average a day and the bills are around S$300. Dont think invertor can save. My friend has recommended me someone to call to install a gadget which could potentially reduce power bills to just a few dollars a month even when you on all the aircons.. Anyone tried this?

I dint try as the cost is like S$5000 but if u are a heavy user, in the long term u save.. esp when your bills are like S$300-S$1000 a month.. after 1 year u can recover your investment.

Yes

Coil if require please do so if not can choke ur pipe choke,aircon icing,not cold

Yday only my workplace kana leaking ,deal to coil dirty and need chemical cleaning

But normal servicing just diy can liaoz v easy one

Btw 25 degree is office temperature setting recommended by regulation

25return is not 25degree supply,if u set 25,notice ur supply is 20-23

So v comfort level already

My service guy says my room air con needs chemical cleaning coz it's choking. The air is not coming in 100%

My 2 cents. If yours is split unit, the room fan coil does not need chemical cleaning.

Just make sure the air filter is periodically clean and not covered by dust which acts as insulator.

You can use Jackie 3-1 aircon foam to clean the coils. It will minimize choke point on the water outlet due to dirt/dust.

It's the compressor outside that needs cleaning.

However, the chemical cleaner, which is sodium hydroxide, tends to eat aluminium.

So have to use with care, since the fins are all aluminium.

You can even diy chemical clean. Just get the chemical, gloves, mask, googles.

If I may comment.

My Inverter aircon after operating for 4+ year (Already more than earn back my installation cost)

The air blowing out is getting less efficient and utlity bill also start to climb.

Recently did a chemical wash ( for my master bed room unit and the other room), now everything like new and bill back to normal [:)]

All my like bulb at home are energy efficient, I can also choose warm while or day light for the ambient.

Nowaday so much choice of bulb to choose from

save the earth [:)]

if you use the AC for night time only, i.e. when u sleep and do not use it on cool nights, then just got for normal AC.. the premium for the inverter AC would not give you the payback to justify its use

during my teens, i can sleep thru 18 degree c and also turn on my car aircon very low.

now i can only tahan 25 degree c when i sleep in my room and my car aircon is around 22.

Thanks.

any one to recommend for chemical cleaning?

my servicing guy is quoting me $120 per unit. I'm only going to do my bedroom unit.

not that i dont trust my servicing guy, i just wan to make sure the price is fair.

Recently just found out from a friend his Sanyo system 2 with 3 ticks. Only operate one unit for abt 10 hrs a day for 7 days a wk. His utility bill only $60+++ only [thumbsup] . Decided to go for a 3 ticks non-inverter system.

You are like my neighbour downstair. Open air-con big big.

My floor very cold due to my neighbour's air-con downstair.

I use sponge mattress type to sleep, shiok shiok.

Free cooling.

yr floor slab so thin ar? anyways good for u lor :D

i never believing in setting it above 21 degree, as a matter of fact, it usually stays at 20. it wan to set at 25, i seriously wont buy air con, i will buy fan. my own opinion though.

i very scare of hot 1 ar [:p]

Edited by Tom_kkh

Yep, not just aircon. Fridge too, since it is on 24/7. Get one with 4 ticks. I know Hitachi fridges all 4 ticks.

this i agree. My LG fridge not energy efficient. 1 month suck $70 of electrical bill [knife]

Used to have the non inverter type. After changing to the inverter type, save up to $20 a month (Only turn on one a/c for 8 hours a day).

Yes

Coil if require please do so if not can choke ur pipe choke,aircon icing,not cold

Yday only my workplace kana leaking ,deal to coil dirty and need chemical cleaning

But normal servicing just diy can liaoz v easy one

when do we know when chemical cleaning required?

When the service people said so...

I will go with inverter. Inverter help to save energy and one type of uninterruptible power supply uses batteries to store power and an inverter to supply AC power from the batteries when mains power is not available. When mains power is restored, a rectifier is used to supply DC power to recharge the batteries.

• Dislike 1