Runforyourlife 5th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 This is to boost the face value so that when they talk some ppl will listen after knowing who he is. Feel good factor call sebei song. Some things money just can't buy. Haha.... "Do you know who I am?" Knn if I knew you do not even need to ask this dumb question lor. This is a localized issue :XD: ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 There is actually nothing wrong to join RC to get lobang for business if they have good heart. They can volunteer and help out in the same time get contact for business, that's okay what. What is worrying is another type of people who is very cunning, those that do not have any intention to help out and worst look down on the poor, but act as if they care for whatever reason they join RC for, these are the people is the RC need to get rid of. Agreed, if they have a good heart. Even if they don't have, as long as they are contributing for show, as long as the community benefit, why not? But these leads to other conflicts as after all humans being humans (moreover they are businessmen) will succumb to greed and corruption may occur. Anyone knows what is the maximum value that the RC can authorize without going through a public tender? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 Agreed, if they have a good heart. Even if they don't have, as long as they are contributing for show, as long as the community benefit, why not? But these leads to other conflicts as after all humans being humans (moreover they are businessmen) will succumb to greed and corruption may occur. Anyone knows what is the maximum value that the RC can authorize without going through a public tender? Maybe you can describe how does one "contribute for show" and results in "community benefit"? This is smth i don't understand... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 1. Volunteering at MPS session -- definite payoffs (depending on what the individual brings to the table). 2. It's great that the wonderful people are sharing heads up about the potential pit falls and learning points during MPS -- such as Yang Yin -- which MP? Reminder: to take only Natural born Citizen only. 3. For some 'good hearted' people, excellent ejection force and all that...it depends on the MP. so if they want to volunteer in MPS, they have to move their residence. Kinda odd to move residence just to volunteer in MPS.... 4. Nobody works for free. For the pleasure of your company... 5. Church committee meetings, Buddhist Association meetings, Dialect group bigness meetings ... All so ' yooooge!'. 6. I see free parking all the time in my constituency: delivery trucks, motorcycles, Malaysian cars, so all grassroots eaters? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icemaiden 6th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 (edited) Accountants yes - since they are known to be conservative. Lawyers tend to be more vocal, less yes men, well-versed in law and have a tendency to join alternative parties. There is a reason why WP team are mainly lawyers, while most PAP new MPs are people like Tin Pei Ling who work at issit KPMG an accounting firm. I know of some accounting partners who follow MPs everywhere like some dogs. Some may not be after privileged parking or P1 registration. They are after business contacts, the ability to show off (the other day I was having bfast with PAP MP u know?), some exposure on TV when they walk beside the MP and fan them. Some may even have political aspirations. Nowadays, PAP like to use grassroots like Seng Han Thong and Ting Pei Ling to be MP. After all, MP are mere estate managers and need not be well versed in the law. So other than those benefits mention above, we should not forget numerous people who join grassroots mainly to achieve their dream of becoming a MP with part time job and large allowances. Some of the partners in the big law and accountancy firms are in the grassroots. I ask one of the partners why, and he said something that made sense, at least from his perspective.And no, that has nothing to do with P1 registration, or free parking. Edited February 15, 2016 by Icemaiden Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 (edited) lunatic behavior i don't know lah but as you say, i know some towkays already multimillionaire. drive 7 series. E class etc. join RC just to bast in the the reflected glory of the MP? so that he can hang a photo of him being pally with Tharman or whichever minister, in his office/home. kinda nuts personally i think that. they are already rich and "powerful" to a certain extent. so what they crave now is respectability. and association with a MP is the way to go. if they can get a "chairman" title etc. even better. that's why some towkays so willing to throw money at RC when they don't even stay there Sometimes they want to get into politics so they join the RC if they have no other connections. He is rich and powerful and he volunteer so that he can try to become MP. Seen him volunteer so many times and mixing with the residents and volunteers. Then he took part in the election after that. Edited February 15, 2016 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 Ok cut the long story short, who here knows of someone whom sincerely joins RC to help the community, with or without benefits doesn't matter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icemaiden 6th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 (edited) There are numerous way to volunteer and help the community - many people volunteer without any benefits - its just something that they are compassionate about. I believe in the human spirit and have known of people who help the community for purely altruistic reasons - be it about elder care, homing stray dogs, food delivery to under privileged. The list goes on. I don't think joining RC and PA is helping the community at all. These people know its a political organisation that only supports PAP activities even in opposition constituency. If a person sincerely wants to volunteer, there are other more direct ways to do so, other than PAP's PA and becoming grassroot leaders and walking with MPs. So no, those who join grassroots have agenda - be in political aspirations (after all PAP choose their MPs from the pool of grassroots so if dun join sure no chance) or other personal benefits like NDP tickets, parking, primary 1 registration, HDB/EC flat selection, or bragging rights of knowing important people, or business contacts. And someone here said, if there are not such wealth of benefits, no one will volunteer. THAT IS NOT TRUE. Do not underestimate the human spirit. I know of numerous people who volunteer out of a good heart. Nothing to do with a plethora of benefits. And I hv NOT known a single person who joins RC merely with the pure love or compassion of helping the community. Ok cut the long story short, who here knows of someone whom sincerely joins RC to help the community, with or without benefits doesn't matter. Edited February 15, 2016 by Icemaiden 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 Ok cut the long story short, who here knows of someone whom sincerely joins RC to help the community, with or without benefits doesn't matter. Me. A colleague of mine. He join the RC sincerely to help the community. He patrol his neighbourhood(Joo Chiat) and reports all the la sup bar to mata. Those who feed pigeon, he take photo and report. Drain not cleared, he take photo and report. Help organise this and that event for young and elderly. Always in contact with Bedok division mata. Hats off to him. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 (edited) Me. A colleague of mine. He join the RC sincerely to help the community. He patrol his neighbourhood(Joo Chiat) and reports all the la sup bar to mata. Those who feed pigeon, he take photo and report. Drain not cleared, he take photo and report. Help organise this and that event for young and elderly. Always in contact with Bedok division mata. Hats off to him. Great stuff, is he a grass root leader? Such should be... And most importantly....... Does he baotoh cars parked on double yellow line/hdb porches/loading bay etc? :D Edited February 15, 2016 by Runforyourlife Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icemaiden 6th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 (edited) This type is the worst. Their job is to go around "catching people" and ensuring they get punished and score points in return. How does this kind of role help the community? He goes around saboing people, take photo, reporting minor parking problems or people feeding pigeon or cats, take photo, shame people etc. I dun call that community service at all. More like someone who likes to go around barking at people in a self-righteous manner and have PAP as kao4 shan1. In short, the job gives him power in getting people into trouble. LOL. Me. A colleague of mine. He join the RC sincerely to help the community. He patrol his neighbourhood(Joo Chiat) and reports all the la sup bar to mata. Those who feed pigeon, he take photo and report. Drain not cleared, he take photo and report. Help organise this and that event for young and elderly. Always in contact with Bedok division mata. Hats off to him. Edited February 15, 2016 by Icemaiden 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 This type is the worst. Their job is to go around "catching people" and ensuring they get punished and score points in return. How does this kind of role help the community? He goes around saboing people, take photo, reporting minor parking problems or people feeding pigeon or cats, take photo, shame people etc. I dun call that community service at all. More like someone who likes to go around barking at people in a self-righteous manner and have PAP as kao4 shan1. In short, the job gives him power in getting people into trouble. LOL. Vaguely recall a MP stating it'll be good to take pics of your fellow resident's wrongdoings. Cannot recall her name. :S Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 Great stuff, is he a grass root leader? Such should be... And most importantly....... Does he baotoh cars parked on double yellow line/hdb porches/loading bay etc? :D Dont know leh. He told me he is RC member. RC member = grassroot leader? He dont need those benefits. No need parking, no need buy HDB, no need primary school registration. In fact he volunteer in primary school and church. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 Dont know leh. He told me he is RC member. RC member = grassroot leader? He dont need those benefits. No need parking, no need buy HDB, no need primary school registration. In fact he volunteer in primary school and church. No offense but how come it now sounds like your friend = you ah.... You seemed to know alot about this friend of yours lei. So how your friend feels when he baotoh all those lup sup bars, taking pics of ppl spitting etc? shiok right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 This type is the worst. Their job is to go around "catching people" and ensuring they get punished and score points in return. How does this kind of role help the community? He goes around saboing people, take photo, reporting minor parking problems or people feeding pigeon or cats, take photo, shame people etc. I dun call that community service at all. More like someone who likes to go around barking at people in a self-righteous manner and have PAP as kao4 shan1. In short, the job gives him power in getting people into trouble. LOL. That is not his job lah. His main focus is to organise activities for the young and elderly around his estate. He does his own patrolling at his own free time, looking after his estate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 No offense but how come it now sounds like your friend = you ah.... You seemed to know alot about this friend of yours lei. So how your friend feels when he baotoh all those lup sup bars, taking pics of ppl spitting etc? shiok right? He is my colleague and sits next to me. We are colleagues for 11yrs. He always makes call during office hour to arrange activities for his estate. Can hear everything. If you seat next to your colleague for 11yrs and dont know a single thing about him, some thing is wrong between your relationship with him. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 Maybe you can describe how does one "contribute for show" and results in "community benefit"? This is smth i don't understand... Such as helping to organize charity events etc. Like this also need to spell out? Let me give a another example similar but may not be applied to the grassroot volunteers. A rich man or big company doing charity donation, they may be doing it for social recognition and don't even have the thoughts of those needy, but ultimately, the money they donate makes a difference to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 15, 2016 Share February 15, 2016 Me. A colleague of mine. He join the RC sincerely to help the community. He patrol his neighbourhood(Joo Chiat) and reports all the la sup bar to mata. Those who feed pigeon, he take photo and report. Drain not cleared, he take photo and report. Help organise this and that event for young and elderly. Always in contact with Bedok division mata. Hats off to him. me also. i even go undercover all the lup sup bar to take evidence. very difficult and challenging role. haiz. but no one appreciate. ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...