PAP not out of touch: Foreign Min. George Yeo

Latka

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Cannot access themselves but can give themselves astronomical pay increases. So just blindly give pay increase without asssessing they actually deserve it. This guy is as good a joker as woody.

Exactly... coming from someone whom I used to have some respect...... this is disappointing.... this shows the true 'integrity' of a person.... sad to see our leaders lower themselves to such depth for the sake of receiving the million dollars pay ......... achieving something in the past is one thing, but giving this kind of answer to an honest question now is another.......... time to VOTE WISELY!!!

i fly sia all the time for business trips... but i dun feel happy or have butterflies when i look at the boarding pass or when i return...

fly economy fly any airline also not much diff :(

i happy to return cos i can see my family again n not becos of anything else

I share the same sentiment as you but somehow, my taiwanese/Japanese counterparts feel fiercely for their own soil. I really wonder what went wrong with Singapore.......

i believe they should stop harping on past achievements.... they got SIA to the top tier.... but thats about it..

but in recent yrs... they did not do much.. maybe except the F1...

in fact old man rejected the idea of staging F1 here long ago (before the laguna golf course was built (the site for the golf course was identified as potential F1 site, but old man rejected the whole idea of having F1, how insightful anf forward-think!!)......... so the F1 we have now has been long overdue......... I wont really give credit to an oversight which has taken 10-15 years later to rectify........

Edited by KARTer

Anyway, just got the news from Yahoo, announced by the TR webmistress, TR webby is closing down by second half of this year due to uncertainty and difficulty in securing funding..... [dead]

I share the same sentiment as you but somehow, my taiwanese/Japanese counterparts feel fiercely for their own soil. I really wonder what went wrong with Singapore.......

No, not true, I see a lot of ex-Singaporean still actively engage in bashing Singapore and participate in Singaporean activity.

They feel fiercely for their ex-own soil

Is this a Car Forum anymore ??

an honest quetion. [:)]

but if the masses', including car fans / forumers', lives are badly affected by poor policies dished out by million-dollar ministers, it's only right to voice grievences, even in car forums.....

seriously the more these ppl open their mouth the more angry i get... shd just STFU

the more they open their gaps, the more we learn their 'true colour', not a bad thing, better than being deceived into believing their claims that they serve the people blah blah blah...........

Quote:

"Even those who are anti-PAP, who are critical, when they travel they feel so proud of being Singaporeans... When they come home, the moment they get the SIA boarding pass, there's a flutter in their hearts...yes, I'm on my way home."

This part quite true leh, the other day I met some ex-Singaporean who have migrated on a Singaporean function at oversea.

Whole nite they bash Singapore and claim how good live was after migrating .

Their accent and everything all Singaporean, other people see already think how come Singaporean like to bash their own country, not knowing that these are ex-stock that fail to integrate in their new Angmoh country.

But hor, how come they still always come to our function instead of integrating with their new found mother land leh.

Best of all, some even not residing at their new found mother land but staying and making a living in South East Asia country.

Can someone enligthen me?

they still attend s'ingapore events' staged overseas because of good things they remember about singapore.... you may ask if there are 'good things' why they left spore in the first place? answer: while they remeber 'good things' of spore, their memories are also filled with overwhelming bad policies, arrogant/out-of-touch miw etc etc............ btw, 'good things' involve family ties, friends, places, food, etc and 'bad things' involve what i have just described....... we can be sentimentally attached to a place, people, past events etc, but at the same time we can disagree with bad policies / suppressions etc etc dished out by miw......... hope this helps explain things

Edited by KARTer

Reading through the threads started recently, and the senseless bashing that has been taking place, I seriously wonder this myself.

you can choose not to come here if you prefer reading about cars only...... simple as that, your choice

MCF TR forum? :huh:

branding forum is ok, but the fact remains the masses are unhappy... unless miw owns MCF (although one day they may try to lord over it, cant rule out the possibility), let's not obstruct (or have the slightest wish to) the masses expressing their grievences......... I read and I learn about how others feel

Edited by KARTer

you can choose not to come here if you prefer reading about cars only...... simple as that, your choice

or he can go to "general car talk" section...

Just saw the channel news asia debate in english on the net, kinda disappointed with some of the comments that were brought up.

How come the opposition did not bring up the fact that the whole parliment tried to block the extra $100 for the needy assistance scheme?

did any of them go calculate and bring up the fact that the 30% raise they so readily give themselves are more than enough to pay for the increase?

Is this the empathy or self sacrifice that they proclaim they do? Mind you they are already drawing millions, wuld the 100 dollar help each needy more or the 30% to the millions they already earn?

Thurman keeps saying that we should help the poor, is it all talk and no action?

Looking at some of the opposition representatives really makes me not want to vote for them however unhappy i am with the PAP.

Its a debate FFS, they cant even practice to time their opening speeches to last nicely 2mins? What are they doing?!?!?!

Lets be fair, miw has 45yr++ of practice and exposure, plus the huge backroom machinery to prepare the paticipants (a full minister and a MP, no less).. they have all the data and gahmen boys to prepare them for the forum... in contrast, the oppo participants have very little of what miw has........... do look at things in perspective

Edited by KARTer

Anyway, just got the news from Yahoo, announced by the TR webmistress, TR webby is closing down by second half of this year due to uncertainty and difficulty in securing funding..... [dead]

I think after the elections, whether TR has a reason to exist anymore may be moot.

they still attend s'ingapore events' staged overseas because of good things they remember about singapore.... you may ask if there are 'good things' why they left spore in the first place? answer: while they remeber 'good things' of spore, their memories are also filled with overwhelming bad policies, arrogant/out-of-touch miw etc etc............ btw, 'good things' involve family ties, friends, places, food, etc and 'bad things' involve what i have just described....... we can be sentimentally attached to a place, people, past events etc, but at the same time we can disagree with bad policies / suppressions etc etc dished out by miw......... hope this helps explain things

This part I can understand, but there are also other foreign friend around, with their Singapore accent and they start talking bad about Singapore, some of my fellow Singapore mate have to purposely

"highlite" that this people are ex - citizen and "XXXX* citizen liao.

I think quite embarrassing to the Singaporean host you know. After that, i notice that our foreign friend also distance themself from these "ex-stock" that didn't carry themselves well.

But i must also say that there are also very good and helpful ex-singaporean around.

Is this a Car Forum anymore ??

Can ask moderator to remove the ar to become MyCForum

where C can stand for country, cat, children, computer, cash, country club, condo etc. So can talk about anything

or he can go to "general car talk" section...

shhhhhhhh..... he can read / navigate lah, no need teach leh........ :D

This part I can understand, but there are also other foreign friend around, with their Singapore accent and they start talking bad about Singapore, some of my fellow Singapore mate have to purposely

"highlite" that this people are ex - citizen and "XXXX* citizen liao.

I think quite embarrassing to the Singaporean host you know. After that, i notice that our foreign friend also distance themself from these "ex-stock" that didn't carry themselves well.

But i must also say that there are also very good and helpful ex-singaporean around.

If the host doesnt want open discussions / small talks (in such events) that reflect what actually takes/has taken place in spore, he's free to put a gag before hand......

Think this happens in other countries' events in foreign land, not unique to Spore's, if miw has nothing to hide or to feel 'uneasy' about, such incidents shouldnt be a problem. It's up to the guests (if they are matured enough) to find out more if they are really interested in Spore. Which countries have their ruling party 100% supported by their citizens?

Edited by KARTer