Mazda Biante MPV

Swifter78

From the little info available online, there was a facelift in 2007. In jap website, got mentioned some model changes in 2012 but all minor cosmetic ones. Can 't see any info on earlier model updates. I suspect new model should not be too distant away.

Isis looks good if you are looking at mid-size mpv as it offers slightly beyond that. But if differences between latest model and what you having is too little, then you have to decide if you can tahan the same thing for 20 years.

Biante/ Noah/Serena/Stepwagn/Voxy actually are all similar in dimensions and engine as they belong to the Minivan category in Japan. You can't go wrong with either of them. If you not worry of PI option, then the choices are wider.

I'll wait to see which PI bring in and 1.8 or 2.0L. Also the price. I can tahan as long as the financials work out. At least I know Isis has low running cost and is problem-free. So my shortlist now has Biante, Noah/Voxy and Isis - in no particular order (but I tend to favour Toyota).

i'm afraid it's too tall for quite a number of car parks.

Yes but not that many. You can actually google to see what some forums have compiled, just bear in mind the lists are outdated and some places no longer true. Almost all are long ago ones. The newer shopping centres are definitely 1.9m and above. The one that affects me is old Rochor Centre which I go once in a blue moon, which will be gone soon too.

Biante stands at 1.83m, fyi. Just make it a habit to see the round height limit logo will be fine. Just in case only.

i'm afraid it's too tall for quite a number of car parks.

Biante is 1835mm. Should be OK as long as car park is at least 1.9m. But, yes, there are certainly car parks that are out of bounds to the Biante. Just realised its even taller than the Estima and the Noah!

I'll wait to see which PI bring in and 1.8 or 2.0L. Also the price. I can tahan as long as the financials work out. At least I know Isis has low running cost and is problem-free. So my shortlist now has Biante, Noah/Voxy and Isis - in no particular order (but I tend to favour Toyota).

Choose one that you are comfortable with. I would recommend Noah/Voxy if Isis pricing is close to them.

Yes but not that many. You can actually google to see what some forums have compiled, just bear in mind the lists are outdated and some places no longer true. Almost all are long ago ones. The newer shopping centres are definitely 1.9m and above. The one that affects me is old Rochor Centre which I go once in a blue moon, which will be gone soon too.

Biante stands at 1.83m, fyi. Just make it a habit to see the round height limit logo will be fine. Just in case only.

i found this website with list of carkpark height.

http://200hiace.forumotion.net/t610-carpark-height-limit

i found this website with list of carkpark height.

http://200hiace.forumotion.net/t610-carpark-height-limit

The list has been passed around if you look at other forums, not most accurate but can do. What you can do is to take a good look at the height restriction logos when you enter your usual carparks to see if it is 1.9m and above. My lifestyle has not been crippled or even affected by this issue, but I can't speak for the rest. Will be more jialat if the car is 1.9xm.

And you know what to do if sway sway got stuck? If exceed by little bit, just deflat the tyres a little and good to go.

I repost the database from that forum. Hope no copyright issue haha. And do take the list with a bit of salt, like Marina Square is listed at 1.9m in some forum but here as 1.8m. I remember parking my Biante there just a few weeks ago without any problem.

CARPARK HEIGHT LIMIT

NORTH
1. AMK Central MSCP 712A : 1.8m
2. Sun Plaza : 1.9m
3. Toa Payoh Central HDB Blk 190 : 1.9m
4. Bishan Junction 8 : 2.0m
5. Tagore Industrial Building : 2.0m
6. Woodlands Civic Centre : 2.1m
7. HDB Hub (Toa Payoh) : 2.1m
8. Woodlands Causepoint : 1.9m

CENTRAL
1. Mustafa Centre : 2.1m
2. Tanglin Shopping Center: 1.7m!!!
3. Bishan Carpark above interchange : 1.8m
4. Golden Mile : Think also 1.8m
5. Queensway Shopping Centre : 1.8m
6. Rochor Center, height limit : 1.82m
7. Tiong Bahru Plaza : 2.0m
8. Specialist Shopping Centre : 2.1m
9. HaborFront : 2.1m
10. The Plaza : 1.88

EAST
1. Pasir Ris Central carpark back of Macdonalds : 1.75m
2. Century Square : 1.8m
3. Marine Parade Central HDB Multistorey Carpark : 1.8m
4. Changi Airport T2 : 1.85m
5. Singapore Post Centre underground carpark : 2.05m
6. East Point : 2.1m
7.City Plaza : 1.95m
8. Parkway Parade : 2.0m
9. Katong Shopping Centre : 2.0m
10. Katong Mall : 2.0m (some lots drop to 1.7m)
11. Changi Airport T3 : 2.1m

WEST
1. AA Building at River Valley : 1.9m
2. Ikea Building : 2.0m
3. Jurong Point : 2.0m
4. Jurong East Entertainment Centre : 2.0m
5. IBP Strategy Bldg : 2.1m

TOWN AREA
1. Centrepoint : 1.8m
2. Golden Landmark : 1.8m
3. Marina Square : 1.8m
4. Novena Square : 1.85m
5. Far East Plaza multistorey carpark A : 2.0m, underground carpark B : 1.9m
6. Funan IT Mall : 1.9m
7. MOM Building : 1.9m
8. Orchard Cineleisure : 1.9m
9. Raffles City : 1.9m
10. United Square : 1.9m
11. Shaw Towers : 1.95m
12. Atrium at Orchard : 2.0m
13. Cuppage Centre : 2.0m
14. Esplanade : 2.0m
15. Golden Shoe carpark at Collyer Quay : 2.0m
16. Millenium Walk : 2.0m
17. Paragon Shopping Centre : 2.0m
18. Plaza Singapura : 2.0m
19. Singapore Power Building : 2.0m
20. Specialist Shopping Centre : 2.0m
21. Starhub Centre behind Centrepoint : 2.0m
22. Capital Centre, South Bridge Rd : 2.1m
23. Great World City : 2.1m
24. Cairnhill (Bideford Rd) : 2.15m
25. Oriental Plaza, Chinatown : 2.2m
26. Central Mall (Magazine Rd) : 2.1m
25. Lane Crawford : 3.3m (Is this a typo error? 3.3m is my house ceiling height, can swing my club)
26. Raffles Hospital : 2.1m when entered the barrier(There r few parking lots) : 1.8m If want go upper levels
27. Pacific Plaza : 1.8m (This carpark layout is very bad, v tight turning)
28. Suntec City: 2.0m
29. Orchard Towers: 1.9 (But my antenna keeps scratching against certain parts of the ceiling and i've to avoid those low overhead pipes)
30. Valley Point : 2.1m
31. Adelphi : 2.0m
32. Hong Leong Bldg : 1.9m (ride not raised by antenna already whacking at the pipes)
33. Bras Basah Complex : 1.8M
34. Tanglin Mall : 2.0M Sharing with Traders Hotel
35. One Fullerton : 3.3M Loading bay and carpark sharing.
36. 111 somerset : 2.0M entering no problem but exiting will hit the yellow pole on top. BEWARE !!
37. Liang Court : 1.9M

HOTELS
1. Allson Hotel : 1.8m
2. Hotel 81 Bencoolen : 1.8m
3. Oriental Hotel : 1.8m
4. Orchard Parade Hotel : 1.8m
5. Shangrilla Hotel : 1.9m
6. Amara Hotel : 2.1m
7. Meritus Mandrain : 1.9m
8. Peninsular Excelsior Hotel : 1.85m

From yet another forum:

Location/Building: Height Limit displayed on Entrance (Possible Clearance)

1. Rochor Centre HDB: 1.8m (1.83m - watch out for water pipes)

2. Queensway Shopping Centre: 1.8m (1.85m) (CashCard)

3. Pasir Ris Central carpark at the back of McDonald's: 1.79m (<1.75m)

4. Marina Square Carpark: 1.9m (CashCard)

5. Tanglin Shopping Centre: 1.7m (<1.7m)

6. Tagore Industrial Building: 2.0m (1.9m) (CashCard)

7. Changi Airport T2: 1.85m (CashCard)

8. Shaw Towers: 1.95m

9. Great World City: 2.1m (CashCard)

10. AA Building @ River Valley: 1.9m (1.8m)

11. Specialist Shopping Ctr: 2.0m

12. Jurong Point: 2.0m (CashCard)

13. Oriental Plaza, Chinatown: 2.2m

14. Capital Centre, (South Bridge Road): 2.1m

15. Ikea Building: 2.0m (CashCard)

16. Plaza Singapura: 2.0m (CashCard)

17. Great World City: 2.0m (CashCard)

18. Cuppage Centre: 2.0m

19. Lane Crawford (Borders): 3.3m

20. MOM Building: 1.9m

21. Singapore Power Bulding: 2.0m

22. Cairnhill (Bideford Road): 2.15m

23. Paragon Shopping Ctr: 2.0m

24. Orchard Cineleisure: 1.9m (CashCard)

25. Raffles City: 1.9m (CashCard)

26. Esplanade: 2.0m

27. Millenium Walk: 2.0m

28. Bishan Junction 8: 2.0m

29. Mustafa Centre 2: 1.4+m

30. East Point: 2.1m

31. Toa Payoh Central HDB Blk 190: 1.9m

32. United Square: 1.9m (CashCard)

33. HDB Multistorey Carpark at Marine Parade Central: 1.8 m

34. Underground Carpark at Singapore Post Centre: 2.05 m coin disc

35. Amara Hotel: 2.1m (CashCard)

36. Funan IT Mall: 1.9m (1.8m Basement 2) (CashCard)

37. Tiong Bahru Plaza: 2.0m

38. Sun Plaza : 1.9m (Loading Bay: 4.0m)

39. Centrepoint : 1.8m

40. Atrium @ Orchard : 2.0m

41. Far East Plaza: Carpark A (Mutli-Storey: 2.0m (2.1m), Carpark B (underground): 1.9m. (Cash Card)

42. Millennia Walk: 2.1m

43. Starhub Center @ Cuppage (behind Centerpoint) is 2.0m

44. Golden Shoe Carpark @ Collyer Quay: 2.0m (2.1m)

45. Serene Centre 1.8m (Cash Card) - Xavier's Fortuner no problem!

46. Peninsula Plaza 1.9m (Cash Card)

47. Parkview Square 2.0m

48. Ang Mo Kio HUB 2.0 (Cash Card)

1st gen (ie. current gen) s-max was introduced in 2006 n face-lifted in 2010.

the 2nd gen concept was shown in 2013 Frankfurt Motor Show.

the actual one was said to announce in late 2014. :D

Then it is little wonder the price dropped significantly (more than others in line with COE drop). Likely clearing current stock before new model comes out?

my guess too. here is the concept of the 2nd gen:

Ford-S-Max-Concept-Pics-6.jpg

Ford_S-Max_01.jpg

ford-s-max-concept-2.jpg

Ford-S-MAX_Concept_2013_1600x1200_wallpa

Edited by yo2020

try Novena Square. i'm pretty sure u will drive in damn slowly. [:p]

That one is always have to drive slowly one even if the car is only 1.5m as the ramp up is very narrow. But if Biante can access as it is 1.835m, then not so difficult to go up as it is only 1.77m width compare to my previous Touran at 1.84m wide. Also depend which part of carpark is 1.85m as not all area are.

Personally I think the carpark in The Central at Clark Quay is much worse.

That one is always have to drive slowly one even if the car is only 1.5m as the ramp up is very narrow. But if Biante can access as it is 1.835m, then not so difficult to go up as it is only 1.77m width compare to my previous Touran at 1.84m wide. Also depend which part of carpark is 1.85m as not all area are.

Personally I think the carpark in The Central at Clark Quay is much worse.

Last time the Tan Tock Seng hosp carpark near the CTE side (not novena side) also super jialat. The never-ending turn got scratch marks throughout, on both sides.

Then later, they put up sign to say how much longer to go (let drivers know got end-point one, to give more hope), and also somehow seems to have scraped the two sides of the walls, to make it that little bit (think for 5-10 cm) wider, which while bad, is a major improvement from previously.

Can't imagine those driving S class or 7 series going in last time...

Last time the Tan Tock Seng hosp carpark near the CTE side (not novena side) also super jialat. The never-ending turn got scratch marks throughout, on both sides.

Then later, they put up sign to say how much longer to go (let drivers know got end-point one, to give more hope), and also somehow seems to have scraped the two sides of the walls, to make it that little bit (think for 5-10 cm) wider, which while bad, is a major improvement from previously.

Ah yes the TTSH car park. Must be the only one in Sg with those markings. Another one is that hotel (Novotel? Previosuly New Otani) at Clark Quay. Its very narrow and you just wonder when the spiral is going to end. If the engine stalls ... oh oh ....

normally go hosp, if it's close relative or family warded, already mood no good or damn anxious, and whoever designed it still did that (so jialat carpark)... little wonder almost entire spiral turn got scratch mark all over...

Yah I always very wary when entering carparks with a lot of scrap marks on the walls, haha.

The Central is bad because it is never ending spiral up 6 or 7 storeys before reaching the carpark entrance without any window openings. One of my kids felt nauseous for awhile after that as can't look far ahead.

Anyway, the width of the car matters more in this kind of situation. If the car can't even get in, then game over already.

normally go hosp, if it's close relative or family warded, already mood no good or damn anxious, and whoever designed it still did that (so jialat carpark)... little wonder almost entire spiral turn got scratch mark all over...

At the end of it is the A&E dept isn't it?

S class & 7 series no need park one. Just pass to valet lor... Anyway valet is not expensive if you intent to hang around TTS for a while. Think it was around 5 or 6 bucks regardless of length of stay.