The Whiskey Thread

Parkingidiot

What's your favourite Whiskey brand(s)?  

103 members have voted

1. 1. Favorite Whiskey(s) (includes single malts, bourbon, blended, etc)

• Glenfiddich
    • Macallan
    • Glenlivet
    • Highland Park
    • Ballantines
    • Cutty Sark
    • Johnnie Walker
    • Chivas
    • Jim Beam
    • Gentleman Jack
    • Jack Daniels
    • Others
  2. 2. Other Drinks (everything else)

• Beer
    • Tequila
    • Rum
    • Vodka
    • Red Wine
    • White Wine
    • Champagne
    • Cocktails
    • Soft Drinks
    • Water
    • Others

Personally Jack is the only one I can drink on the rocks without wanting to throw up immediately...usually I just stick to red wines [gorgeous]

But my hubby proves that a Chinese man can drink like an angmoh and be perfectly alright...I've seen him down Johnnie Walkers like water...but it's his fav whiskey lah.

for JW, the different grade matters a lot. i can only drink blue label, i drink black or red i will puke and get headache the next day

it's call distillery. BTW, it seems Macallan is not common in North East of UK. Anyone knows the reason?

because there's much better brands available over there compared to the limited choices in sg?

my personal fav is Laphroaig

Edited by Little_prince

Hi bro,

now I'm home I will list wat I have:

macallan 30yo fine oak (master of photography - rankin edition) - I have 2 but keeping only 1. I think now la maison selling at 2.1k. I bought during their launch at mohd sultan art gallery. Paid 2.8k. [bigcry] Every bottle is unique photo.

Macallan Rankin

laphroaig 30yo - this one the distillery no longer produce since last yr. I am keeping 3, let go 1. bought in singapore.

Laphroaig

highland park 40yo - bought in sg as a gift for associate, end up didn't give. waste monie.

highland 40

Highland park 30yo - tasted the accompanying miniature. Not my cup. This one comes wif 2 miniature. can drink the miniature and display the bottle. thou some friends love it.

highland park 30

dalmore king alexander 3 - I dunno wat to say about this. not my liking. :blink:

Dalmore

Glenrothes vintage 1972, 1978, 1975, 1979 - tried all of them and I think it's quite good. intend to keep one bottle each only. beats macallan 30yo. [lipsrsealed]

glenrothes

other whiskies are laphroaig 15 & 18, highland park vintage 1977 (this one I like. bought 12, drink 2. I am keeping 6 bottles and let go the 4), highland park 18 and 25 (this one got miniature together), Glenlivet 15 & 18, bowmore 12.

sorry macallan 18 no more.

ps: I'm not salesman selling in bulk. Each of these only have 1 bottle. also if u like Bordeaux red, u can pm me. I need to let go myself before my mum start giving them away. the last time she gave my mac 30 away. [bigcry]

Wow that is an incredible collection you have there! Some extremely rare ones....can't believe your mother would give them away haha! Perhaps she doesn't know their value?

I'm also a w whisk(e)y enthusiast, not not have the privilege to try the 30+ yo's you have.

Some of my favorite and what's in my collection are Arrbeg 10 and uigeadail, Lagavulin 16, Highland Park 1990, Glenmorangie Sonalta PX and Nectar D'or, Glendriach limited release, Laphroiag 10, 15 and Quarter Cask...and more I need to check my cabinet....

I don't snob blends either. jW Blue and Chivas Royal Salute are trusty reliables :)

Macallan is one of the best i have ever tried if not probably the best.... Jack is a rocker classic!!!

Sometimes you cant always win

Pulling out this old thread for some discussion. Any fans of Suntory Whiskeys? The cheap & nice versions of Hibiki single malt is hard to find these days. They seem to be selling the premium versions only. Anybody knows where to get them?

Premium 12 and 18 year single malt Yamazaki are pretty much sold out. I stumbled across 2 bottles in Japan in March this year and snapped them up promptly.

I've tried Hibiki and Nika and both are pretty decent. You should give the other brands a chance too. I tasted Glenlivet 15 and was pleasantly surprised by it's smooth fruity flavor. It helps that it isn't as pricey as the Suntory whiskeys.

Premium 12 and 18 year single malt Yamazaki are pretty much sold out. I stumbled across 2 bottles in Japan in March this year and snapped them up promptly.

I've tried Hibiki and Nika and both are pretty decent. You should give the other brands a chance too. I tasted Glenlivet 15 and was pleasantly surprised by it's smooth fruity flavor. It helps that it isn't as pricey as the Suntory whiskeys.

Ya boy, they suddenly become very popular after they go the Whisky of the Year last year. I have a bottle of Hakushu, it's really nice & light. Now DFS at Changi don't even sell them.

Macallan is another good one. Real smooth. Another one I had in Scotland was Glengoyne, cheap & good.

Glenlivet 21 or 18, if you can't get your hands on 21.

The Macallan Select Oak is also nice at S$95 at Changi.

Ya boy, they suddenly become very popular after they go the Whisky of the Year last year. I have a bottle of Hakushu, it's really nice & light. Now DFS at Changi don't even sell them.

Macallan is another good one. Real smooth. Another one I had in Scotland was Glengoyne, cheap & good.

Is there a Yamazaki with no age indicated?

Yeah i tried the Nikka at a friend's place and it's not bad. Personally i just tend to buy the Hakushu 12 that's available at Changi duty free.

So many whiskeys to try and so little time. I recently picked up a bottle of Haig Club single grain to test, buay pai mai hiam.

Is there a Yamazaki with no age indicated?

Distiller's Reserve, no age indicated.

Yeah i tried the Nikka at a friend's place and it's not bad. Personally i just tend to buy the Hakushu 12 that's available at Changi duty free.

So many whiskeys to try and so little time. I recently picked up a bottle of Haig Club single grain to test, buay pai mai hiam.

Hakushu & Yamazaki no long available at Changi leh.... Went 2x this year, all sold out.

Fark. I'm trying to remember the last bottle I picked up from there, I think it was earlier this year.

If the packaging is the one with no age, then Changi DFS carries both the Yamazaki (Maroon Red box) and the Hakushu (Emerald Green box).

About $90+ a few months back.

Many folks think they don't carry but they do. Stocks (especially the Yamazaki) really fly off the shelves. I fly every Mon and Fri and I was stalking the DFS from T1 to T3 for 8 weeks before I landed one on arrival bec my Dad wanted to try it.

Truth be told, he was a bit underwhelmed by it. He's back to his regular Macallan Select Oak (used to be $78 but now it is $95 or $98).

http://www.thespiritsbusiness.com/2014/03/suntory-releases-nas-yamazaki-and-hakushu-whiskies/

These are the ones you are referring to?

If the packaging is the one with no age, then Changi DFS carries both the Yamazaki (Maroon Red box) and the Hakushu (Emerald Green box).

About $90+ a few months back.

Many folks think they don't carry but they do. Stocks (especially the Yamazaki) really fly off the shelves. I fly every Mon and Fri and I was stalking the DFS from T1 to T3 for 8 weeks before I landed one on arrival bec my Dad wanted to try it.

Truth be told, he was a bit underwhelmed by it. He's back to his regular Macallan Select Oak (used to be $78 but now it is $95 or $98).

http://www.thespiritsbusiness.com/2014/03/suntory-releases-nas-yamazaki-and-hakushu-whiskies/

These are the ones you are referring to?

Yes. I managed to buy the Hakushu last year. But I've never seen any more Suntory Whiskies at the DFS on my last 2 visits. The salesperson told me they come in few bottles at a time & they sell out fast. But during the last trip in June, they mentioned they've stop carrying Suntory Whiskies. Dunno true or not. So I also bought the Macallan Select Oak instead.

Someone mentioned that these 'Cheaper' versions are very rare these days. Suntory Kinda discontinued them & sell the premium ones. Maybe they just bottled the same cheap ones into 'premium' bottles....Asked a friend to check out Tokyo DFS, also same story. They only sell the premium ones there. Cost around 50 000 JPY.

Got this Taiwanese kavalan solist from Singapore DFS. Not bad! Cask strength some more.

This one not bad but the gem is the Kavalan Solist Vinho Barrique Single Cask Strength.

Only available in Taiwan. I got two when I was there. You can try the whole range of whisky at their outlets or you can go tour their facility at Yilan.

This one got best whisky award this year. Damn solid......... Hundred over bucks in Taiwan. Cannot find here the last time I tried.......

😜👍

Lots of stewed fruits on the nose. Theres also aged Bourbon notes. Water brings out custard creams. Surprisingly smooth on the palate. The alcohol is very present. Its like Bourbon infused milk chocolate.

Another nutty, meaty, savoury nose, with sweet notes in the backdrop. Very sweet pruney flavours initially on the palate, with fruit cake and big clove, chilli and dry cinnamon. Walnut and hazelnut on the very dry finish.

Immediately and subtly liquor rich. Tiny bit of incense, a thread of spice and smoke.

Caramel, marzipan, coffee-vanilla, fudge, rich, creamy, dried black fruits. Integrated and surprisingly light. Element of sandalwood. Starts creamy, waters out, almost disappears before rubbing hot brown sugar into the oesophagus. Tiny bitter trace.

World's Best Single Malt Whisky Best Asian Single Malt Best Asian Single Malt No Agepost-24074-0-61367900-1444114868.jpg

Edited by Piyopico

taoyuan dfs got sell?

i'm flying there next week

This one not bad but the gem is the Kavalan Solist Vinho Barrique Single Cask Strength.

Only available in Taiwan. I got two when I was there. You can try the whole range of whisky at their outlets or you can go tour their facility at Yilan.
This one got best whisky award this year. Damn solid......... Hundred over bucks in Taiwan. Cannot find here the last time I tried.......

😜👍

Lots of stewed fruits on the nose. Theres also aged Bourbon notes. Water brings out custard creams. Surprisingly smooth on the palate. The alcohol is very present. Its like Bourbon infused milk chocolate.

Another nutty, meaty, savoury nose, with sweet notes in the backdrop. Very sweet pruney flavours initially on the palate, with fruit cake and big clove, chilli and dry cinnamon. Walnut and hazelnut on the very dry finish.

Immediately and subtly liquor rich. Tiny bit of incense, a thread of spice and smoke.

Caramel, marzipan, coffee-vanilla, fudge, rich, creamy, dried black fruits. Integrated and surprisingly light. Element of sandalwood. Starts creamy, waters out, almost disappears before rubbing hot brown sugar into the oesophagus. Tiny bitter trace.

World's Best Single Malt Whisky Best Asian Single Malt Best Asian Single Malt No Ageattachicon.gifimage.jpg