Dirtbike Clutched April 14, 2011 Share April 14, 2011 Am planning a trip up in May. Read up a bit on custom clearing, buying of insurance and stuffs. Have not done much research on the route itself. Read online that from Sg custom, once i hit up NSH, i will just have to follow all the way to KL, than turn up E1 and that will lead me to Malaysia-Thai border? Any place that i can buy a good map for use? Or i dont even need to use one? Any website that i can read up on the route to Hatyai after clearing the custom? Sorry for all these noob questions. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear April 14, 2011 Share April 14, 2011 There's probably already a lot of advice posted here before. Technically, no need to go into KL. Head towards KL direction, then head to E1 bypass, KLIA direction to go straight to Ipoh / Penang direction. Keep going until you reach Bukit Kayu Hitam border. You might want to check if your insurance covers up to Hatyai (some covers up to 100km from Malaysian border). If not, consider buying an extension from your insurance company. Am planning a trip up in May. Read up a bit on custom clearing, buying of insurance and stuffs. Have not done much research on the route itself. Read online that from Sg custom, once i hit up NSH, i will just have to follow all the way to KL, than turn up E1 and that will lead me to Malaysia-Thai border? Any place that i can buy a good map for use? Or i dont even need to use one? Any website that i can read up on the route to Hatyai after clearing the custom? Sorry for all these noob questions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtbike Clutched April 14, 2011 Author Share April 14, 2011 Read that Novotel is a good hotel to stay in, but seems like its fully booked for 14-17 May. Any other hotel recommendations? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear April 14, 2011 Share April 14, 2011 B4 u hit KL, there is an exit 219 if not wrong..make sure you turn to that exit to head towards IPoh..wont go wrong. If go in KL..i oso dunno how..sibeh leceh liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear April 14, 2011 Share April 14, 2011 Dont bother about yur sg policy, buy one at Sadao border cheep cheep I kanna fine 500baht last trip without buying explaining to them my sg policy stands no use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear April 14, 2011 Share April 14, 2011 FWIW, Thai insurance does not cover your own car AFAIK. Thai insurance is still needed even if you have your own policy. It's to cover property damages in Thailand. Dont bother about yur sg policy, buy one at Sadao border cheep cheep I kanna fine 500baht last trip without buying explaining to them my sg policy stands no use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear April 14, 2011 Share April 14, 2011 Regency is just opposite Novotel or Lee Gardens. Read that Novotel is a good hotel to stay in, but seems like its fully booked for 14-17 May. Any other hotel recommendations? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear April 14, 2011 Share April 14, 2011 The Thai Insurance is only a third party for you to get away with trouble and I think is government owned so die die must make some money. Dont worry too much just a extra coverage i think its about 20-30 Ringgits drive carefully watch out for those punny bikes, their ford and isuzus trucks are friendly, can bang anything except their kings monuments. push 2 ringgits at the thai customs settle your car permit at the border with your photocopy log card under your ownership if car dont belongs to you photoshop the name oso can. Keep those documents issued to you at the border carefully got to surrender back on the way back your next trip will be easy they already have your record in the comp. Here is our bro Slightly Famous GPS route follow his route but dont follow his speed http://slightlyfamous.posterous.com/map-of...pore-to-bangkok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear April 14, 2011 Share April 14, 2011 Regency is just opposite Novotel or Lee Gardens. Regency and Lee Gardens is the heart of all the Song Song actions, if you going with family I suggest you stay daimond plaza more family orientated within walking distance to Lee Gdns. Open carparks at Regency, diamond is underground with cpk attendants safe but buy your hotel coupons at any travel agents along the street. If you driving Toyota or Honda go for a full service at their Agents nearby Cheep and Good can change engine oso. Call this travel agent: HATYAI LUCKY TOURS for reservations Tel: 006674, 236596, 234527 (I think direct Handphone: M.S.Muay 081-8965549, 006681-8965549) tell the lady you regular singapore traveller. Bro you chinese? dont miss the pig organ soup and the sio bak just ask those chinese local for location, class one division one and the Duck Mee Xua. It wont be your last trip. The last was my twelveth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear April 14, 2011 Share April 14, 2011 Last thing If you love western buffets go to Sizzler at Lee Gdns, per person only S$10-12 so much variety eat until cry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtbike Clutched April 15, 2011 Author Share April 15, 2011 Regency and Lee Gardens is the heart of all the Song Song actions, if you going with family I suggest you stay daimond plaza more family orientated within walking distance to Lee Gdns. Open carparks at Regency, diamond is underground with cpk attendants safe but buy your hotel coupons at any travel agents along the street. If you driving Toyota or Honda go for a full service at their Agents nearby Cheep and Good can change engine oso. Call this travel agent: HATYAI LUCKY TOURS for reservations Tel: 006674, 236596, 234527 (I think direct Handphone: M.S.Muay 081-8965549, 006681-8965549) tell the lady you regular singapore traveller. Bro you chinese? dont miss the pig organ soup and the sio bak just ask those chinese local for location, class one division one and the Duck Mee Xua. It wont be your last trip. The last was my twelveth Thanks for all the information!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtbike Clutched April 20, 2011 Author Share April 20, 2011 I booked New Season Hotel, seems like its about 500m away from Lee Garden. Anybody got any reviews on it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paithorn Clutched April 27, 2011 Share April 27, 2011 I just came back from Hatyai. No need map. drive on NSH just track for KL, near KL head for Ipoh. Near Ipoh,head Alor Star. Bring your insurance cert to show your insurance cover in Thailand(normally up to 60km) then no need buy insurance. Thai insurance is RM20-30 depending on sedan or MPV. Can be bought at SADAO but better to do this st GURUN R and R. Can stand inside aircon to settle this 1st. They can also fill in Immigration white card for you for RM1 at GURUN. RM2 at SADAO. RM2 no need to put for custom. Needed for passport. However you dun put, the immigration offer will also tell you "dua ringgit!" (Happened to me). Remember to get the Malaysian Immigration card as you exit Malaysia cos you need another card to re-enetr Malaysian when you returning home. After SADAO, just need to head straight for 67km. The signs are there to guide you to HATYAI. It is straight leg anyway. The only challenge is to find your hotel. The people are friendly and many speak Teochew. So just ask for directions if lost. Hope this helps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skinky 1st Gear April 27, 2011 Share April 27, 2011 http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2659999 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shor 1st Gear May 9, 2011 Share May 9, 2011 I just came back from Hatyai. No need map. drive on NSH just track for KL, near KL head for Ipoh. Near Ipoh,head Alor Star. Bring your insurance cert to show your insurance cover in Thailand(normally up to 60km) then no need buy insurance. Thai insurance is RM20-30 depending on sedan or MPV. Can be bought at SADAO but better to do this st GURUN R and R. Can stand inside aircon to settle this 1st. They can also fill in Immigration white card for you for RM1 at GURUN. RM2 at SADAO. RM2 no need to put for custom. Needed for passport. However you dun put, the immigration offer will also tell you "dua ringgit!" (Happened to me). Remember to get the Malaysian Immigration card as you exit Malaysia cos you need another card to re-enetr Malaysian when you returning home. After SADAO, just need to head straight for 67km. The signs are there to guide you to HATYAI. It is straight leg anyway. The only challenge is to find your hotel. The people are friendly and many speak Teochew. So just ask for directions if lost. Hope this helps I read a forum that the Thailand 3rd party insurance is only valid for 9 days. And I understand from the Thai embassy in Singapore telling me that the Visa by road entering Thailand is only 14 days. If I were to stay in Thailand for 15 days, how to settle the insurance matter? Secondly, how am I to extend the Visa? Anyone can advice on this? Thank you very much! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged February 5, 2012 Share February 5, 2012 I booked New Season Hotel, seems like its about 500m away from Lee Garden. Anybody got any reviews on it? Bro how was your trip? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewloo70 Neutral Newbie February 9, 2012 Share February 9, 2012 ya how the trip? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...