Headshok 1st Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 Okie manage to catch the show.... okie lar, not bad for a weekend leisure..... the street fight machiam playing MW2 like that.... .... at least no dull moment.... movie start already bang bang bang... bro, i got a lot of japanese movie, start already BANG BANG BANG also, hahaha.. this movie reminds me of black hawk down but alien version. i enjoyed the show though, hahaha.. typical guy show lah, the kind of show when guys come over, then u just put on the dvd and all cheer. Another guy show is suckerpunch. hot girls, cool guns, thats about it. hahahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 90% close to Battle of LA .... except at the end, the aliens win ... and only left one mutant ex-human (alien body with original-human brain)... trying to save his gf from the rest of the aliens. something like SPAWN !! Skyline got part 2. It's not the end yet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 Skyline and Cloverfield is both as bad. War of the World too, by TomPuss. I find that to describe Battle Los Angelos, just see it as Saving Private Ryan fast forward to modern day, and change the Germans and their tanks to Aliens. Is the same squad level war movie. Wah lau, cannot compared this show to Shaving Ryan's Private lah. SPR is my favourite show of all time. At least there's a meaning for the show. Did they make the wrong decision to send 8 soldiers to save 1 soldier? Was it worth the sacrifice? Taking into account Ryan is the only son left. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear April 10, 2011 Author Share April 10, 2011 Felt like Independence Day II.. Battle scenes rather intense. Against the vicious & advance-tech alien hordes, weapons of the marines & the US forces in general machiam sticks & pitch forks. The marines have to empty an entire clip to bring down just 1 fouled creature-that's intense! Then again the story goes really linear & audience sorta know what's gona happen when our gunny hero volunteered to go on a suicide mission & his faithful rag tag team decided to follow him. That tough nails air force babe acted in many many action shows, like hollywood has got no such actress to take on this type of roles. She had starred in Lost, Avatar, etc. Just a typical US action-packed see-&-forget show lo.... not only that the first part showcases the life of the marines. i know people who were formerely in the service who said its like that exactly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 at least skyline and battle LA got abit of storyline ... but cloverfield is really nauseating - literally !! i wonder if got ppl got to CASE and ask for refund or not ??? You can try [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 wah lan eh cant believe you all compared it to skyline. skyline = worst movie ever I agree man....but got nice part...when the hero B2 bomber dodging all alien fighters, then manage to launch a nuke missile just before it got shot down. Quite heroic, moved me to tears..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 (edited) Wah lau, cannot compared this show to Shaving Ryan's Private lah. SPR is my favourite show of all time. At least there's a meaning for the show. Did they make the wrong decision to send 8 soldiers to save 1 soldier? Was it worth the sacrifice? Taking into account Ryan is the only son left. BLA also got meaning to the show mah. As platoon sgt, should you let your PC sacrifice and die for the team, or should you try your best to save him even if it means possibly die trying. And also yet another similarity with SPR, replace Ryan with the civilians. SPR vs BLA 1940s vs 2010 Nazis vs Aliens Save Ryan vs Save civilians German Tanks vs Alien control center OK, the final ending of BLA, totally copy Blackhawk Down. Edited April 10, 2011 by Sgnick Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 Chay thought u say not worth spending $$$ to watch? err I neber spend a single cents leh... oops... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 bro, i got a lot of japanese movie, start already BANG BANG BANG also, hahaha.. this movie reminds me of black hawk down but alien version. i enjoyed the show though, hahaha.. typical guy show lah, the kind of show when guys come over, then u just put on the dvd and all cheer. Another guy show is suckerpunch. hot girls, cool guns, thats about it. hahahaha haaaa..... ya cfm this type I like most, full of action...... bang bang bang.... cry cry, in out in out, up down up down..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 (edited) Wrong bro, as a PS, he got to obey commands from his PC. His PC gave him a direct order to leave him n take over command of his platoon (or whatever was left of it). So if he were to disobey a direct order, he wld be charged. Period. Anyway, the PC damn rookie lor, not as veteran as the PS. It is e gunghoness n quick thinking of the PS that saved the men n civilians from being wiped out in e bus. Edited April 10, 2011 by Sabretan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 did you all notice that in almost all movies, the PC is usually a rookie and in the end its the PS that saves the day ? so far, i only see generals glorified in movies, never the lower ranked officers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soonmunn 1st Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 I was looking forward to this movie but when i saw it finally, it was a disappointment. This was supposed to be a major world invasion and should have been covered from an international perspective. Instead they focused on one city and in one single marine unit. Very little was seen of the aliens and their technology or their origin and background...instead we were just presented with these bots and bad guys. Even the battle strategies lacked depth. Little was seen of the Naval and airforce deployments which we would have expected would form the backbone of defenses in modern day warfare especially from air-borne threats which targetted the oceans. Nukes were not even deployed. None of the early warning systems from the NASA sattelites were ever mentioned. Even the action which focused on the marines seemed cheap. Where were the heavy artillery and tanks? Compared to other sci-fi successes like Independence Day, Aliens, Predator series, or War of the Worlds, this show seemed like a cheap flick b movie.....and it also fails as a war movie when compared to Black Hawk Down, Jarhead, Saving Private Ryan, We were Soldiers, Band of Bros.... Who liked this movie ah? I thought the portrayal of the Marines felt pretty real Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hp93868686 Clutched April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 Not nice to watch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 wah lan eh cant believe you all compared it to skyline. skyline = worst movie ever Totally agree.... NBCB show... waste my time watching it... pui..... cannot believe Hollywood can produce this type of LJ movie.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 I was looking forward to this movie but when i saw it finally, it was a disappointment. This was supposed to be a major world invasion and should have been covered from an international perspective. Instead they focused on one city and in one single marine unit. Very little was seen of the aliens and their technology or their origin and background...instead we were just presented with these bots and bad guys. Even the battle strategies lacked depth. Little was seen of the Naval and airforce deployments which we would have expected would form the backbone of defenses in modern day warfare especially from air-borne threats which targetted the oceans. Nukes were not even deployed. None of the early warning systems from the NASA sattelites were ever mentioned. Even the action which focused on the marines seemed cheap. Where were the heavy artillery and tanks? Compared to other sci-fi successes like Independence Day, Aliens, Predator series, or War of the Worlds, this show seemed like a cheap flick b movie.....and it also fails as a war movie when compared to Black Hawk Down, Jarhead, Saving Private Ryan, We were Soldiers, Band of Bros.... haaaaa maybe due to budget lar...... thats why its call Battle LA... not Battle of the World.... ... but ya...... they should have done better..... They should combibe the like of Independence Day + 2012 + Day After Tomorrow + Alien vs Predator + Arnie's Terminator.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 Totally agree.... NBCB show... waste my time watching it... pui..... cannot believe Hollywood can produce this type of LJ movie.... Yes, skyline may not be very good compared to those block busters, but it is actually quite good if you know that it is a movie made with a very tight budget. FYI, its a trilogy.... at least, a sequel is confirmed. Anyway, Battle LA is an average movie.. not too bad and also, not very fantastic. Over glorified US marines with infinite ammo blasting cyborg aliens. Suckerpunch really sucks even though i love the soundtrack lol. Best movie i've watch till date this year will be Unknown. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 BLA not bad,at least better than Skyline now waiting Super 8,nbz same director as Cloverfield, JJ but this thime with another famous director SS.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 10, 2011 Share April 10, 2011 haaaaa maybe due to budget lar...... thats why its call Battle LA... not Battle of the World.... ... but ya...... they should have done better..... They should combibe the like of Independence Day + 2012 + Day After Tomorrow + Alien vs Predator + Arnie's Terminator.... btw, did you guys know that there is another version of Battle of LA ? ... its a HBO production ... for tv....even more how siao .... 3 ppl flew into the mothership and blew it up after killing a gigantic guardian monster, kinda like ID4. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...