Duckduck Turbocharged April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 Now in 2011, they decided that the market is too hot or elections coming, so they introduce a a stream of cooling measures. As recent as Mar this year, MBT said we have 33000 unsold flats, telling us COV has came down etc. note that there is no financial crisis right now. What is MBT signalling? You think about it and VOTE WISELY. they r cooling their own measures lor... hdb was so badly managed less than 10yrs ago, they got too scared of oversupply, so intro supply crunching policy known as BTO, got demand then build. Problem is an HDB building takes 3 yrs to build, in between all hell breaks loose, then garmen come out & cool the market go n blame everyone except their own backward policies. I respect him more if he come out n admit that HDB/URA was mismanaged & current BTO is inaqeduate in addressing mkt demand dynamics, but of cse he wont just like all the MIWs ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 they r cooling their own measures lor... hdb was so badly managed less than 10yrs ago, they got too scared of oversupply, so intro supply crunching policy known as BTO, got demand then build. Problem is an HDB building takes 3 yrs to build, in between all hell breaks loose, then garmen come out & cool the market go n blame everyone except their own backward policies. I respect him more if he come out n admit that HDB/URA was mismanaged & current BTO is inaqeduate in addressing mkt demand dynamics, but of cse he wont just like all the MIWs Just watch, after elections, they will chut pattern to sell their 33000 flats. MBT: '33,000 is hell of a lot of unsold flats' Let all hell break loose to clear them all! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 Personally I think that HDB SHOULD hold reasonably substanial stock of flats, succh that the determinant of whether or not someone can buy is their eligibility. I would like the process to be: Does this person qualify? - YES - Ok, here is a list of the flats available, choose which one you want. If you don't like any, we build a new cluster every two months, you are quite welcome to queue / ballot for one of those if you like, but you won't get any priority, it is just luck of the draw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear April 15, 2011 Author Share April 15, 2011 they r cooling their own measures lor... hdb was so badly managed less than 10yrs ago, they got too scared of oversupply, so intro supply crunching policy known as BTO, got demand then build. Problem is an HDB building takes 3 yrs to build, in between all hell breaks loose, then garmen come out & cool the market go n blame everyone except their own backward policies. I respect him more if he come out n admit that HDB/URA was mismanaged & current BTO is inaqeduate in addressing mkt demand dynamics, but of cse he wont just like all the MIWs Cannot admit lah, people still got election to win you know? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondauto 1st Gear April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 Gov should heavily subsidized the newly weds or first time HDB owner (excluding new citizen please) applying for new flats - only for true blue S'poreans (both Husband & Wife - both parties must be born in S'pore and husband has served NS) . Example - Gov can peg new flats at market price (say $300K) - newly weds will only pay 150K to 180K + low interest rate too. They will not be allowed to sell or rent till they stay 10 years (instead of normal 5 years). Those upgraders and new citizens will pay full market price Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 Just watch, after elections, they will chut pattern to sell their 33000 flats. MBT: '33,000 is hell of a lot of unsold flats' Let all hell break loose to clear them all! I've said it and i will say it again. With a face like that, do you honestly think his words and policies can be trusted? More good years for MBT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 Gov should heavily subsidized the newly weds or first time HDB owner (excluding new citizen please) applying for new flats - only for true blue S'poreans (both Husband & Wife - both parties must be born in S'pore and husband has served NS) . Example - Gov can peg new flats at market price (say $300K) - newly weds will only pay 150K to 180K + low interest rate too. They will not be allowed to sell or rent till they stay 10 years (instead of normal 5 years). Those upgraders and new citizens will pay full market price OK, very serious question, and please not to get personal. How about somebody like me? Am "newly wed" (as in wifey and I not buy house together, no kids) My wife is full citizen, I am PR. We now have two SG citizen children. What sort of category would you put us in? If we pay full price, no priority is that fair to my wife? Who BTW has other country PR but wanted to come home and care for her parents? Her mother is now also living with us, and she is also a SG citizen, if we not have a place to live, she wouldn't have a place to live. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear April 15, 2011 Author Share April 15, 2011 I've said it and i will say it again. With a face like that, do you honestly think his words and policies can be trusted? More good years for MBT. Who is that woman? Looks hot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear April 15, 2011 Author Share April 15, 2011 OK, very serious question, and please not to get personal. How about somebody like me? Am "newly wed" (as in wifey and I not buy house together, no kids) My wife is full citizen, I am PR. We now have two SG citizen children. What sort of category would you put us in? If we pay full price, no priority is that fair to my wife? Who BTW has other country PR but wanted to come home and care for her parents? Her mother is now also living with us, and she is also a SG citizen, if we not have a place to live, she wouldn't have a place to live. U can take up SG citizenship u know Or your wife can remarry a Sporean Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 U can take up SG citizenship u know Or your wife can remarry a Sporean Hee...not neccessarily a solution. In either case..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 Who is that woman? Looks hot. I was about to ask, is that a translucent top? yum yum Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondauto 1st Gear April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 OK, very serious question, and please not to get personal. How about somebody like me? Am "newly wed" (as in wifey and I not buy house together, no kids) My wife is full citizen, I am PR. We now have two SG citizen children. What sort of category would you put us in? If we pay full price, no priority is that fair to my wife? Who BTW has other country PR but wanted to come home and care for her parents? Her mother is now also living with us, and she is also a SG citizen, if we not have a place to live, she wouldn't have a place to live. I already mentioned - true blue S'poreans. Hv u served NS? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear April 15, 2011 Author Share April 15, 2011 Hee...not neccessarily a solution. In either case..... Oh come on, think of the bright side, your children will benefit from this because they are SG citizens. Just make sure they don't marry some bloke from NZ. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 OK, very serious question, and please not to get personal. How about somebody like me? Am "newly wed" (as in wifey and I not buy house together, no kids) My wife is full citizen, I am PR. We now have two SG citizen children. What sort of category would you put us in? If we pay full price, no priority is that fair to my wife? Who BTW has other country PR but wanted to come home and care for her parents? Her mother is now also living with us, and she is also a SG citizen, if we not have a place to live, she wouldn't have a place to live. I'm sure they can calculate something out. Your wife and your 2 children should not be penalized. As for you bro...always welcome to join us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 I already mentioned - true blue S'poreans. Hv u served NS? I haven't - but what does that make my wife, two Singaporean children and Singaporen MIL (who has never "enjoyed" HDB benefits) - chopped liver? I am one person out of 5 in my family - do the other 4 not count for anything? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 Oh come on, think of the bright side, your children will benefit from this because they are SG citizens. Just make sure they don't marry some bloke from NZ. hee...I want them to have a "fulfilling" marriage with lotsa grandkids - I think no choice but to marry a NZ bloke. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Powersteer Clutched April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 Since most of you are car house and house owners .. take a read here, look at how rational our PUBLIC housing system has became. Dont you think this is the reason why they gotta milk us and sell HDB pegged to mkt rate? otherwise it will collapse?? http://yawningbread.wordpress.com/2011/04/...illion-bailout/ The coming S$270 billion bailout There are very few cars in the second-hand market more than five years old. Given that cars have to be either scrapped or exported when they reach ten years of age, there are probably too few buyers for such cars, in the absence of which it is extremely difficult to discover a market price for them. The ten-year rule is related to the fact that Certificates of Entitlement (COE) have a life of ten years, though strictly speaking, the rule is separate from COEs. COEs, as most Singaporeans know (but foreign readers may not) are auctioned rights to own a vehicle. There Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 As for you bro...always welcome to join us. Thanks Bro Not that I think I am special, or should get any sort of special treatment - just want to try and illustrate that "served NS" is a little bit of a simplistic way of looking at it (not that it shouldn't be one of the factors though) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...