Ban Bikers at Peak Hours?

Mica_blue

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC11032...s-at-peak-hours

Ban bikes at peak hours

Letter from Ho Swee Huat 04:46 AM Mar 26, 2011In 2009, motorcyclists and their pillion riders made up 50.3 per cent of road fatalities. I believed a significant portion of these fatalities must occur on the expressways. Just two months ago, a 29-year-old motorcyclist was pinned under a lorry near the Eng Neo exit of the Pan-Island Expressway.

As a motorist, I have seen motorcycles weaving in and out of traffic dangerously. The situation is particularly bad on the Bukit Timah Expressway when bikers from Malaysia swarm the lanes during the morning peak hours.

I am not implying that motorcyclists are at fault in road accidents, merely that they have the most to lose if an accident happens. Banning motorcyclists on expressways during morning peak hours could help to mitigate accidents and fatalities. Letter from Ho Swee Huat

Is this a good sugguestion? What do you guys think?

when i see a bike pull stunt like drive share ur lane or weaver in out in out, no need to see the plate also can tell its those msia kia

On 4/6/2011 at 9:19 AM, Mica_blue said:

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC11032...s-at-peak-hours

Ban bikes at peak hours

Letter from Ho Swee Huat 04:46 AM Mar 26, 2011In 2009, motorcyclists and their pillion riders made up 50.3 per cent of road fatalities. I believed a significant portion of these fatalities must occur on the expressways. Just two months ago, a 29-year-old motorcyclist was pinned under a lorry near the Eng Neo exit of the Pan-Island Expressway.

As a motorist, I have seen motorcycles weaving in and out of traffic dangerously. The situation is particularly bad on the Bukit Timah Expressway when bikers from Malaysia swarm the lanes during the morning peak hours.

I am not implying that motorcyclists are at fault in road accidents, merely that they have the most to lose if an accident happens. Banning motorcyclists on expressways during morning peak hours could help to mitigate accidents and fatalities. Letter from Ho Swee Huat

Is this a good sugguestion? What do you guys think?

Just to share with you. I spent last year repeatedly appealing to LTA to allow motorcyclists to use the Expressway road shoulders for safety reason. LTA repeatedly refused to allow with silly excuses. Perhaps Raymond Lim the culprit?

  On 4/6/2011 at 12:31 PM, Good-Carbuyer said:

Just to share with you. I spent last year repeatedly appealing to LTA to allow motorcyclists to use the Expressway road shoulders for safety reason. LTA repeatedly refused to allow with silly excuses. Perhaps Raymond Lim the culprit?

Of course cannot lah!

Vehicles break down are parked on the road shoulders and sometime highway patrol also park along it. It could be more dangerous to the m-cyclists who would think that it's clear and zhua ka liao.....

Edited by WTF

Don't think it will work.

If can't use highway they will have to go by the main roads. Imagine those area in Pioneer and Tuas. The roads only have 2 lanes with lots of trucks and trailers, prob more accidents will occur then.

The best is to widen the road markings.

Instead of single dashed lines....make it double dashed lines...so that motorcycle can legally travel in-between lanes within the double dashed lines.

Simple....

Bikers should ride as you would drive a car, use the whole lane and over take on the right hand lane.

Police should just clamp down on bikers who weave in and out of traffic on expressways unless traffic is stationary e.g. traffic jam.

No need to open up the hard shoulder or create new lanes etc....

On 4/6/2011 at 1:18 PM, Jho0001 said:

Simple....

Bikers should ride as you would drive a car, use the whole lane and over take on the right hand lane.

Police should just clamp down on bikers who weave in and out of traffic on expressways unless traffic is stationary e.g. traffic jam.

No need to open up the hard shoulder or create new lanes etc....

[thumbsup] Good points bro.

On 4/6/2011 at 1:37 PM, Kiadaw said:

[thumbsup] Good points bro.

good points, till u see traffic cant move at all with the extra 100k small buggers taking up the same amount of space as a car on the roads. :D

On 4/6/2011 at 1:43 PM, Zyrofillica said:

good points, till u see traffic cant move at all with the extra 100k small buggers taking up the same amount of space as a car on the roads. :D

well if that what drivers want motorcyclist to ride

but then again u as a biker i believe, ever experience kena tailgate so close by 4 wheels but when you drive these 4 wheels will follow a safe distance behind?

all i can say drivers nowadays very selfish, especially when the period of cheap car to buy. thats why i support high coe

up till now there is no statistic from tp when collision occurs between bike and 4 wheel

who are actually at fault. what is the percentage of it

  On 4/6/2011 at 1:05 PM, SimonTan said:

The best is to widen the road markings.

Instead of single dashed lines....make it double dashed lines...so that motorcycle can legally travel in-between lanes within the double dashed lines.

good idea... now, if only motorcyclist can keep to the lane marker and not weave randomly between both lane.

In Taiwan, Motorcycles are banned from highways iirc.

Imagine losing your license and going to jail all because a deathtrap does not value his life.

In other country eg China, bikes are not allowed on highway, the speed limit is too fast for these sotong tyres