The Whiskey Thread

Parkingidiot

What's your favourite Whiskey brand(s)?  

103 members have voted

1. 1. Favorite Whiskey(s) (includes single malts, bourbon, blended, etc)

• Glenfiddich
    • Macallan
    • Glenlivet
    • Highland Park
    • Ballantines
    • Cutty Sark
    • Johnnie Walker
    • Chivas
    • Jim Beam
    • Gentleman Jack
    • Jack Daniels
    • Others
  2. 2. Other Drinks (everything else)

• Beer
    • Tequila
    • Rum
    • Vodka
    • Red Wine
    • White Wine
    • Champagne
    • Cocktails
    • Soft Drinks
    • Water
    • Others

i been to several whisky food pairing both local and overseas. i would say the pairing works as in the way of bringing out the flavour of food and whisky. those that i went to normally are over hype and too expensive to do it on regular basis.

i have did a few private pairing with friends at home and here are some local ideas i can offer:

1. strong peated whiskies goes well with roasted pork (siow bah, not char siew). it leaves a nice smokey flavour on the siow ba - new fusion - smokey siow bah.

2. same for roasted duck - it will turn out to be smokey duck. the fatty oil in duck goes very well with peat and leaves a just nice smokey after taste.

plus many others that we experiment.

the above food doesnt cost an arm or leg. buy from hawker and enjoy at home.. [laugh]

Hey buddy, I was browsing some whiskey related threads and got to this previous posting of yours.

Remember that bottle of Laphroaig? I paired it with caramelized apples and smoked walnuts a couple of weeks ago.. Is this the right way to go? (i.e. any other sweet pairings recommendation? I have only done savoury parings with wine thus far)

I am only able to grasp the Finish aspect of whiskey and have to admit a tendency to prefer crisp and light flavours instead of robust, strongly peated ones like Laphroaig.

Perhaps, I am not a true connoisseur like yourself but is there any pairings (both sweet & savoury) recommended to enhance the bouquet of milder single malts like Glenmorangie (i.e. I enjoy gentle vanilla and honeycomb notes)

Also, I kinda like JW Green Label although it

Edited by IDrago

Sorry to dig out such old thread man.. For those who already know me, i am again trying to clear my cellar to make way for new arrivals. [:p]

if anyone wanna take over some brand new unopen single malts like macallan 18yo or older aged malts, drop me a pm for the list. as I just want to clear off these, just name your price in your pm (I not garang guni so pls dun tell me 1 or 2 dollar. lol)

stuff I am choking wif are macallan, laphroaig, highland park, talisker, glenlivet, glenrothes, bowmore, springbank etc.

range are from 18yo to 40yo.

i also want to clear off some bordeaux red like 07 mouton rothschild, 08 lafite and 09 brane cantenac.

ps: I not a salesman so no delivery. will arrange for mu wif everyone and hand you the bottles.

pm me for list. :D

Sorry to dig out such old thread man.. For those who already know me, i am again trying to clear my cellar to make way for new arrivals. [:p]

if anyone wanna take over some brand new unopen single malts like macallan 18yo or older aged malts, drop me a pm for the list. as I just want to clear off these, just name your price in your pm (I not garang guni so pls dun tell me 1 or 2 dollar. lol)

stuff I am choking wif are macallan, laphroaig, highland park, talisker, glenlivet, glenrothes, bowmore, springbank etc.

range are from 18yo to 40yo.

i also want to clear off some bordeaux red like 07 mouton rothschild, 08 lafite and 09 brane cantenac.

ps: I not a salesman so no delivery. will arrange for mu wif everyone and hand you the bottles.

pm me for list. :D

How much you willing to sell off your 18y/o macallan?

pai seh bro. I got offer for 150. so I tell everyone it's 150. all my mac 18 are gone. [sweatdrop]

I still left 1 bot of mac 12. if u like, take over at 60?

pm me better.

Would like to do a public service announcement : " If you Drink, don't Drive. If you Drive, don't Drink." :D

Hi bro,

now I'm home I will list wat I have:

macallan 30yo fine oak (master of photography - rankin edition) - I have 2 but keeping only 1. I think now la maison selling at 2.1k. I bought during their launch at mohd sultan art gallery. Paid 2.8k. [bigcry] Every bottle is unique photo.

Macallan Rankin

laphroaig 30yo - this one the distillery no longer produce since last yr. I am keeping 3, let go 1. bought in singapore.

Laphroaig

highland park 40yo - bought in sg as a gift for associate, end up didn't give. waste monie.

highland 40

Highland park 30yo - tasted the accompanying miniature. Not my cup. This one comes wif 2 miniature. can drink the miniature and display the bottle. thou some friends love it.

highland park 30

dalmore king alexander 3 - I dunno wat to say about this. not my liking. :blink:

Dalmore

Glenrothes vintage 1972, 1978, 1975, 1979 - tried all of them and I think it's quite good. intend to keep one bottle each only. beats macallan 30yo. [lipsrsealed]

glenrothes

other whiskies are laphroaig 15 & 18, highland park vintage 1977 (this one I like. bought 12, drink 2. I am keeping 6 bottles and let go the 4), highland park 18 and 25 (this one got miniature together), Glenlivet 15 & 18, bowmore 12.

sorry macallan 18 no more.

ps: I'm not salesman selling in bulk. Each of these only have 1 bottle. also if u like Bordeaux red, u can pm me. I need to let go myself before my mum start giving them away. the last time she gave my mac 30 away. [bigcry]

oh btw dun be too bothered by the price you see in those links. those are actual market price. if u see something u like, just pm me your price.

not trying to profit from this, only want to clear my cellar before my mum lay hands on it again. I rather give it to someone appreciate a dram.

also clearing off some 30yo whisky miniature for free. If u want, just pm me.

ps: no delivery. Will organize a mu to collect.

Old Long House Popiah Master of Popiah provides DIY POPIAH/PIETEE PARTY FREE DELIVERY $68. Visit us at www.oldlonghouse.com for all information and menu. Order ONLINE at our website one day in advance. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED BY: Makansutra etc.

Please lah, if you want to advertise, at least pay advertisers fees since you are a profit making entity. Your post has been reported! (clocking posts toward 2,500) :D

Hi guys, sorry to hijack this thread..but was wondering if you know where I can get Cutty Sark?

Or where is the place to view and buy Whiskey at reasonable prices?

Been wanting to try Cutty Sark but no chance leh....plus no idea where to get it :huh:

Singapore still beer is the way to go

Been to a whiskey brewery in scot , m I rite to call it brewery??

The old Ang mo said he been to Sg but the weather is so hot

Weird that Sg is drinking whiskey

For me, jus ale or wine is alright

Macallen is smooth though

Singapore still beer is the way to go

Been to a whiskey brewery in scot , m I rite to call it brewery??

The old Ang mo said he been to Sg but the weather is so hot

Weird that Sg is drinking whiskey

For me, jus ale or wine is alright

Macallen is smooth though

it's call distillery. BTW, it seems Macallan is not common in North East of UK. Anyone knows the reason?

Personally Jack is the only one I can drink on the rocks without wanting to throw up immediately...usually I just stick to red wines [gorgeous]

But my hubby proves that a Chinese man can drink like an angmoh and be perfectly alright...I've seen him down Johnnie Walkers like water...but it's his fav whiskey lah.

Hi guys, sorry to hijack this thread..but was wondering if you know where I can get Cutty Sark?

Or where is the place to view and buy Whiskey at reasonable prices?

Been wanting to try Cutty Sark but no chance leh....plus no idea where to get it :huh:

cutty sark i dont know. c--t suckers got alot. [laugh]