Hamtaroo Neutral Newbie April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 i borrow from marlboro tan: "All the markets are inter-linked ... So, when you reduce new car prices, there'll be an impact on the resale car prices," he said What happens to those people who want to sell who are in mortgage arrears? What about those who are now in negative equity? "We're proud of the asset enhancement policy. (It) has given almost all Singaporeans a car of their own, a car that's also an asset ... that grows in value over time." time to pluck the papaya down, you decide lol .. those who already got car and hdb early is laughing now, those who don't have crying. but all those laughing one, after another 40yrs and 10yrs when lease is up, they will get to cry also, time for them to pay, asset enhancement scheme mah up and up all the way .. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longg8 Clutched April 15, 2011 Author Share April 15, 2011 On 4/15/2011 at 12:50 PM, JX83 said: TS then shouldnt have a problem for u wad.. My annual income only 50k+ but i still buy a new car that is 2x higher then my pay recently.. Anyway coe won't drop le la the most will maintain around the margin.. :) i think ability to pay and whether it's worth to pay can and should be analysed as 2 different matter... $5 per plate of chicken rice, most can afford to pay...but will you? i just want to spend my money on something that appreciate instead of depreciate just a cheap and reliable transport will do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 On 4/15/2011 at 8:46 AM, Mitsubishi_23 said: i dun gamble.. i strike it out myself in business.. hahaha. Good for u then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 On 4/15/2011 at 3:42 PM, Longg8 said: i think ability to pay and whether it's worth to pay can and should be analysed as 2 different matter... $5 per plate of chicken rice, most can afford to pay...but will you? i just want to spend my money on something that appreciate instead of depreciate just a cheap and reliable transport will do. Agreed. Some people can afford to buy and pay for a particular thing, but whether the person willing to pay or think it is worth to buy is another thing. Like some rich people, surely they can afford the high COE now and able to change car, but some of them still continue driving their car beyond 5 yrs or more, and they dont find the reason of changing car?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 On 4/15/2011 at 2:24 PM, Hamtaroo said: i borrow from marlboro tan: "All the markets are inter-linked ... So, when you reduce new car prices, there'll be an impact on the resale car prices," he said What happens to those people who want to sell who are in mortgage arrears? What about those who are now in negative equity? "We're proud of the asset enhancement policy. (It) has given almost all Singaporeans a car of their own, a car that's also an asset ... that grows in value over time." time to pluck the papaya down, you decide lol .. those who already got car and hdb early is laughing now, those who don't have crying. but all those laughing one, after another 40yrs and 10yrs when lease is up, they will get to cry also, time for them to pay, asset enhancement scheme mah up and up all the way .. So if what he says is that car/house/etc all prices just keep going up n up n up. Wah like that in 10 years time small 1 lit jap car cost $150K, 4 rm HDB cost $700K, 1 bowl noodles at hawker ctr cost $12. I better get out sooner than later. Becoming too damm expensive to live in this little red dot. Maybe I move to Hawaii might b cheaper? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 On 4/15/2011 at 6:43 AM, Mitsubishi_23 said: Very good idea.. Because i just sold off my Chevy Epica 2.5 and buy a BMW 7 series.. haha.. Compare the increase in percentage of Jap cars and Conti, it become Conti more worth it.. good choice, the previous gen 7series is super value for money. can get for $13k dep pa. way way better than an epica Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fashionista Neutral Newbie April 15, 2011 Share April 15, 2011 On 4/15/2011 at 6:28 AM, Throttle2 said: Actually and especially f you have buying power like a dealer (full cash, instant transaction), cars are not as expensive. I always encourage end users to sell to end users. Throttle, anyone you know? I am selling my Vios as I am relocating. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Longg8 Clutched April 16, 2011 Author Share April 16, 2011 (edited) On 4/15/2011 at 5:15 PM, Fashionista said: Throttle, anyone you know? I am selling my Vios as I am relocating. im looking for one...PM u already... Edited April 16, 2011 by Longg8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear April 16, 2011 Share April 16, 2011 On 4/15/2011 at 6:37 AM, Bavarian said: Can you post a picture of yourself Lena? That would definitely be more interesting. she got screwed by the mod Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 16, 2011 Share April 16, 2011 On 4/15/2011 at 5:26 AM, Fuelsaver said: ur thinking led me to think most ppl felt ok to pay 50k for coe... mai sabo leh... i still wan affordable cars (affordable is subjective though) wen coe = 10+k... SERIOUSLY......... i like cars to be afforable... so i can drive a bigger or better car... but the thing is the past few years when coe was like few thousand dollars only, (no offense to those involved unless you think you are), cars were so affordable that sooooooooooo many ah seng ah gao ah ter all drive... which led to so many poorly maintained cars back into the market for sale and not fergetting contributing to the CRAZY peak hour jams... FULL carparks i see everywhere.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 16, 2011 Share April 16, 2011 On 4/15/2011 at 6:00 AM, Proton_neutron said: Thailand lorh. But fuel prices in Thailand, not much cheaper than that from Singapore leah.... Thailand got CNG almost everywhere Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 16, 2011 Share April 16, 2011 On 4/14/2011 at 2:21 PM, Longg8 said: 6 years old japanese car selling for 30k++ is simply too expensive... am i the only one who feel so? am i missing something here? think my pay didnt go up as much as i think i should be.... a car is a liability... it will depreciate for sure... (not including rare collectables) ok noted you can afford a car... good for you... yes ability to pay and worth anot to pay is 2 different things.. but thats not what your 1st post allows us to percieve... anyways then good luck searching for a 'worth it' car.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear April 16, 2011 Share April 16, 2011 used cars should not follow the prices of the current COE. at then end of the day, u scrap also get back only COE paid. and not the COE period u bough in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear April 16, 2011 Share April 16, 2011 On 4/16/2011 at 5:05 AM, Mllcg said: used cars should not follow the prices of the current COE. at then end of the day, u scrap also get back only COE paid. and not the COE period u bough in. Unfortunately many pple who want to buy new cars with a budget of say $70K-$80K, wil find it too ex when COE shoots up n wil hv to settle for a 2nd hand car. Then dealers wil jack up their prices of 2nd hand cars cos these buyers now hv a bigger budget of $70K-$80K n wil still pay this amt. We hv many carrot heads in SG n the dealers know it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaronlkl Supersonic April 16, 2011 Share April 16, 2011 U should change ur title to CARS ARE JUST RIDICULOULY EXPENSIVE IN SINGAPORE!!! Not just used cars alone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic April 16, 2011 Share April 16, 2011 (edited) On 4/15/2011 at 5:15 PM, Fashionista said: Throttle, anyone you know? I am selling my Vios as I am relocating. What year model is your Vios? How much are you looking at? Can you PM me the details? Edited April 16, 2011 by Fitvip Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear April 16, 2011 Share April 16, 2011 Anyone interested in C-Class? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear April 16, 2011 Share April 16, 2011 Many are still buying now although they know that the second hand prices are crazy if you look at the paper value of what they are buying. Just look at all the 5 yr civics, back than only 70-80k for 1.8 - 2.0 model, now 5 years they are selling at 50k+ in the market, crazy pricing.... 1st hand pricing already crazy, second hand pricing even worse... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...