Rein Neutral Newbie May 2, 2011 Share May 2, 2011 i vote for C180 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arikel Neutral Newbie May 3, 2011 Share May 3, 2011 I just got back from the BMW showroom at Alexandra... so here's my take BMW 3 series current sedan model is nearing the end of cycle. They will be launching the new 3 sedan next year, followed coupe & convertible in 2013. With that said, there's a ton of inclusions for the current 3 sedan (all the bells & whilstles are thrown in, plus good overtrade). There's also the 320 M with sportier trimmings + sun roof. Overall, if you compare to Audi A4 currently, you get a better value per buck. Personally, if you can wait a year, be the launch owner of the new 3 Sedan - but bear in mind that Performance will probably not include all the bells & whistles. As for Audi.. I'm bias as I have alway been an Audi owner =) but just days ago, I found myself walking into BMW's doors for a test drive. yes, I've been cheating =P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CJH_1967 Neutral Newbie May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 Bro, go for mercedes C class or audi. Don't buy BMW alr. BMW 3 interior SUPER basic, somemore BMW reliabity droped big time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 Bro, go for mercedes C class or audi. Don't buy BMW alr. BMW 3 interior SUPER basic, somemore BMW reliabity droped big time. Why do u think that BMW reliability dropped big time? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CJH_1967 Neutral Newbie May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 Well, friends feedback to me that their 5 series had gearbox probs, and computer probs. This are common probs for 5 series drivers. No offence to BMW fans. Did not elaborate clearly in the earlier post. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 Why do u think that BMW reliability dropped big time? my fren interior crumbling from parking in the sun for his e60 leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rysk Neutral Newbie May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 Well, friends feedback to me that their 5 series had gearbox probs, and computer probs. This are common probs for 5 series drivers. No offence to BMW fans. Did not elaborate clearly in the earlier post. Not sure about the 3 series.. & yah, my fren previous model 5 series (drove less than 1-yr) got gear box problem. Luckily still under warranty & got replaced by agent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 my fren interior crumbling from parking in the sun for his e60 leh This is fact & not hearsay. I Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chpeck Clutched May 4, 2011 Share May 4, 2011 320 de back seat is wah lan so cramp. not sure about the A4 but since it's a FWD so shld be much more spacious. if want 3 series go for coupe la. Sacrificing RWD for that reason? Isn't coupe even worse? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W210k 1st Gear May 5, 2011 Share May 5, 2011 Well, friends feedback to me that their 5 series had gearbox probs, and computer probs. This are common probs for 5 series drivers. No offence to BMW fans. Did not elaborate clearly in the earlier post. Ever since BMW switched (or rather, downgraded) the gearboxes of their 2.5L-and-below models to GM (General Motors), their entry level cars have been experiencing gearbox problems. I may be wrong, but I believe only their 335/535 and above models have ZF GBs. Similarly only the X5. The X3/X1 GBs are confirmed from GM. Another often-reported unreliability/failure is the Valvetronic motor, leading to (in the worst case) misfiring timings in certain cylinders. This usually happens near, or when, warranty expires. These facts can be gotten if you know the folks in PML's service workshop. Similarly for Audi, their biggest reliability issue is the DSG mechatronics and clutch (VW alike) - especially the 7-speed dry clutch type used in the 1.8T A4/A3 and below (e.g. A1) cars. Again, this is a very well know pain-in-the-neck issue amongst owners in the VAG circle. Its a widely published and ranted-on topic, short of a global recall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hummer 3rd Gear May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 Ever since BMW switched (or rather, downgraded) the gearboxes of their 2.5L-and-below models to GM (General Motors), their entry level cars have been experiencing gearbox problems. I may be wrong, but I believe only their 335/535 and above models have ZF GBs. Similarly only the X5. The X3/X1 GBs are confirmed from GM. Another often-reported unreliability/failure is the Valvetronic motor, leading to (in the worst case) misfiring timings in certain cylinders. This usually happens near, or when, warranty expires. These facts can be gotten if you know the folks in PML's service workshop. Similarly for Audi, their biggest reliability issue is the DSG mechatronics and clutch (VW alike) - especially the 7-speed dry clutch type used in the 1.8T A4/A3 and below (e.g. A1) cars. Again, this is a very well know pain-in-the-neck issue amongst owners in the VAG circle. Its a widely published and ranted-on topic, short of a global recall. If I am not wrong, the A4 1.8T is using an 8 speed CVT box. The A4 2.0T is using the so called "DSG". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pckwpckw Neutral Newbie June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 Dear brothers and Sisters, I am going to replace my 3 years BMW 118i . Which car should i choose a Audi A4 1.8 TFI or BMW 320i . Thanks please advice. All the two are base model which performance is not very good ,i recommend u to buy a Subaru 2.5gt. 0-100 is around 6 sec. and is value for money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 no la dun buy subaru, buy rolls royce better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaydenSTI 1st Gear June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 All the two are base model which performance is not very good ,i recommend u to buy a Subaru 2.5gt. 0-100 is around 6 sec. and is value for money. ppl wan prestige u recommend bengish....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Steptronic Supercharged June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 Thank Ladykillers, I have a budget la only can choose one of this. Yes i know A4 2.0 is good 211 HP. But i just want a 156 HP or 160 HP. Because my 118 is 136HP and some budget i think is already fin for me at this movement now. If i can i will get the 325 but not now Bro Then simple, A4! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched June 1, 2011 Share June 1, 2011 All the two are base model which performance is not very good ,i recommend u to buy a Subaru 2.5gt. 0-100 is around 6 sec. and is value for money. if aiming at audi a4 and bmw 320, obviously is going for prestige, luxury or branding liao.. you offer a value for money fast car for what? lol. must be you also drive subaru or the 2.5 GT is your dream car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Majordan 2nd Gear June 2, 2011 Share June 2, 2011 when u are considering 320 and A4, 'value for money' is out the door liao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...