5w30 or 5w40?

Edca

i stick with 5W20/ 0W20 for more than 150K on my vios... so far, no leak, no burst, no explosion on my engine...

You won't get leaks, but if you notice increased in oil consumption, then the oil is getting thru the piston rings and you will need thicker oils.

nope... no visible oil consumption for the past 150K... I am so sure bcos i change my own oil & check my own oil (at least twice monthly)

Juz for sharing . . . be careful of Giant or Carrefour selling 1quart for $10.99 per 0.95 lit, if it's too good to be true, highly likely, it's gonna to be false!

Happi driving

So normally when they sell at $19, the oil is good ?

When they drop the price to $11, it suddenly becomes bad ?

Yeah, right always pay more. That way you always get the best. [laugh]

So normally when they sell at $19, the oil is good ?

When they drop the price to $11, it suddenly becomes bad ?

Yeah, right always pay more. That way you always get the best. [laugh]

Yes bro, you're right, pay more always get the best, Just change on Mobil 1 Syn 0-40, 6 litres, car feel smoothly and increasing torque, Shiok to Zoommmm [;)][;)]

bro how much u bought for mobil 1 0w40 eo?

Negative comment are well meant not to hurt others, juz for sharing, positive comments are also meant to be granted wif pinch of salt, I had purchased oil form both outlet and used it myself, noted slight different in performance, some additives are not recommended too.

You means 200,000 KM ?

Wow... if still can continue use 0W20 means Redline is working well.

Yup, second belts changed, no oil leaks, fc as good as new car, engine still running quiet, but ester based oil does not comes cheap. Thicker oil tends to built up sludge

i stick with 5W20/ 0W20 for more than 150K on my vios... so far, no leak, no burst, no explosion on my engine...

Perhaps just share this.

Most proven jap car engine compartment isn't that horribly hot, even during afternoon jam.

If your car is mesarati, then using 5w30 and at high temp, the oil will be too thin.

Or if you are turbo on race track, you have the same scenario, at too high temp, and using 5w30 simply doesn't give u the sufficient viscosity.

The same however can not be applied for cars like colder engine design car. Even during jam, 0w20 does give you good viscosity.

I bought 24 litres of 5w30 from giant, and I intend to use till I scrap my 93k km 4.5 years glx.

In addition, I use mos2 with 5w30. I drive normally, and done 642km and re fuelled 42.127 litre of caltex techron platinum.

Yup, second belts changed, no oil leaks, fc as good as new car, engine still running quiet, but ester based oil does not comes cheap. Thicker oil tends to built up sludge

You must have kept your car in tip top and total stock condition.

your mechanic is partially right, if you're driving 3 yrs & below car, go for 5w40 ( U need slightly thicker oil.)

3-4 years car go for 10W30 or 10/40, for Economy & performance, after driving for so many years, it is not the type of cars one drives, it how we drive is important. if any thicker it should cost less. Conclusion: Not that competitive.

One should check the engine oil every forth-nightly, by pulling out the dip stick in the morning only before we ' ramp up ' the engine, if the oil is burnt or have a erosive smell, it's time to change or the oil engine is not suitable.

If the oil is golden tan color and evenly spread and still sticky feeling on your finger, it is ok.

Juz for sharing . . . be careful of Giant or Carrefour selling 1quart for $10.99 per 0.95 lit, if it's too good to be true, highly likely, it's gonna to be false!

Happi driving

10W/30-40 oils mostly are semi syn....

fully Syn usually 5W/30-40...

i would like to add... car owners in SG paying $100 over for just oil change.... all kanna con like hell...

cost of modern fully syn engine oil 5w/40 is so low... i am so suprised SG must pay so much...

i would like to add... car owners in SG paying $100 over for just oil change.... all kanna con like hell...

cost of modern fully syn engine oil 5w/40 is so low... i am so suprised SG must pay so much...

the third world country would like to buy your car very much.. almost new after 7-9 years.

what 3rd world country???????

whats my car???????????????

why new after 7-9years???????????????

what talking you??????????????????????

pls make yourself clear thanks............

what 3rd world country???????

whats my car???????????????

why new after 7-9years???????????????

what talking you??????????????????????

pls make yourself clear thanks............

Apology. I take back the message.

You must have kept your car in tip top and total stock condition.

Onli changed bigger tb and aftermarket manifold, drop in filter, coilover and always use long life coolant no water added to the radiator, the rest totally stock even the exos. Do a totally check and grease parts every month, insulate most of the wiring and pipings away from engine heat. Clean engine with damp cloth and abit of detergent, no engine washing.

Been using 0w20 (fuchs) since first free engine oil change with agent. Get it real cheap from my client in tuas cos im their designer for printed matters. Mechanic only change filter and EO pay for workmanship everything self maintained. Last time open engine for belt change, engine sludge free, rings and valve tip top condition. My EO change schedule oso not zhun one always drag 4-5 K more.

Mechanic often told me old car must use thicker EO, not true unless you maintain it well. But my daily travel is late morning and late evening very seldom in the hot afternoon.

Its very true that EO doesnt cost much, in states they are paying something like less den S$20 for 5 litres.

My own EO cost me only 70 dollars for Ester Based 0w20 outside cost $120, filter $6, labour RM10.

Some malaysian drivers I know dont fill their EO according to requirements often they fill up only half just enuf to cover the moving pistons and valvs only.

Best maintenance is to check your parking lot as you drive out every morning for fresh oil and fluid leaks on the ground from your vehicle and foul smell from your exos