Runforyourlife 5th Gear February 14, 2016 Share February 14, 2016 Human mentality. No one will do things for free. There are always some self interests somewhere in everyone's agenda for joining RC. Some do it for business network Some do it for school priority Some do it for MP special assistance Some do it for privileged parking Some do it for free food and certain access to events The list goes on...... Human mentality? Guess only sg have human beings. Other country one all is aliens. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged February 14, 2016 Share February 14, 2016 Human mentality. No one will do things for free. There are always some self interests somewhere in everyone's agenda for joining RC. Some do it for business network Some do it for school priority Some do it for MP special assistance Some do it for privileged parking Some do it for free food and certain access to events The list goes on...... Don't be discouraged by the response. It was never the intention to find out the benefits, but to bash bash bash. Save your breath for better things in life. I regretted wasted my time here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged February 14, 2016 Share February 14, 2016 (edited) Human mentality? Guess only sg have human beings. Other country one all is aliens.There are actually a lot of Singaporeans with good heart, just that some do not believe in joining grassroot as they feel it's very fake, they prefer to give in some other ways. Sure, there will sure have some rotten apples around in every community especially when the number is huge, so it is up to the leader to see through these people and get rid of them. Yes I also agree most of the people join grassroot for some form of benefit. But if it is not too overboard or too selfish, actually can close one eye. Worst is those who is very cunning, in grassroot act as if they volunteer with their heart, but then they volunteer not with their heart but to get contacts, to get to know government people, to get close to powerful people and then do things for their own benefit inside, what happen to people outside they don't care but they will act as if they care. Take a look, yang yin the prc guy is just one example, he is so cunning, till now he still not willing to give up hope yet to at least take some money from the poor old lady, he was in ex grassroot leader too. So well.. So now one more thing for grassroot leader to do, this task is very difficult as it involves in seeing through people their real intention. Sometimes those rotten apples can act so well infront of the leaders that they think that this guy actually not bad but in fact it is not, he is full of needles hidden behind his clothing. Edited February 14, 2016 by Yewheng 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 Alot just want to get the gov tender business of upgrading works or supplies required etc in their constituency area. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 Very easy to be a grassroots member. You have to just have to be a yes man and excellent in carrying balls. And very importantly, be a die hard supporter of the incumbent party even though supposed to be non- partisan. Not really. I know alot of grassroots leaders who are opposition supporters. But then they might have changed their minds on election day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 Alot just want to get the gov tender business of upgrading works or supplies required etc in their constituency area. true personally know at least 2 of this type of people. join RC just to get lobang for business. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 true personally know at least 2 of this type of people. join RC just to get lobang for business. There is actually nothing wrong to join RC to get lobang for business if they have good heart. They can volunteer and help out in the same time get contact for business, that's okay what. What is worrying is another type of people who is very cunning, those that do not have any intention to help out and worst look down on the poor, but act as if they care for whatever reason they join RC for, these are the people is the RC need to get rid of. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 There is actually nothing wrong to join RC to get lobang for business if they have good heart. They can volunteer and help out in the same time get contact for business, that's okay what. What is worrying is another type of people who is very cunning, those that do not have any intention to help out and worst look down on the poor, but act as if they care for whatever reason they join RC for, these are the people is the RC need to get rid of. i got join MPS session before. quit after few weeks. 2 idioms comes to mind about the people there. 1. 狐假虎威 2. 拿着鸡毛当令箭 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 Agreed with last two posts. Ran out of praise juice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 There is actually nothing wrong to join RC to get lobang for business if they have good heart. They can volunteer and help out in the same time get contact for business, that's okay what. What is worrying is another type of people who is very cunning, those that do not have any intention to help out and worst look down on the poor, but act as if they care for whatever reason they join RC for, these are the people is the RC need to get rid of. I propose to get rid of the PA and RC as they are getting too political. Their initial noble aims are supposedly to bring people of all races together if I recalled correctly, but to me, they are now veering further away from the apolitical path IMO. That said, I have no alternatives to building a "community". This is a lousy post I admit. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 i got join MPS session before. quit after few weeks. 2 idioms comes to mind about the people there. 1. 狐假虎威 2. 拿着鸡毛当令箭 totally agree to this. in other 'voluntary" group such as condo MC and even religious committee, its the same problem. in my former church, i hear of horrified stories of what happened in the church executive committee meetings. sometimes, we cannot place total trust in our leaders. I always believed in this phrase "Men will fail us" 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 I propose to get rid of the PA and RC as they are getting too political. Their initial noble aims are supposedly to bring people of all races together if I recalled correctly, but to me, they are now veering further away from the apolitical path IMO. That said, I have no alternatives to building a "community". This is a lousy post I admit. The moment you are in a RC, they may activate you for political events for the incumbent party within the constituency. If you question non partisan, see what happens to you. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 power corrupts. absolute power corrupts absolutely. totally agree to this. in other 'voluntary" group such as condo MC and even religious committee, its the same problem. in my former church, i hear of horrified stories of what happened in the church executive committee meetings. sometimes, we cannot place total trust in our leaders. I always believed in this phrase "Men will fail us" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 power corrupts. absolute power corrupts absolutely. yeah. Apart from the obvious reasons why ppl join voluntary committees, some ppl joined because of power hungry. They are rich, got money and everything else. But they crave for more power and authority. So they manifest their erratic or lunatic behaviour in committee meetings. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 (edited) yeah. Apart from the obvious reasons why ppl join voluntary committees, some ppl joined because of power hungry. They are rich, got money and everything else. But they crave for more power and authority. So they manifest their erratic or lunatic behaviour in committee meetings. lunatic behavior i don't know lah but as you say, i know some towkays already multimillionaire. drive 7 series. E class etc. join RC just to bast in the the reflected glory of the MP? so that he can hang a photo of him being pally with Tharman or whichever minister, in his office/home. kinda nuts personally i think that. they are already rich and "powerful" to a certain extent. so what they crave now is respectability. and association with a MP is the way to go. if they can get a "chairman" title etc. even better. that's why some towkays so willing to throw money at RC when they don't even stay there Edited February 15, 2016 by Little_prince Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 lunatic behavior i don't know lah but as you say, i know some towkays already multimillionaire. drive 7 series. E class etc. join RC just to bast in the the reflected glory of the MP? so that he can hang a photo of him being pally with Tharman or whichever minister, in his office/home. kinda nuts personally i think that. they are already rich and "powerful" to a certain extent. so what they crave now is respectability. and association with a MP is the way to go. if they can get a "chairman" title etc. even better. that's why some towkays so willing to throw money at RC when they don't even stay there These ppl have a serious inferiority complex inside. That's why they need to tell others about their power and influence. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 lunatic behavior i don't know lah but as you say, i know some towkays already multimillionaire. drive 7 series. E class etc. join RC just to bast in the the reflected glory of the MP? so that he can hang a photo of him being pally with Tharman or whichever minister, in his office/home. kinda nuts personally i think that. they are already rich and "powerful" to a certain extent. so what they crave now is respectability. and association with a MP is the way to go. if they can get a "chairman" title etc. even better. that's why some towkays so willing to throw money at RC when they don't even stay there This is to boost the face value so that when they talk some ppl will listen after knowing who he is. Feel good factor call sebei song. Some things money just can't buy. Haha.... "Do you know who I am?" Knn if I knew you do not even need to ask this dumb question lor. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 Was having breakfast in AMK hawker centre last weekend when one MP (the kar-chng doc) popped in for a visit. Of course, accompanied by grassroots people and town council staff. Miraculously, not a single one of them nor the MP spotted the illegally modified e-bikes zooming around. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...