Kiadaw 6th Gear April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 i fully agree with you, and with your last part on the car and freedom of speech, i believe that alot of ppl arent happy with them too, just that they wun dare to speak up, but i think maybe most or all of us forgot how we have developed from the 60s to what we have now, all thanks to pap. Hey right, because our Grandparents & parents are party all day, or drink kopi, read papers at home during this period. Everything we have is owe to PAP. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 Wow, who is the 8 person that actually voted 'Yes, he is really sincere!'? The 2nd remark is too extreme lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 Hahaha.. unfortunately pple remb only negatives... let me ask you. If you have closed many projects with flying colors and one fine day you screwed up a project BIG TIMEs, does your boss remb your works in the past and not penalised you on the f--kup job you have done recently? Bro, this IS LIFE... get real. U PAP supporter? How come PAP never ask you to go and join them for walk around the estate since you are very positive abt our MIW? it real sad... that just because i find that there is more positives then negatives i am labelled as super pro pap that i have to join them for walkabouts... cannot blame people actually.. some are selfish that they think for themselves and some think on a bigger picture.. yes my boss do rem my positives even if i screw up a project big time... guess not everyone is lucky to have such a boss... i feel you... i really feel you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unidentified 1st Gear April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 i fully agree with you, and with your last part on the car and freedom of speech, i believe that alot of ppl arent happy with them too, just that they wun dare to speak up, but i think maybe most or all of us forgot how we have developed from the 60s to what we have now, all thanks to pap. from the 70s to 90s where sgp shoot from 3rd to 1st world.i don't see much china/india FTs around. now there's a surge for burma and philipinos FTs as well. i don't see any needs for these so called FTs for singapore to sustain it's growth. singaporeans are capable enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 from the 70s to 90s where sgp shoot from 3rd to 1st world.i don't see much china/india FTs around. now there's a surge for burma and philipinos FTs as well. i don't see any needs for these so called FTs for singapore to sustain it's growth. singaporeans are capable enough. our GDP expansion is highly dependent of the size of population. However, after the 2 is enough policy, the population did not grow much so how to expand ... Remember, once SG cannot expand GDP and have decrease GDP with more Old ppl, we will have to package ourselves pretty and handover to North Brudder without conditions. Therefore, we need to take some responsibilty for not having enough babies in the 80s, 90s, 2000s. If we procreate enough the FTs will come here as Coolies only. I think it is this mindset of GDP UPz = No need to Kowtow to North Brudder that drives our Garment to pursue it without much mercy to the left and right... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 I agree to the 1st, 3rd, 4th point and the last negative point. 2 points for positive I will like to add... Cpf and the strength of our currency n passport They deserve another chance Maybe i should rephrase my words. Some of them should go, esp those that screw up, i dont think i need to list them down. Right now, it's too early for the opp to take over running the country should the need arises. But i think a one-party rule, while it's good for a new and young country(which Singapore has already grown out of), is not the way forward for us. There need to be other parties to keep PAP in check, especially when passing unpopular policies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iisterry 3rd Gear April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 (edited) If we look pass all the straw-man arguments and ad-hominem attacks which are aimed at deflecting attention, we find that there is a clear and present need to distinguish between the OLD PAP and the CURRENT PAP. ______________________________________________________________ Toh Chin Chye - Science & Technology, Health & Education. Responsible for the industrialization of Singapore as well as for holding the PAP & Singapore together during the early tumultuous days whose contribution was also acknowledged by Lee Kuan Yew. Goh Keng Swee - Defence & Education, Finance. Credited with the successful industrialization of Singapore and the formulation of Singapore's national economic development strategy advised by Albert Winsemius, a Dutch economist. S. Rajaratnam - Foreign Affairs, Culture, Labour Minister. He played a key role in the successive pragmatic and technocratic People's Action Party governments that radically improved Singapore's economic situation, alongside huge developments in social development on the island with massive expansion of healthcare programmes, pensions, state housing and extremely low unemployment. Rajaratnam brought in the foreign investors and made diplomacy our only defense when we do not have soldiers. Lim Kim San - He was credited for leading the successful public housing program (HDB). And many others who sacrificed themselves and recognised the virtue of "Country Before Self". ______________________________________________________________ Fast forward to today, we have Lim Swee Say, Mah Bow Tan, Vivian Balakrishnan, Wong Kan Seng and many others who were "recruited" using *ahem*... carrots. The new batch is practically riding on the success of their forefathers. Had it not been for Lee Kuan Yew positioning himself at the helm to send a clear and visible indicator for the old generation to relate to, I am quite sure that PAP would have lost its "mandate" long ago. Lee Kuan Yew himself has rode the waves of Singapore's rise & fall. Whether he is solely responsible and credited with the recognition is another issue. I think most of us can tell when Singapore began its downfall. And our next generation of "leaders" as opposed to "opposition newbies", we have Tin Pei Ling, Army Generals, Union Chiefs, Foo Mee Har? I shudder at the prospect of Lee Hong Yi taking over the reins of Prime Ministership. Edited April 18, 2011 by Iisterry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 Maybe i should rephrase my words. Some of them should go, esp those that screw up, i dont think i need to list them down. Right now, it's too early for the opp to take over running the country should the need arises. But i think a one-party rule, while it's good for a new and young country(which Singapore has already grown out of), is not the way forward for us. There need to be other parties to keep PAP in check, especially when passing unpopular policies. yes of course some should go.... but i guess sometimes you got to take the good with the bad... of course the other way is to vote the lousy ones out... but based on MCF... it does not seem to be this way for most opposition fans... thats my worry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 it real sad... that just because i find that there is more positives then negatives i am labelled as super pro pap that i have to join them for walkabouts... cannot blame people actually.. some are selfish that they think for themselves and some think on a bigger picture.. yes my boss do rem my positives even if i screw up a project big time... guess not everyone is lucky to have such a boss... i feel you... i really feel you... bro.... after all the hooha... it finally boils down to 1 question: Would you like to live with just 1 party dictating every thing their way, or would you prefer to have more voices in parliament to provide a sanity check. Just answer this - and you have your answer on how to vote. In case of doubt, you may try 50:50, poll the audience or call a friend. But you have to decide, on way or the other ... no sitting on the fence if you truly value your worth to this country. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 bro.... after all the hooha... it finally boils down to 1 question: Would you like to live with just 1 party dictating every thing their way, or would you prefer to have more voices in parliament to provide a sanity check. Just answer this - and you have your answer on how to vote. In case of doubt, you may try 50:50, poll the audience or call a friend. But you have to decide, on way or the other ... no sitting on the fence if you truly value your worth to this country. i can answer you.. yes i would like more voices in parliament.... but 2 concerns... 1) if everyone thinks like me and all vote opposition.. then it become 1 party again.. LPPL 2) the opposition has to be credible.... now we have a problem with this.... till now i dunno which opposition is contesting my ward... in the event, election is really in May... it means at most i will know my opp candidate for at most 1 month... do i feel comfortable to vote for someone i know for 1 month? i really dun think so.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chengwh492 Clutched April 18, 2011 Author Share April 18, 2011 (edited) Lets be clear here. the problem ones are at cabinet level. no one knows WTF they are doing inside. whoever your MP does not matter, even a pig can be your MP, since they are the messenger for you in parlament. What you need is to see national wide policies be heard and voted by the people. whether you get that peanut upgrading or sheet in your hdb or landed area is nothing. sadly in order for you to get them to listen to the people, you need different voices instead of the usual yesmen MP. i can answer you.. yes i would like more voices in parliament.... but 2 concerns... 1) if everyone thinks like me and all vote opposition.. then it become 1 party again.. LPPL 2) the opposition has to be credible.... now we have a problem with this.... till now i dunno which opposition is contesting my ward... in the event, election is really in May... it means at most i will know my opp candidate for at most 1 month... do i feel comfortable to vote for someone i know for 1 month? i really dun think so.... Edited April 18, 2011 by Chengwh492 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 i can answer you.. yes i would like more voices in parliament.... but 2 concerns... 1) if everyone thinks like me and all vote opposition.. then it become 1 party again.. LPPL 2) the opposition has to be credible.... now we have a problem with this.... till now i dunno which opposition is contesting my ward... in the event, election is really in May... it means at most i will know my opp candidate for at most 1 month... do i feel comfortable to vote for someone i know for 1 month? i really dun think so.... i'll answer your concerns: 1. I can talk to you, because you are sensible and are willing to listen to reason. We know for a fact that there are diehard PAP fans who will still vote the RP's way even if LHL were to take a Leopard tank and personally do a tianenmen along orchard road. So please do not be afraid that overnight 80+ seats will suddenly fall into opposition hands. THIS WILL NOT HAPPEN. You can take that to the bank and buy an overpriced HDB flat. 2. You can review the candidates of the opposition. Unless you tell me that ALL of them are below the calibre of Tin Tin, I am sure you'll find at least one who can make it as a good enough parliamentarian to provide that voice of balance in gahmen. 3. You are seriously telling me that since at least 2006 elections you have had your head buried in the ground, and only now 1 month just before the elections you come up for air and notice there are opposition candidates around? Please, do not insult your own intelligence. The opposition have been around for decades, and the candidates have been doing their bit for the last umpteem years to get in touch with the people. What's this nonsense that you only know the opposition candidates for a month? In the same vein you might as well say you only know Janil, TinTin and Foo Me Har a month as well - so why choose them? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forrestcat 2nd Gear April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 i can answer you.. yes i would like more voices in parliament.... but 2 concerns... 1) if everyone thinks like me and all vote opposition.. then it become 1 party again.. LPPL 2) the opposition has to be credible.... now we have a problem with this.... till now i dunno which opposition is contesting my ward... in the event, election is really in May... it means at most i will know my opp candidate for at most 1 month... do i feel comfortable to vote for someone i know for 1 month? i really dun think so.... My place belongs to TP Grc which has been a walkover since 2006. Do i know my MPs? No because i have not seen them since 2006.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 i'll answer your concerns: 1. I can talk to you, because you are sensible and are willing to listen to reason. We know for a fact that there are diehard PAP fans who will still vote the RP's way even if LHL were to take a Leopard tank and personally do a tianenmen along orchard road. So please do not be afraid that overnight 80+ seats will suddenly fall into opposition hands. THIS WILL NOT HAPPEN. You can take that to the bank and buy an overpriced HDB flat. first thing.. i am honoured you find me sensible and my first point was more of tongue in cheek 2. You can review the candidates of the opposition. Unless you tell me that ALL of them are below the calibre of Tin Tin, I am sure you'll find at least one who can make it as a good enough parliamentarian to provide that voice of balance in gahmen. i agree not all of them are below Tin Tin.... but my comparsion to be fair should be against the the MIW in my ward vs the opposition in my ward.. since my vote has no control over other wards 3. You are seriously telling me that since at least 2006 elections you have had your head buried in the ground, and only now 1 month just before the elections you come up for air and notice there are opposition candidates around? Please, do not insult your own intelligence. The opposition have been around for decades, and the candidates have been doing their bit for the last umpteem years to get in touch with the people. What's this nonsense that you only know the opposition candidates for a month? In the same vein you might as well say you only know Janil, TinTin and Foo Me Har a month as well - so why choose them? no my head is not buried in the ground if not i will not be able to breathe.. lol. yes the opposition has been around... and i have to admit.. i am not into politics... i will choose when the time comes.... but erm.. i never mentioned that i will be voting Janil, tin and Foo me Har... in fact there is a chance that i will not vote for them but if ,and i guess is a most likely scenario, that they comes as a team then i will have to vote based on how i feel about the MIW team rather than just 1 person... same thing goes for the opposition.... if you telling me LTK, Sylvia etc is contesting in my ward then yes it is worth a consideration... but if for eg.. it is a single ward.. of lets say tin tin vs a opp newcomer.. again i have to consider my vote based on their credentials.. i confirm will not say is i rather vote for a monkey or animal rather than MIW or OP depending on which side of the fence i am on.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 The positives posted by Shull is very true indeed. I just came back from Vietnam and Indonesia. And I really feel very very happy to be staying in Singapore. Its still the very best, optimised and well-rounded country to be in. 1) Safe and Clean. The air even smell fresh and nice. The ground is clean, my nice sneakers stay clean. Mugging in singapore not a big issue as most thief just want money or grab gold chain. Other country mugging, might cost your life. 2) Decent and clean road and public transportation. The road is well maintained, can travel at higher speed. Public transport is way cleaner compared to other countries. Even taxi's are clean and smell fresh. 3) Corrupt free and SUPER efficient. Things get done ASAP, no question asked when you show all documents properly. 4) Town are logically planned. Roads and carparks design are A-class standard. Each town has its supermarket and supporting police post, post office, food center, parks, etc. 5) Value for money. When you pay $300 for a hotel room, you get the value. When you pay $5 for the MacDonald, you get the clean and safe assurance. When you pay $3000 for the Channel bag, you know its 101% genuine. When you call a plumber/repairman, the one that come is really skilled and prepared to do the job. 6) Changi airport is a shopping paradise, I love going there early to browse and hang out. Got FREE wi-fi. Other city airports are mostly patentic, shops are few and aircons are half-fark hot, long queues at customs and conniving taxi's drivers at exits. I just love my country. I think the gov has out-done themselves and are falling into a self-dug hole. I say send all unhappy citizens to vietnam or indon or even malaysia to let them see the real situation, so that they can appreciate the Singapore life. Instead of the $600-900 cash rebate....the gov should issue cheap tigers/airasia airt tickets for everyone to phillipines, indonesia, vietnam....to see the so called....better countries........so that most can have a comparision between Singapore and other countries. Most who go holidays only see the good things, nice hotels, nice restaurants, nice scenary, nice freindly hotel/restaurant staff, nice shopping centers. These are the wrong image that most have and came back comparing it with Singapore, unfairly. Positives: *Safe and secure environment. I'm not gonna deny this, other than HK, i think Singapore is the only major city that you can walk along roads late at night without fear of being mugged. *Good and affordable education, even up to university level, it's highly subsidised. *Decent(minus the overcrowding at peak hours and sometimes too damn long a wait) and clean public transport. *Corrupt free and quite efficient(things get processed quite fast if you come prepared) civil service. *Town planning is done very well, with each individual town being self sufficient. Bro i dunno if you are trying to be sarcastic or what ah, while i really agree with u on the airports and cleanliness, there are some i dont agree with lei. First of all carpark design sucks, there are so much crowding now in HDBN, alot of people have not enough lots due to lack for foresight. BUT alot of people in SG like to link airports etc etc all to PAP which is not true sometimes, what a party needs to provide is actually DIRECTION, its the men below that fufils that direction. On that itself, the current batch has failed miserably. Rather than just repeat what alot of people have already put out, I will just give 2 points. Birth rate was something controlled by them with the stop at 2 policy and they failed to overturn that or even put in sufficient measures to halt it when they realised what a mistake it had been. The current baby bonus with all the useless CPF top ups, whats the point? We want free tuitions, books, subsidies. What the heck can CPF do? All parents still have to fork out their own cold hard cash and it is still gonna be a struggle they wont bother. Second, HDB prices. While understanding the need to have the HDB prop up the general market in some extent, why cant HDB just offer an option to sell the HDB AT COST? a top up to prevailing market prices will be gapped by HDB. If in the future the family decides to move when they are more financially stable, HDB only has to return them the COST+2.5% (interest paid through HDB loan) + 2.5% (calculated based on monthly total/repayment). This way wouldnt HDB earn more through their own "asset enchancement policy"? It will also be a 2nd source of CPF savings for the people who chose to go that way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 from the 70s to 90s where sgp shoot from 3rd to 1st world.i don't see much china/india FTs around. now there's a surge for burma and philipinos FTs as well. i don't see any needs for these so called FTs for singapore to sustain it's growth. singaporeans are capable enough. FT are still needed which I believe that lots of jobs which sporeans dun want to do it(blue collar). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 Lets be clear here. the problem ones are at cabinet level. no one knows WTF they are doing inside. whoever your MP does not matter, even a pig can be your MP, since they are the messenger for you in parlament. What you need is to see national wide policies be heard and voted by the people. whether you get that peanut upgrading or sheet in your hdb or landed area is nothing. sadly in order for you to get them to listen to the people, you need different voices instead of the usual yesmen MP. the highlighted is enough to tell me that it is not worth my effort to have a discussion with you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic April 18, 2011 Share April 18, 2011 FT are still needed which I believe that lots of jobs which sporeans dun want to do it(blue collar). FT and FW are 2 distinct species! 1 is to do the jobs that most singaporean shun and the other is here to take our place in the labour force! don just spew out wat our dear pm had oredy mentioned. it sounds like an irritating broken piece of old vinyl record! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...